Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / A Simple Greek Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    A Simple Greek Salad

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2013

      This is a delightful salad with a wonderful blend of flavors. I made this for the Make Mine Vegan Challenge for ZWT9. To make it vegan I made a feta cheese substitute according to a recipe I found on happyherbivore.com. I layered the ingredients rather than mixing them but otherwise prepared the salad exactly as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      What a wonderful explosion of flavors! Like one other reviewer, I added a bit of vinegar - I had some white balsamic in a little spray bottle, so I squirted a few times. Used a mixture of black Greek olives and green fresh cured olives. Sliced the cuke real thin and used as a base for the other stuff - it seemed to absorb the flavors of the oregano and EVOO nicely.<br/>My friend said she wish I could give it 12 stars!<br/>made for ZWT9 - Soup a Stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      Made for a quick lunch. As good as greek salad gets - especially if you have 'real' vine-ripened tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      A nice simple salad that I enjoyed on this hot summer day in July. I used fresh oregano from my herb garden. Great flavors! Thanks! Made for ZWT by a Hot Stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Except for subbing fresh oregano for dried, I wouldn't change a thing. Oh, one thing: added a light sprinkle of sherry wine vinegar. Forgot about that. Really like the capers! Reviewed for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Yum! This was so simple and yet so good. Very easy to make ahead and very refreshing to eat. Thanks Julie for a nice keeper. Made by an Unruly Under the Influence for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      A simple and delicious blend of Mediterranean flavors. The recipe was reduced to 2 generous servings. The finished salad was sprinkled with fresh oregano. Made for *PAC Fall 2009*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      So good on this 4th of July. A great recipe that is cooling, great use of summer vegetables, and the taste sunsational. I followed this exactly except I also used some fresh snow pea pods, and a white onion since that is all from the garden. This tasted so fresh and wonderful I will use this often as it exemplifies "summer" in Maryland. Love the capers. Thank you so much Julie! Made for *ZWT4* July 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I loved the fact that I could prepare it ahead of time.I admit I didn't put the oregano; not my favourite herb, but I did add some red wine vinegar and let it settle a couple hours before serving.I made this for WT 4. Thanks for sharing. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      this recipe was great! i cut the recipe in half since it was just 2 of us but there was still so much left after we were done with dinner...cut in half this recipe still made enough for a side dish for 4. really easy & convenient to throw together & let chill til you have the rest of dinner ready. made for zwt4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Perfect salad for a hot day. It's easy to make, colorful and has a great light, fresh flavor. I used a pint of grape tomatoes (each cut in half) in place of the large ones. I like how every now and then you get a bite of a caper. Thanx for a great salad. I'll make this often this summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for A Simple Greek Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.4
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    61%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 26.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 462.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes