Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Beef and Eggplant Stew (Greek - Crock Pot Version) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef and Eggplant Stew (Greek - Crock Pot Version)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2009

      Very tasty, and I loved how the eggplant disintegrated to make the sauce even more rich and sumptuous. I used a very large "Mediterranean" eggplant, cut it into 1" slices and then cut those into 1"x2" chunks. A word of caution, however - when browning the eggplant, it would probably be better to use a non-stick pan. I browned the eggplant after I browned the beef in my stainless steel Texas fry-pan, and the eggplant stuck a fair bit. I deglazed with some beef stock and got the nice brown bits, but it could easily have burned. I also thought that 1/4 cup of olive oil seemed excessive until I started browning. Do yourself a favor and ration it out so you have enough to brown the eggplant after the beef!! I will definitely make this again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      I made tons of substitutions but i just wanted to say that i never knew that adding cinnamon to tomatoes gave such a mellow, deep flavor that is perfectly balance by the feta cheese. I have served it over pasta, and soft polenta - and polenta is my preference. I used jarred tomato sauce with italian sausage because i didn't want so much meat .. (among other things) - this also makes me think i might be able to finally really enjoy eggplant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      This was great!! This will definitely be a regular in my house! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      OMG I can not believe i forgot to rate this!! We love this recipe at my house with or without the feta, I have made it several times, we usually serve it over noodles. So sorry for not rating sooner:( Thank-you soooooooooooo much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      We have two schools of thought in our house when it comes to stew. My husband loves traditional beef stew. I don't. With that, I made this stew. I thought it was terrific. My husband - not so much. He said it was too sweet. I followed the directions precisely. I did sub the Japanese eggplant for a regular eggplant. Otherwise, followed it the same. It was completely and utterly delicious, I thought. I thought the feta added a lot to it, as well. I might try it again and eliminate the sugar. Overall, it was great. I'd give it 5 stars if DH loved it too..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Delicious! I used 2 lbs. of ground Italian sausage, browned in a skillet, 2 regular eggplants (peeled and cut into cubes) and I also added some red, yellow and orange bell pepper strips. I also used a jar of pasta sauce instead of the tomato sauce. Cooked in the crockpot all day and served over rotini pasta with feta cheese on top. Family loved it, very tasty. Would definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      We really liked this, I was quite surprised as we don't normally like cinnamon or anything cooked in a crockpot. This perfumed the house so nicely that it is almost worth making just for the smell alone!! Thank you for this recipe it will be well used in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      I made this to take advantage of stewing beef and eggplant which were on special at my supermarket this week. I did all the prep work the night before and let it cook while I was at work. My house smelt so good when I came home tonight! We had it with pasta but I have enough left for a couple of more meals so we will enjoy it on its own, too. The only alterations I made were to use regular eggplants, since that was what was on special and I ran out of ground cloves so threw in 3 or 4 whole cloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      This had such a warmth to it, it even won over my two 22 year old boy roommates! They claimed to not like eggplant, not like stews, not like feta...but this recipe was a hit! They removed the parsley (too green for the boys), but I LOVED it. The only thing I added was double the cinnamon, and a can of stewed tomatoes. I served it over ditalini pasta, and added a photo, too. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Thank you Evelyn/Athens - this was absolutely what the doctor ordered for our first chilly fall evening here in NY. Totally delicious! I also cooked this on the stove top, for about 2 hours over medium low heat. There were some eggplant pieces, and some of it had melted into the sauce, to make it lovely and rich. ONce I turned the heat off, I added the feta and stirred it in. I waited to serve it after about 10 minutes (just b/c it was so hot). We just had it in a bowl and scooped up all the lovely sauce! Oh, and I did add a pinch of cayenne about 1/2 way through the cooking, personally just love a little warmth with stew. Anyway, thanks for a lovely recipe. I'll be sending it by email to may family and friends so that they can try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      I have made this a number of times and so I am way past due on rating it. I have made it both on the stove top and in a crockpot and it has been wonderful either way. Even my 14 year old son who usually turns up his nose at eggplant, ate three helpings the last time. I have made it with the bigger eggplants (rather than the suggested japanese little ones) because that is what I had and it worked fine. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      Delicious! Made this the other night for dinner. The flavors melded together nicely and my home smelled fantastic after a day at work. This is a great meal for nightly dinner or a comfy Sunday dinner. Serve with fresh crusty bread because you do not want to miss the leftover sauce. YUMMMMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      I love this recipe. I actually halved the meat since we are only 2 people. I left everything else as the recipe calls for. I love the spice combination. I also cooked it slowly in a pan on the stove. I did not add cheese, it does not need it. A definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      I thought this was very good, TRUE! Was confident enough to serve it first time to guests while entertaining too, Tasty, delicious, keeper it will be, Anyone else want to make it? Your reviews I'd like to see!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      Delicious! I made this just as the recipe directed, except cooked on the stovetop over low heat for several hours, instead of the crock pot. Even the kids like it. Most of the eggplant melted into the savory sauce. The feta cheese really adds a nice little contrast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef and Eggplant Stew (Greek - Crock Pot Version)

    Serving Size: 1 (797 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 587.0
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    43%
    Total Fat 28.1 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 110.5 mg
    36%
    Sodium 648.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 26.8 g
    107%
    Sugars 22.5 g
    90%
    Protein 40.7 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes