11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delightful salad with a wonderful blend of flavors. I made this for the Make Mine Vegan Challenge for ZWT9. To make it vegan I made a feta cheese substitute according to a recipe I found on happyherbivore.com. I layered the ingredients rather than mixing them but otherwise prepared the salad exactly as written.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario July 22, 2013

What a wonderful explosion of flavors! Like one other reviewer, I added a bit of vinegar - I had some white balsamic in a little spray bottle, so I squirted a few times. Used a mixture of black Greek olives and green fresh cured olives. Sliced the cuke real thin and used as a base for the other stuff - it seemed to absorb the flavors of the oregano and EVOO nicely.<br/>My friend said she wish I could give it 12 stars!<br/>made for ZWT9 - Soup a Stars

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky July 20, 2013

Made for a quick lunch. As good as greek salad gets - especially if you have 'real' vine-ripened tomatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens August 27, 2013

A nice simple salad that I enjoyed on this hot summer day in July. I used fresh oregano from my herb garden. Great flavors! Thanks! Made for ZWT by a Hot Stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 18, 2013

Except for subbing fresh oregano for dried, I wouldn't change a thing. Oh, one thing: added a light sprinkle of sherry wine vinegar. Forgot about that. Really like the capers! Reviewed for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 17, 2010

Yum! This was so simple and yet so good. Very easy to make ahead and very refreshing to eat. Thanks Julie for a nice keeper. Made by an Unruly Under the Influence for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 12, 2010

A simple and delicious blend of Mediterranean flavors. The recipe was reduced to 2 generous servings. The finished salad was sprinkled with fresh oregano. Made for *PAC Fall 2009*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 21, 2009

So good on this 4th of July. A great recipe that is cooling, great use of summer vegetables, and the taste sunsational. I followed this exactly except I also used some fresh snow pea pods, and a white onion since that is all from the garden. This tasted so fresh and wonderful I will use this often as it exemplifies "summer" in Maryland. Love the capers. Thank you so much Julie! Made for *ZWT4* July 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 04, 2008

I loved the fact that I could prepare it ahead of time.I admit I didn't put the oregano; not my favourite herb, but I did add some red wine vinegar and let it settle a couple hours before serving.I made this for WT 4. Thanks for sharing. Rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage June 12, 2008

this recipe was great! i cut the recipe in half since it was just 2 of us but there was still so much left after we were done with dinner...cut in half this recipe still made enough for a side dish for 4. really easy & convenient to throw together & let chill til you have the rest of dinner ready. made for zwt4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catalinacrawler June 11, 2008
A Simple Greek Salad