15 Reviews

My oh My this is awesome. Even though for my diet I had to change some things. I think It would be better as- is. I could not find my lemon so Used lime and added enough lemon concentrate to make up for the lack also I had to half recipe because of no lemon. I used chicken bouillon and water as I am not suppose to use chicken stock. I hope That was a good substitution I don't think it has fat in it. And I left out the butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady June 11, 2010

This recipe comes very close to the one served at my local greek restaurant for $6 a bowl! I added salt, pepper, parsley, and garlic to taste. I also added one small can of carrots, drained, and chopped up very small. If you don't have orzo you can use any small pasta like alphabet or stars. Very good, light, and comforting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cathy #3 April 25, 2009

Oh, so good! Reminded me of Lipton cup of soup, the creamy chicken flavor, but with a wonderful change with the lemon. I will try this with some garlic next time, but this was wonderful just as is. Made this for Spring PAC 09. Thank you for sharing this with us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaEllen March 27, 2009

Very good! I used regular rice instead of the orzo and added dill and lemon pepper for flavor. Also added some diced chicken and served as a main dish. Such a comforting soup. I love the salty lemony flavor! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurelGon May 29, 2008

I really enjoyed this! I had been testing recipes for some time trying to find something close to what I used to get at a now-closed local Greek restaurant. This came the closest! I added some shredded chicken as well. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissam9 December 30, 2007

This one is a keeper. Used my own stock and stuffed my chicken with garlic and lemon as I sweated it in a cast iron pot. It took at least four hours simmering once I added the water..but it was well worth the effort since the recipe is wonderful. Instead of adding 8 cups of broth I used my full 12 without any difference to the recipe. I added parsley before serving which added a little more contrast in colour and made it more pleasing to the eye. Brought down the house and got rave reviews. Served it with no knead bread which is chewy and compliments this soup. I'd like to rename it Doctors soup since it has chicken and lemon. Makes for a wonderful meal. Thanks for submitting this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mumsie Moskal September 15, 2007

My Greek husband said it tasted just like his mom's! :) I made it with Imagine's Organic No-Chicken Broth. A keeper, thanks. I think the servings may be a bit large; we had about half of a serving before dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hlkljgk March 01, 2007

This also is one of my favorite classic soup recipes. ...And was this easy to make! Had it done in about 15 minutes. I cheated and stole some cooked orzo pasta out of the Greek pasta salad I prepared on the weekend. The perfect amount and balance of lemon juice. Because I used my homemade stock, I had to add salt and white pepper to the soup. Per the suggestion of the other reviewer, I added 1 teaspoon of mild elephant garlic. This was delightful and not overly thick, just right! Thanks for posting. Note: Step #7 does not indicate what temperature and probably should state that the soup be returned to the stove and cooked on medium heat but no higher so the soup does not boil or burn. ;)cg

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl August 29, 2005

I highly recommend this recipe! This is how I make mine, with the milk and cornstarch, it makes The Best soup! Wonderful when you feel a cold coming on.(oooh, but, I add garlic)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookiegirlandi December 04, 2004

we used rice instead of orzo - loved this soup!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay May 04, 2011
Avgolemono Soup (Greek Egg-Lemon Soup)