Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Arni Kleftiko (Rebel Lamb) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Arni Kleftiko (Rebel Lamb)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2009

      This was by far the BEST lamb shank I have ever eaten and I'm a big foodie! I have yet to find a restaurant that can serve lamb this tasty. I'm lucky enough to have a husband who, on his off day, made this for me and I could still smell the wonderful aromas by the time we went to bed. The flavors were incredible. It was FANTASTIC. Thank you for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Just finished eating it and loved it. I thought the flavours were excellent and the meat was beautifully tender. I did make a few changes to the way i made it. I didnt get any kefalotiri cheese but did have a hard goats cheese which i like so i used that and also i cooked it for about 4 and a half hours at 100C. The only downside was the amount of fat that had melted out of the lamb which i had to skim off before serving

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      i've made this numerous times, and each time, people just rave about it. however, i do make a few changes, sorry. i always do that, but i just added a teaspoon of cumin, and i substituted feta for the kefalotiri. in any case, it's a great recipe, and it turns out fantastic, even once when i wrapped it in foil packets and cooked it on the grill over indirect heat. thanks so much for a recipe i now make regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      We enjoyed this very much, though I found it slightly bland, I may will increase the spices a little bit. The only thing I subbed was to use parmesan cheese, otherwise followed it exactly. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      Talk about yum!!! Evelyn, thank you so much for this recipe! Now, if I can only find kefalotiri or kefalograviera for next time, it will be perfect! Definitely a keeper!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      You would have laughed to see me high-stepping it through the snow to see if the oregano and mint had survived our very cold snap. They didn't. But, hey, this is rebel lamb, and I made do. I had bought a 3 lb. package of cut-up bone-in lamb (I suspect shoulder), but pretty much used all the rest of the ingredients, except the potatoes (used 2, more did not fit into pot) and used only enough olive oil to grease the casserole. About 2 1/2 hr. into it we could not wait, and pulled out potatoes, onions, and smaller chunks of meat, plus some of the unbelievable gravy. Garlic was still hard. I went ahead and put in a couple of more potatoes. Next time I make this, I will make it a day ahead of time, as the lamb releases an awful lot of fat. I'd chill and remove it, and then reheat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      Evelyn you've done it again....amazing! Every recipe of yours that I have served has gone down a treat. This was easy to do, smelt delicious and pleased everyone. I didn't put any cheese in and left the potatoes and carrots out. I wrapped the chops in a double layer of foil making an enverlope, which worked really well. Next time I will do it exactly as the recipe says, but I had already promised Greek Potatoes and herb glazed carrots to the children. I didn't manage to take a photograph as once plated up, it was whisked away to the table and eaten before i could switch the camera on..maybe next time ;-) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      I am going to try this dish (without the cheese-as I only eat kosher..ie.don't mix milk & meat) . It sounds really tasty. When I eventually make it will rate it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Arni Kleftiko (Rebel Lamb)

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 461.4
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    36%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 37.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    leg of lamb

    kefalotiri

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes