25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM!!! This is like Spaghetti Factory's dish that I've been missing. I didn't have spaghetti noodles so I used 12 oz penne and doubled the amount of garlic because I love it. I think I ended up using 5 Tbs of butter when it was done. The oregano, garlic, and cheese taste so good together. Thank you for this recipe, it hit the spot tonight!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu January 19, 2003

This one is a favorite at my house. I have found that Myzithra (correct spelling) is sometimes difficult to find unless you have a good cheese and wine store available to you. I have found it at Safeways. The best source I have found is at Igourmet.com. http://www.igourmet.com/shoppe.asp?cat=1&subcat=ALL+Grating I don't consider the garlic an option for this recipe. Without it, you just totally miss the whole taste treat. BethT, thanks for sharing this one.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cloudtears April 11, 2003

The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was because I changed it because I ended up being out of oregano after I started it. I added SAGE! You must try this, it was one of the most delicious things I've ever tasted. As for saturated fats, do some more research, they're not as bad for you as everyone seems to think right now.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruthnjared May 16, 2007

Now this is the recipe I was looking for! My family visits the Greek Orthodox Church's annual food festival every year and my daughter fell in love with this dish. This recipe is exactly what they serve at the festival and it really made my daughter's day. Thanks so much for an authentic Greek recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cherienjeff February 23, 2012

I have been making this for almost 14 years! I worked at the spaghetti Factory in Indianapolis when I was around 25 (38 now) and I learned how to make this dish there. I believe it is called Homer's something or other? Anyway, this is so very simple, but you do have to be careful with the butter for 2 reasons. 1. Don't over or under cook the butter. If you under cook it, you won't get the beautiful nuttiness flavor from the butter. If you overcook it, it is just ruined. It will just taste burnt, and def not worth wasting on myzithra. 2. Make sure your pan is deep, not shallow for this reason: placing a cold, or even room temp spoon into the hot butter WILL cause it to foam 10 times the amount of butter you originally had in the pan and WILL foam over the pan so this can be very dangerous (you can burn yourself, or IDK for sure but if you have gas, it may cause a fire - not positive about that, but better safe than sorry). I try to keep a spoon in it from the beginning.
I, also layer this as opposed to mixing it all together. Some people like more/less butter and or cheese. One of my family's favorites! Gonna try the sage idea.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindyniel February 18, 2012

Great recipe! I used feta cheese instead and it was amazing! I kept the feta in small chunks so it wasn't quite so mixed up in the noodles. Instead of just stirring the ingredients together, I did a layer of noodles, a layer of feta and repeated several times to get a more even coating. I then added the browned butter. Perfect Greek recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef L Train April 06, 2010

Not only easy...but fabulous flavor. I was shocked at how much DH enjoyed it. thought it might be too dry for him. I made it again with spaghetti squash, good but not quite as good as this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MochaMoon September 08, 2008

This recipe is outstanding, really easy to do, and great with or without the optional ingredients. I hadn't thought of it as a side dish with lamb, I will definitely give that a try too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina G April 13, 2008

I absolutely adore this dish! Literally, I could eat it every day! Of course I'd weigh a metric ton, but I digress... This is the ONLY dish I order at the Spaghetti Factory and I share with NO ONE! Thanks for posting this, I've been looking for the recipe so that I can make this at home :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve March 12, 2008

This was huge hit with everyone! Even my fussy FIL, who thinks that "Greek food is weird" lol. I followed the directions exactly, and used the optional oregano and garlic. I substituted whole wheat pasta pasta for regular. Next time (and there will definitely be a next time) I am going to try to reduce the butter and substitute olive oil, just because it's healthier.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted June 19, 2007
Brown Butter Spaghetti With Greek (Mizithra) Cheese