Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Baklava Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baklava

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2009

      I bring food to work regularly. I overheard a coworker talking about her favorite, baklava. This was a big hit! (Even with the down home guy who had doubts that a dessert called "backleevah" would be good.) I did not have an 18x12 pan, but I made do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I made this and it was so good! And it really is authentic tasting. I used all walnuts though. At first I was a little intimidated by the phyllo dough but it turned out really well! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Not very hard but very delicious!! Ran out of phillo sheets at second layer so divided the sheets among the last. Came out perfect. My Greek family outing will love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Formidable! No kidding - this was better and more "authentic-tasting" than many Baklavas I've had in Greece. Love-love-loved this recipe. And really super-easy, I have always thought baklavas looked so elaborate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Wicked nice. Thanks, Evelyn! I lightened it up a bit, substituting fructose for sugar and substituting half the honey with agave, and cutting out one stick of butter. It still rocked the house! I am curious to try some rose water for some of the water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Fabulous! This is the only baklava recipe I'll use from now on. I did use more orange & lemon peel and cinnamon sticks in the syrup. And also put some whole cloves in the syrup since I didn't have enough to spike each piece. Thanks evelyn for the great posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I made this for a Greek party yesterday where my mom, brother, and grandma were sharing their pictures from their recent trip to Greece. They said this recipe was better than anything they tried in Greece! Apparently the ones they tried had a lot more syrup. So, if you are going for really authentic, maybe you should double the syrup, but I'll continue making it just like the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      This was absolutely divine! I made this for my mother since baklava is her favorite dessert and planned on serving it on Mother's Day. Well, she didn't want to wait and I'm so glad we didn't. Worth every single calorie! Also, your directions were wonderful and very easy to follow. I've never worked with phyllo before and was very nervous about it, but your directions made this a very simple recipe for even this beginning baker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      I made this for dessert for my Greek themed dinner for company last evening, and it was just delicious! Everyone enjoyed it along with some Chai tea for dessert. This is one fantastic Baklava! We all overindulged, but enjoyed tremendously!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This was easy to make and very tasty. My only complaint was that the 3 hour to overnight waiting period was not listed in the directions and sort of spoiled the dessert plans. But the wait was worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I made this recipe for a pot luck. I have always loved baklava, but never knew how to make it. Thanks for the amazing recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      This recipe is fantastic! I have always loved baklava but never attempted to make it myself. This recipe was so easy and came out smelling, looking and tasting amazing. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe that has a nice subtle hint of citrus mixed among the sweet nutty buttery flavor. I have been making baklava every Christmas for 10 years now and this is the best recipe. I am so glad I upgraded! One recommendation; if you don't have the large size pan suggested, a 9x13 worked just fine for me. I just folded the tiny bit of excess phyllo in the corners and edges over the nut mixture as suggested and kept adding the layers on top of that. Also, I was confused about the 8 layers then the additional 4 layers being draped over the sides..probably has something to do with having a larger dish. So...I just used 12 layers and buttered each layer then added the nut mixture and folded over the excess and continue with adding and buttering each of the 12 phyllo layers. I kept the recipe exactly the same otherwise. Truly a decadent treat and a breeze to make. This recipe will impress them and make them think you are a pro baker. The cloves were amazing!!! Loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I have made Baklava for years for my father at Christmas and Easter as he is Greek and he remembers his mother making it for him. This was the first time I had seen a recipe where you used much more honey than sugar and it was so, so much better. I did order the Greek thyme honey and used it in the recipe. All I can say is thank you for this wonderful recipe. It will now be the only way I make baklava.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Wonderful! My guests (experienced baklava eaters) said it was the best baklava they've ever had! This was my first attempt at baklava (though I've worked with phyllo before, which helped). A (hopefully useful) tip for unexperienced people: if available, use a microwave to melt butter in a measuring cup (1-2 min), skim foam on top and discard the white stuff on the bottom. One thing that puzzled me was the instruction to put a clove on top of each piece. I cannot imagine biting one as a pleasant experience - is it? So I used whole almonds and pine nuts instead, which worked out very well (I was worried they might burn, but they didn't). They did not stick in place, but that was solved when I applied the syrup (an excellent glue :-). Thanks, Evelyn, for posting these wonderful recipes! (I also tried your DELICIOUS moussaka).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This was yummy. However I recommend- HIGHLY- the use of rose water. Trust me on this. Make a Rosewater syrup- 1 and 1/2 c. organic sugar) 3/4 c. water 2 T. rosewater (buy in Middle Eastern, Greek, Indian, or Persian grocery, or gourmet shop) That is more traditionally midde eastern style but much easier and tastes better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I have to say I'm very fussy but this was outstanding! Made it for my dinner club evening, served it with creamy vanilla ice cream and fresh exotic fruit, and everybody agreed it was by far the best dessert of the season so far!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      This was fantastic! I can taste the honey more in this dish than in the ones at the Greek Restaurants. It's not that time consuming like I thought it would be. Thanks so much for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

    • on August 07, 2007

      These are very rich. My spouse and I liked them a lot, though my parents did not. I followed the instructions, except I halved everything and made a regular cake-pan worth. I did not have 'quality' honey. Much of the flavor comes from the honey, so splurge on that if you're going thru the work of making this treat. I used dried lemon zest and dried orange zest, and that worked fine. Be sure to let it rest at least 3 hrs before sampling...it tastes a lot better after it sits a few hours. My baklava was not as good as that from The Mediterranean Deli in Chapel Hill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Fruit Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baklava

    Serving Size: 1 (2654 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.8
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    59%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 17.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 43.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    54%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites