Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Brown Butter Spaghetti With Greek (Mizithra) Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Butter Spaghetti With Greek (Mizithra) Cheese

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2003

      YUM!!! This is like Spaghetti Factory's dish that I've been missing. I didn't have spaghetti noodles so I used 12 oz penne and doubled the amount of garlic because I love it. I think I ended up using 5 Tbs of butter when it was done. The oregano, garlic, and cheese taste so good together. Thank you for this recipe, it hit the spot tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2003

      This one is a favorite at my house. I have found that Myzithra (correct spelling) is sometimes difficult to find unless you have a good cheese and wine store available to you. I have found it at Safeways. The best source I have found is at Igourmet.com. http://www.igourmet.com/shoppe.asp?cat=1&subcat=ALL+Grating I don't consider the garlic an option for this recipe. Without it, you just totally miss the whole taste treat. BethT, thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was because I changed it because I ended up being out of oregano after I started it. I added SAGE! You must try this, it was one of the most delicious things I've ever tasted. As for saturated fats, do some more research, they're not as bad for you as everyone seems to think right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Now this is the recipe I was looking for! My family visits the Greek Orthodox Church's annual food festival every year and my daughter fell in love with this dish. This recipe is exactly what they serve at the festival and it really made my daughter's day. Thanks so much for an authentic Greek recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      I have been making this for almost 14 years! I worked at the spaghetti Factory in Indianapolis when I was around 25 (38 now) and I learned how to make this dish there. I believe it is called Homer's something or other? Anyway, this is so very simple, but you do have to be careful with the butter for 2 reasons. 1. Don't over or under cook the butter. If you under cook it, you won't get the beautiful nuttiness flavor from the butter. If you overcook it, it is just ruined. It will just taste burnt, and def not worth wasting on myzithra. 2. Make sure your pan is deep, not shallow for this reason: placing a cold, or even room temp spoon into the hot butter WILL cause it to foam 10 times the amount of butter you originally had in the pan and WILL foam over the pan so this can be very dangerous (you can burn yourself, or IDK for sure but if you have gas, it may cause a fire - not positive about that, but better safe than sorry). I try to keep a spoon in it from the beginning.
      I, also layer this as opposed to mixing it all together. Some people like more/less butter and or cheese. One of my family's favorites! Gonna try the sage idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Great recipe! I used feta cheese instead and it was amazing! I kept the feta in small chunks so it wasn't quite so mixed up in the noodles. Instead of just stirring the ingredients together, I did a layer of noodles, a layer of feta and repeated several times to get a more even coating. I then added the browned butter. Perfect Greek recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Excellent recipe - not much too it, easy as pie to follow, and delicious results. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Not only easy...but fabulous flavor. I was shocked at how much DH enjoyed it. thought it might be too dry for him. I made it again with spaghetti squash, good but not quite as good as this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      This recipe is outstanding, really easy to do, and great with or without the optional ingredients. I hadn't thought of it as a side dish with lamb, I will definitely give that a try too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      I absolutely adore this dish! Literally, I could eat it every day! Of course I'd weigh a metric ton, but I digress... This is the ONLY dish I order at the Spaghetti Factory and I share with NO ONE! Thanks for posting this, I've been looking for the recipe so that I can make this at home :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This was huge hit with everyone! Even my fussy FIL, who thinks that "Greek food is weird" lol. I followed the directions exactly, and used the optional oregano and garlic. I substituted whole wheat pasta pasta for regular. Next time (and there will definitely be a next time) I am going to try to reduce the butter and substitute olive oil, just because it's healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      This recipe was a winner with my family. My kids gobbled it up! I will definetally make again. It was easy and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      This was a wonderful side dish to my husband's prime rib. He usually gets the raves for the bbq but had to share them with me tonight, as the pasta was a hit at our dinner party (which we had not planned so I looked for a recipe I could make with the things is my nearly empty pantry). Even better - I made the pasta slightly ahead of time and left it in the strainer, then made the "sauce" when the meat came off the grill - no timing worries and low stress. I followed the recipe except substituted the cheese I had on hand (Asiago), and it was wonderful. I don't cook too often (hence the nearly empty pantry) and tend to get a little stressed when trying to concentrate on cooking and entertain guests at the same time. This was so easy, I was stress-free. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

      This was excellent. Fast and easy to make. Tasted just like the one served at the Old Spaghetti Factory, however, I did not use the garlic,oregano or pepper. I definitly will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2014

      Delicious. Did not use Mizithra cheese--couldn't find locally, but subbed in freshly grated parmesan/Romano. The oregano took it over the top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      i just had this dish right now from OSF, they use parsley not oregano. also bacon bits, mushroom, and powdered garlic instead of fresh garlic. not to say fresh garlic would have been less tasty, i actually prefer fresh.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      I've been making this for years ala Spaghetti Factory. I don't think they use garlic or oregano and I never have but maybe I'll try it this way sometime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      I've always loved this at the Old Spaghetti Factory and it was a big hit at my last dinner party- I served with feta topped broiled tomatoes and lamb chops- yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      We loved this recipe! We used the garlic and oregano, and it tastes just like the Old Spaghetti Factory version! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      I've been making this recipe for a number of years, our family loves it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Butter Spaghetti With Greek (Mizithra) Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.2
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    35%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 104.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mizithra cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes