9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this!!! Yum!!! I marinated the mozzarella and tomatoes in basil pesto before the skewers. So beautiful on the table too! Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E.A. August 30, 2011

Fun, cute! Kids could make this. I did as Shuzbud suggested---put the basil between the tomato and cheese cube. I assembled earlier in day. I used fresh mozzarella b/c that is what I had on hand. Thank you AZPARZYCH for posting. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal August 30, 2010

A few little problems with this. Although it is visually appealing, the cheese started falling apart after a while; some started simply sliding down the skewers (I served in a tall glass, in skewers, just like Nif?s picture); I highly recommend a more cured cheese instead of fresh mozzarella. Second, as it came up to room temperature, the oil started dripping down, making a bit of a mess; I imagine it would be worse if it was a picnic, with high temperatures outside? Also the flavor: very, very bland. Too many left, not what I?d call a huge success. (2 and 1/2 stars, actually)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsKette July 05, 2013

This quick and easy recipe incorporates all my favourite flavours! Next time, I'd probably leave the basil leaves whole and skewer one with each toothpick to ensure each one has some basil on it. Loved it! Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud July 21, 2010

Easy to make and even easier to eat! Made these for DH's birthday fish fry (as an appitizer) everyone loved them! Light and healthy! Loved it! Made for Holiday Tag 2010!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ July 12, 2010

I used the mozzarella balls to make it easy on me. I think I might use basil leaves like someone suggested, marinate the cheese and tomoatoes for 10 minutes in something or add dash of balsamic vinegar some how. I will defienitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz December 11, 2011

These were a big hit at a family BBQ last night! I cut cocktail sized bocconcini in half for the cheese and used long skewers so I could serve this almost like a bouquet, with basil for a garnish. I love this recipe and will make it again! Made for Everyday's a Holiday tag game. Thanks AZPARZYCH! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif August 21, 2011

So simple and delicious. I used the whole basil also. We both enjoyed them very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia July 21, 2011

So easy to make and it looks beautiful with the combo of colors! Enjoyed the sprinkling of basil that stuck to each piece. Thanks for sharing! Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 04, 2010
Caprese Appetizer