Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Baklava Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baklava

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-56 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2007

      wow this was awesome. so gooooooooood. taste even better at the restaurant i get this at. 1st time making it ever and instructions were perfect and so easy to follow even for a beginner like me. thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Great baklava. This recipe is mostly like the one I have always used, but the syrup is a bit different and better. Really easy to do, and if you work fast, the phyllo doesn't dry out, just have everything ready to go. Makes a lot too. Very good recipe, no need to look further than this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Just divine!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      This recipe was the first recipe that I searched for. I hadn't even heard of Recipezaar then! I was at that time looking for a really authentic Greek recipe for Baklava, as I had left all my cookbooks in Scotland. Well I found it! It is the combination of spices which make this recipe so unique. A very valuable tip that is given in this recipe is to sprinkle the pastry with water before baking. This seems to ensure a perfect result as the fine leaves of pastry do not curl up when this is done. Thank you Evelyn for this outstanding recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      This was absolutely wonderful. I have never made baklava or worked with phyllo dough, so I wasn't sure how the recipe or the experience would turn out. It took longer than I expected (I have a five-month-old, so I had to take breaks), but the end result was outstanding. The flavors from the lemon and cloves just meld together and make it so lovely. I served this to some out-of-town family and they enjoyed it, as did my husband and I as we finished all of it off in the days after they left. :) Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      This looks like a very authentic recipe for Baklava. I have been making it for years as a treat around the holidays and my family loves it. This recipe calls for a lot more honey in the syrup than I use, but I'm sure it's good. I will try this recipe next time I make Baklava - just need to make sure I have plenty of people around to eat it so I don't eat it all myself!! I can't be trusted with Baklava in the house...sooo good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      Wow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      My friends and I made this for a large gathering (about 100). So we had a baklava party where we got together and did this in assembly line fashion. It worked great and we had a blast. I wasn't able to get my hands on Greek Thyme honey but did get some straight from a farm that worked wonderfully. I think that the citrus in the syrup just made the flavor ever so much more bright and fresh. Making baklava wasn't nearly as scary as it always seemed it would be. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      It was good but the syrup was too runny (thus the reason for 4 stars versus 5). Made it in a 9 x 13" pan and increased the time about 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      This was absolutely delicious! I made it for a potluck function and it was gone in a flash! Someone told me that a girl who can make Baklava that good, is worth marrying! :) Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      This was heavenly! This was the first time I've ever made Baklava, and I feel like a pro. I made 1/2 the recipe and used an 8X8 pan. I didn Wonderful recipe, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      Now this is a recipe fit for a Goddess. Wonderfully awesome dessert! I'm in baklava heaven. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      Made this yesterday for ZWT 2006. Wow! This was sooo good. I didn't have enough cloves to do the sticking them in the pieces part but I don't see how that could have made this any better. I love Baklava as does my bf (who ate like SIX pieces last night lol) and this is better than any i've ever gotten from a store or bought mail order. If you like Baklava and have some time to invest in a winner dessert, try this one; you won't be disappointed! Thanks Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      My God this was good. I made this as the finishing touch to a huge Greek meal for dozens of guests. I didn't even get a piece. Thanks for posting Evelyn--almost all the dishes were from your cookbook so the success of this party is all yours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      Wonderful & Traditional! Bravo! Just like my Yia-Yias .. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      I downloaded this recipe before I was formally registered at Zaar and have just realized that I have never reviewed it. I have been making baklava for years, but this blew mine out of the water. I think what makes evelyn's better is the shades of flavor added by cooking the syrup with cinnamon sticks & citrus peels. The cloves stuck into the diamonds were also new for me and added spiciness as well as making for a prettier presentation. I didn't have the size pan called for, so I used a 14 X 10-1/2-inch lasagna pan and reduced the ingredients by 1/3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Fruit Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baklava

    Serving Size: 1 (2654 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.8
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    59%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 17.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 43.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    54%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites