10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The 5 stars are for my slightly modified version.... I didn't have any 'bonzo beans, nor did I have chick peas, nor ceci.... but wanted to try adding beans, so I used a can of white kidney beans, and it came out great. Also, I cooked my eggplant in the oven, but under the broiler, until the skin was getting a bit crusty. Added a pinch of red chili pepper for some bite, and used fresh parsley. Mixed it with a potato masher, not food processor, so it was slightly lumpy, which I prefer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeDoctor August 09, 2013

Excellent. I subbed almond butter and a bit of toasted sesame oil and some ground toasted sesame seeds for the tahini (I think any nut butter would do fine, but almond butter is a pretty good sub since it's so mild). Also, added a touch of sriracha hot sauce. Tasted just like a restaurant, so I'm sold on it! I left out the garbanzos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leb25 August 18, 2012

So yummy! You really could do so much with this by adding different spices, but I just went with it as it is for the first time and I love it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefdar August 15, 2011

Excellent, tasty! I roasted the garlic as suggested so it wouldn't be so pungent. I added about 1/8 tsp cumin, and used only 1 Tbsp tahini. You can easily adjust to taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightball1751 November 02, 2009

This is an easy and absolutely wonderful recipe. It is EASY! I followed this exactly almost except that I used mint leaves (more traditional) as my wife does not care much for parsley. To smooth out the garlic, I roasted a head it in a piece of foil with the eggplant. To give it some "heat", I roasted a small jalapeno pepper with it and used a little less than half of it as I added and tasted it to just give the dish a punch without being hot. This will definitely be a repeat recipe as it was met with rave reviews from my wife and neighbor. Jim in So. Calif.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 565650 Jim June 13, 2009

I have died and gone to a heaven that understands what I want to eat!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monkeylar November 20, 2008

Yum, yum, yum!! This was great. I used less than half of the garbanzos called for; I like the flavor as is. I also used fresh parsley, since I had it on hand. This definitely goes in my "keeper" pile for eggplant recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl August 16, 2008

Very easy to follow the instructions. Used roasted garlic which softened in the oven together with the aubergine. We like lots of garlic too so I used four very large cloves (I think they would equal about ten "normal" cloves, did I say we love garlic.........). Also opted for the garbanzo beans and the only thing I did add outside of the recipe was a scant 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper. I have eaten Baba Ganoush many times but this was the first time I made it myself. It will not be the last time! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo February 16, 2008

Holy Cow, I love Baba Ganoush! Thank you so much for sharing this easy, well written out, recipe. What could be more dee-lisch!! Yummy. Lolly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloob June 16, 2007
Baba Ghanoush