Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Avgolemono Soup (Greek Egg-Lemon Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Avgolemono Soup (Greek Egg-Lemon Soup)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2010

      My oh My this is awesome. Even though for my diet I had to change some things. I think It would be better as- is. I could not find my lemon so Used lime and added enough lemon concentrate to make up for the lack also I had to half recipe because of no lemon. I used chicken bouillon and water as I am not suppose to use chicken stock. I hope That was a good substitution I don't think it has fat in it. And I left out the butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      This recipe comes very close to the one served at my local greek restaurant for $6 a bowl! I added salt, pepper, parsley, and garlic to taste. I also added one small can of carrots, drained, and chopped up very small. If you don't have orzo you can use any small pasta like alphabet or stars. Very good, light, and comforting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Oh, so good! Reminded me of Lipton cup of soup, the creamy chicken flavor, but with a wonderful change with the lemon. I will try this with some garlic next time, but this was wonderful just as is. Made this for Spring PAC 09. Thank you for sharing this with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Very good! I used regular rice instead of the orzo and added dill and lemon pepper for flavor. Also added some diced chicken and served as a main dish. Such a comforting soup. I love the salty lemony flavor! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      I really enjoyed this! I had been testing recipes for some time trying to find something close to what I used to get at a now-closed local Greek restaurant. This came the closest! I added some shredded chicken as well. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      This one is a keeper. Used my own stock and stuffed my chicken with garlic and lemon as I sweated it in a cast iron pot. It took at least four hours simmering once I added the water..but it was well worth the effort since the recipe is wonderful. Instead of adding 8 cups of broth I used my full 12 without any difference to the recipe. I added parsley before serving which added a little more contrast in colour and made it more pleasing to the eye. Brought down the house and got rave reviews. Served it with no knead bread which is chewy and compliments this soup. I'd like to rename it Doctors soup since it has chicken and lemon. Makes for a wonderful meal. Thanks for submitting this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      My Greek husband said it tasted just like his mom's! :) I made it with Imagine's Organic No-Chicken Broth. A keeper, thanks. I think the servings may be a bit large; we had about half of a serving before dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      This also is one of my favorite classic soup recipes. ...And was this easy to make! Had it done in about 15 minutes. I cheated and stole some cooked orzo pasta out of the Greek pasta salad I prepared on the weekend. The perfect amount and balance of lemon juice. Because I used my homemade stock, I had to add salt and white pepper to the soup. Per the suggestion of the other reviewer, I added 1 teaspoon of mild elephant garlic. This was delightful and not overly thick, just right! Thanks for posting. Note: Step #7 does not indicate what temperature and probably should state that the soup be returned to the stove and cooked on medium heat but no higher so the soup does not boil or burn. ;)cg

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      I highly recommend this recipe! This is how I make mine, with the milk and cornstarch, it makes The Best soup! Wonderful when you feel a cold coming on.(oooh, but, I add garlic)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      we used rice instead of orzo - loved this soup!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed your wonderful soup recipe yet!I love greek lemon soup as does my hubby.We used to eat it all the time at our hometown greek restaurant.We moved away and it left a hole in my tummy that only greek lemon soup could fill.Thank goodness you posted this:D. I have been making it weekly and we LOVE it.Thanks a million tiffany you made my year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      I used to work in a Greek restaurant in West Columbia, SC. Not only was it one of the best run restaurants ever, the food was authentic and great! I adored this lemon soup made with orzo. I am not a huge rice fan and am so happy to find this recipe. It is delicious and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

    • on March 28, 2006

      My grandfather used to add pieces of chicken to it. Very filling and cheap to feed a large family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      Wondering if anyone has tried this with just egg whites, or something else (egg beaters?)- the cholesterol rating on this is just too way high for my household, but looks like a good "soup night" soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Avgolemono Soup (Greek Egg-Lemon Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (463 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 526.3
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    48%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 310.9 mg
    103%
    Sodium 860.4 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 22.7 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites