9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious! I made it for Greek Night at my book/dinner club, and it was a huge success. It was definitely worth the effort! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Upinsmoke January 17, 2009

LOVED IT! Blue Rose, this Moussaka is absolutely divine! I served it for Father's Day and everyone absolutely loved it. I cut the recipe in half but still used an 8x8 pan so I had to increase the cream sauce by half again as much. The only change I made was to add some freshly grated nutmeg to the cream sauce. Edited to say that OF THE 350 RECIPES I REVIEWED IN 2008, THIS HAS GONE INTO MY TOP 20 FAVORITES COOKBOOK.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 06, 2009

My first time making a moussaka and now I'm wondering what took me so long! This is absolutely wonderful! I used 1 lb of lamb and 1/2 lb ground beef. Despite the long directions, this is very easy to make. Don't skimp on the cinnamon; it really gives a great flavor! The only thing I changed was to omit the 1/2 cup of butter to brush the eggplant slices; I just used olive-oil cooking spray. Thanx for this great recipe. I'll make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 07, 2008

OOOOhhhh this was good. Very rich but very good. I might use a light brush of olive oil on the eggplant as Parsley suggested (gotta keep my tester alive) but other than that, if it's not broken... Thanks for posting this Blue Rose. I'll be making this for company any day

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3shihmum January 10, 2009

The moussaka we have downtown must not be authentic because this tasted nothing like it. This was very good. I "butchered" the job of slicing the first eggplant but did much better on the second. It was faster then I thought to prepare it. Directions were easy to follow. My husband liked it but the kids did not. I'm sure this as as good as it comes...just not something that we will probably have again here. Glad to have tried it though! made for ZWT4. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph July 08, 2008

LOVED this! It is so yummy. The cream sauce is just wonderful. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT4 and the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 17, 2008

So, this is the authentic one! Somehow it tastes different from several moussakas I've tried. It actually reminded me of having a lasagna with a meaty saucy beef filling (which set after baking) and bechamel sauce which I adore but using eggplants instead of pasta. The baking process of the eggplant made this healthier, too. So filling! Thanks for sharing this! Made for WZT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma June 14, 2008

I'm with Parsley in that this was my first time making this kind of dish, & it is well-worth making again! I did use the lamb, something I almost always avoid, but I wanted this as 'right' as possible & felt that was the way to go! I also strictly followed the ingredients & directions 'cause this was new territory for me! The result was a WONDERFUL TASTING moussaka, & I thank you much for posting your recipe! [Made & reviewed while in Greece on the Zaar World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 12, 2008

This was pretty authentic as Blue Rose said! Even in Cyprus where I used to live, the recipes varied so much, but we LOVED this one! I always think that the cinnamon gives moussaka the true flavour, and it worked so well in this recipe. I did not add cheddar to my custard topping, just extra parmesan, and I used minced lamb for a true authentic taste! I made this for a Pot Luck supper, so no photos unfortunately - it had been massacred by the time I whipped my camera out! Made for the Aussie/NZ recipe swap. Thanks Blue Rose! FT:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart November 09, 2007
Authentic Greek Moussaka