Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Beef Souvlaki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Souvlaki

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2002

      Absolutely delicious! I made chicken souvlaki with this recipe as I am on a diet. This makes it very low in calories and fat. I also barbecued it and added red & green peppers,purple onion & cherry tomatoes to the skewers, all no fat foods. I served it with Greek Salad, which really complimented the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2002

      I made this with lamb instead of beef. I also put them in the oven as I don't have a griller or broiler(they took about 20min in the oven). The yogurt sauce compliments them beautifully. I served them with rice cooked in chicken stock and fresh parley. Very yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2002

      Wonderful! I added a little pureed cucumber to the sauce to give it an authentic greek flavor. Also dusted meat with "greek seasoning" just before grilling. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      This is another fantastic recipe by Diana! I marinated the meat for about 3 hours and it was terrific. I also drained the yogurt over a coffee filter for an hour to reduce the liquid. wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      So good! I used chicken instead of beef at Dianas suggestion. I used skinless thighs and we cooked them on the BBQ. The sauce is a perfect blend of flavours and was really delicious with everything we were eating. This is a great recipe and I'm keeping it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      Yummy and quick. I let the meat set about 15 minutes instead of 5 after tossing with lemon juice. The lemon flavor was a bit strong. I will stick to the 5-minute recommendation next time. However, the accompanying sauce and seasonings was just terrific. This made a quick and easy meal for DH to grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      Very Good! I serve it with pita, hummus and the Greek Salad posted by Friedel. We had a great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      This is a great marinade. I only had time to let the meat marinate for about a half hour, but it still came out great. Very flavorful. I think I'll try this with chicken, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2003

      This was fabulous! I made a paste from the oregano, garlic, and oil and rubbed it into the steak. Then I wrapped it with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge for a few hours. I cut it into cubes and added the lemon juice for about 10 minutes. I love lemon flavour, so next time I will probably leave it longer. For the sauce I added finely diced cucumber. I served it with Greek Salad and pita bread. The meat was very delicious and very tender. This will definitely be my new way to make souvlaki! Thank you, Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      Very good and simple. Be sure to heed the warning not to over-cook the beef. This is a thin and lean cut and will get tough quick. Grill it on the highest heat possible for the 5 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      Unique and delicious flavor without being labor intensive or time consuming. I loved it, but my husband felt the sauce was a bit tart and would have preferred sour cream. He also thought it needed a little salt. I will experiment with it next time to accomodate both our tastes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      OUTSTANDING, Since it was a Greek recipe I did it on a couple lamb shanks. I added some oil to make enough for a marinade, ground it all up with an immersion blender then let them sit overnight. The lemon adds brightness without a being overpowering. Very well balanced flavors. THANKS DI, your a real princess ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2003

      Di,your my heroine!This was divine.I had to make a few changes cause I was out of some things.I used garlic powder for the steak and in the sauce I used sour cream,garlic powder; added some grated cucumber and lemon juice. I put the steaks on 2 kaiser buns; topped with chopped onions and tomatoes and tons of this incredible sauce and served with fries and devoured.Next time I follow the recipe exactly and I'll probably needed to eat another.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      yum! this was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      These are easy to make and really good. They were a hit with my family. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      This was really flavourful and easy to make. I thought about skipping the sauce, but very glad I didn't -- it really makes the meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2002

    • on October 31, 2010

      Really good! I loved the sauce. Our meat came out pretty tough, must have been the cut. We'll try it again with chicken or pork. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      These were good enough to try once. I'm wondering how they'd taste with a long marinating time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      A must try. Sorry, didn't make this yet, looking for a different recipie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Souvlaki

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.6
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    58%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 117.1 mg
    39%
    Sodium 92.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 32.0 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites