Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Baklava Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baklava

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2002

      This is a wonderful recipe, Carol! To heck with the calories! The rose water gives it just the right flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      I make this yearly at christmas, and I was so happy to read that your version does not contain honey. Neither does mine. The only thing I found negative in this recipe is the margarine. You cannot use margarine, you must use clarified butter, or it is called ghee. If u use margarine the pyhlo dough will get soggy. I also do not put the rose water in my filling, only a small anount of butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2001

      This is WONDERFUL. Good job, Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      I have been making baklava since high school and was taught actually in my cooking class. However I use sweet butter instead of margrine and omit the rose water in the whole recipe and add A slice of orange with the peel to give the syrup a kick! And boil the syrup til it boils on med heat and low after its on a consistant boil. You will know the syrup is ready when you dip a wooden spoon and get a nice thick coat on it. I love baklava

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2005

      This is a good recipe. The only steps I would add is roating the nuts and boiling the sugar syrup for about 10 minutes so that it is thick when poured on the baklava. This will not make it soggy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2005

      My whole family loved this dessert. It wasn't as difficult as I thought it would be either. I was even able to impress my middle eastern in-laws.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      I went with this recipe as a first time baklava-maker, since I have a friend who does not care for lemon or honey in her baklava. I used only about a half pound of the phyllo (one roll in a 2-roll pack), and half the rose water (1 Tbsp each in the syrup and the nut mixture) and I too used butter rather than margarine. I microwave the butter in a pyrex measuring cup, and then let the watery solids fall to the bottom. If you use a brush and just avoid the stuff on the bottom, you've got clarified butter. Also baked at 350 for about 40 minutes rather than reducing heat. And even with these changes, it all turned out great - my Bulgarian husband said it was right on. Thanks for the recipe! (I don't rate recipes when I make major changes, but this was great.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2001

      Its nice, but too many calories to burn, right?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baklava

    Serving Size: 1 (1551 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.3
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    53%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 173.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    65%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rose water

    rose water

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes