Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Baklava Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baklava

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2010

      This is wonderful. I've actually been using your recipe for about a year now. It was my first time making it then and I got great reviews! A co-worker of mine requests this every potluck (and we have a lot of them!). We've TRADED food for this recipe (she's from the Philippines and makes great lumpia) and now she is asking for it again for our Thanksgiving potluck on Thursday! Thanks so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I used this recipe to make Baklava for the first time and it was decadent! The flavors are so rich and meld together wonderfully. It was a lot of work, but I was certainly proud of the result. I would probably scale the recipe down next time because it made a LOT, and might not put quite so many nuts. Thank you for a great recipe to add to my "tried and true" folder :) ~Crystal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This was quite good, I must say. I subbed the walnuts with poppy seeds, and they still add up to the same amount, just coz I've had it once where they used poppy seeds and it was pretty good. I would probably make the syrup a little more runny, and 3 hours is definitely not enough, over-night is recommended, as we served it after 3 hours and the syrup wasn't right to the bottom yet, but the next day it was much better. Will experiment with it! Note: DON'T preheat your oven until you're up to the last layer as this took us 1 hour just to assemble before putting into the oven!! Simple steps but very time-consuming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I won't tell you how good this is because there are already 33 other reviews telling you that. I will tell you I made mine in a lasagna pan and didn't reduce or change the recipe at all and it was perfect. I did use more orange and lemon peel because I had tried another baklava that called for orange and I knew I wanted a lot of that flavor. Also,others might want to know that a 1 pound bag of walnuts when ground up, yields just over the 4 cups called for. Same with almonds (1/2 lb = 2 cups). I never thought twice about what to do with the clove on each piece, but my family was completely thrown off by it. So I guess if I was going to serve it for dinner guests I would leave the clove off to avoid any choking or embaressing situations. Thanks evelyn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      Very Good. Everyone enjoyed it. I did not taste it because of allergy to gluten. But please DO NOT USE SALTED BUTTER OR SALTED NUTS!!!! as I did the first time that was inedible. I used almost 3/4's this recipe's syrup for a 9 X 13 inch pan. I used a good local creamy honey, made sure to cut the lemon and orange peels down since the serving changer didn't do it. I used half pistachio nuts, half blanched almonds like the intro. I followed How to Blanch, Split, & Sliver Almonds. I used less allspice in place of nutmeg because we don't consume intoxicants. I used 1 lb phyllo pastry leaves trimmed a little. I placed the cloves on top to bake for the perfume and removed them before presenting since all those to consume this dessert do not know about the Greek tradition. I will make this again. Made for Family Picks ZWT6, Greece/Cyprus region, for my team, The Ya Ya Cookerhood.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I recently tasted baklava for the first time - it was commercially prepared & frozen but very good. Also very expensive, so I decided to try making some. I followed this recipe exactly except skipped the cloves, oh, and used only walnuts as that is what I had on hand. It looks awesome and tastes even better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      YUM! Says it ALL! This is a very good and simple BAKLAVA recipe. BTW, add a splash of Cognac in Nut Filling, gave it an awesome aroma and taste. THANKS EV...wish I can send some over to you...LOL!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      I have made this twice now, both times to rave reviews. I divided this recipe in half and it makes a perfect 9x13 pan full. The first time my syrup was a little thin and most of it went to the bottom. The second time was wonderfull. Both times I used orange blossom honey which provided a nice citrus kick to the Baklava. My next attempt I will use pistashios because one of my co-workers is alergic to Walnuts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      When I ate this I realised that the store bought baklava I have eaten over the years has been rubbish - mostly pastry and sugar syrup! The flavours in this dish are so good and it is full of nuts. The syrup soaks in instead of drowning it leaving the pastry to have a good crunch. I cooked the syrup for the 10 minutes which made it quite thick. As I couldn't find Greek honey, I used a standard honey mixed with leatherwood honey (Australian Eucalyptus) 3:1 ratio. I made half mixture in a 9" x 12" tin and cooked it for an hour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I made this today. Because I am also making some spanikopita, I had 2 extra phylo dough packages on hand...thank goodness. The recipe calls for 1 pound of phylo, or 18 sheets. Using a 17 X 12 pan, and following the directions, I ran out of the first box at the beginning of the second layer. This recipe needs to be corrected, as I would have hated to have to run to the store in the middle of the recipe. As is, I will need to run back out tomorrow morning to get more phylo for my spanikopita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

    • on November 01, 2012

      I had never used Phyllo dough before so was really nervous about making this. It was much easier than I thought once I got started. I ended up using a combination of walnuts, pistachios, and almonds. It was the most delicious dessert ever. Even guests who said they didn't like baklava had 3-4 pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      I have to say, I was intimidated for my first time using phyllo dough. But wow! This was fantastic.

      Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Love these!!! First time making baklava and this was easy, way faster than I thought it'd be and so very yummy. I did not have fresh lemon or orange peels, so put 1/2 tsp each of grated jar peels. I was worried that they would make the syrup bad to bite into, but most of them stuck to the side of the pan, I didn't stain it too thick and sticky but was Wonderful!! I used a mix of almonds, pecans and walnuts -- 2 cups each. Did I mention YUM. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      This is fabulous! I made it for our supper club and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

    • on June 15, 2010

      FABULOUS! It is time consuming but so worth it. Made for ZWT 6 for Queens of Quisine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Just excellent!!! Much better than many I can buy in the shops! I made a 3/4 recipe to fit a 9x13 pan, a little extra filling never hurt anyone!. Used a combo of walnuts and blanched almonds and tasted great. Will try with pistachios one day too. I'm not even going to bother trying other recipes, this is a keeper ..... and a winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Really good baklava! This is my second time making it. I must have forgotten to review last year. It seems to be becoming a Christmas tradition in our family. My daughters boyfriend loves it, and she enjoys making this for him. It's nice to be able to find authentic recipes at the click of a mouse... Thanks for sharing Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This was my first attempt at making baklava. I had always heard how "hard" it was to make. Even though it took me a little extra time to put together, it was easy and turned out perfect! Everybody that tasted it loved it. I'm making another pan today to take to a Christmas party tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baklava

    Serving Size: 1 (2654 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.8
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    59%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 17.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 43.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    54%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites