Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Chicken Oreganata Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Oreganata

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2012

      This was yummy!! I cooked it tonight for my family. There are 7 of us so it is hard to find things that everyone likes. This was a hit. I used regular oregano and let it marinade about 2 hours. My oldest daughter ate it but thought the lemon taste was a bit to strong but she is my pickiest eater. Everyone else thought it was perfect. Will be making again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      I followed the recipe exactly as written, just used slightly less lemon juice and marinated a little under 3 hours... it came out to be very dry. Maybe I won't cook for the full 45 minutes next time? Not sure. Like the concept though. Think I will play around with this recipe a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Great flavor. I use B/S chicken breasts, and only about 1/4 c. lemon juice. I never marinate overnight as the lemon tends to turn the chicken a bit mushy. I also like to use this recipe for OAMC, but I don't add the lemon juice until the chicken is thawing to prevent mushiness. Thanks for sharing. Diane

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I didn't have greek oregano so I used plain oregano plus a little bit of greek spices. It's delicious. And I will try it on the bbq this summer. Thanks Toni :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Great combination of flavors. I paired it with Jovigirl's Farmer's Market Cucumber Salad, actually a potato salad with cucumbers and feta cheese, and my Vrasta Fasolakia Freska.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      This was so easy to throw together- I marinated everything before going to work, and threw it in a pan when I got home. I cooked mine on the stove because I used chicken tenders, and didn't want them to get dried out. It was a little lemony for me, but dh loved it. Next time I may cut down on the lemon juice a bit. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      This was very good! I love the taste of lemon on chicken, and this recipe had a subtle lemon taste that didn't offend my kids! So easy to make and the smell in the kitchen was wonderful! I did use chicken breasts for this, because that's a preference in the house. And then I did sprinkle just a tad more oregano on the top before baking. But all 3 kids and myself gave it 5 stars! Thanks for posting this delicious and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      I used this recipe with a chicken breast (scaling back the quantities for a single serving). I enjoyed the lemon flavor and did not think it was at all overpowering. I marinated for about 6 hours and baked the chicken for about an hour at 375. As I really enjoy oregano and garlic, I would add more of these next time. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      I decided to re-review this because although it was a little too lemony it was very tender. I will try it again with a liitle less lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      This was a quick & easy recipe! We enjoyed it but expected a little more flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      I agree with Kaarin, for us it was really too lemony. I must admit that the chocken was very tender and if it hadn't been so sour we probably would have liked it. There's nothing wrong with the recipe, we just didn't really enjoy the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      Woohoo..simple & easy. I used whole legs. I didn't have 3 hours to overnight because I kept forgetting to take the chicken out of the dratted freezer. NO MATTER!!! I got fab flavor w/1 hour marinating. I shoved them in the 300F oven for 1 1/2hrs while I took dd to ballet & finished at 375F for about 15 mins to finish crisping the skin & it was perfect!! Thanks for a recipe that will appear regularly on our table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      I used chicken breasts instead of thighs...worked well!! I was only able to marinade it for approx 1 hour..great flavor! I also only baked it for 30 minutes and broiled it for 10 for more color! Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      I made this for my kids tonight. I did not have any, so I had to quiz them to come up with my review. They liked the chicken, but I could see one DD picking off the oregano, and the other one said it was good, but not her favorite. So, based on my observations, I am guessing 4*...btw...no one complained about the lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      I made a half recipe and only marinated for an hour and a half...I like lemon, but this was just too much for us in a meat dish. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      We enjoyed this dish very much. I only had 1 1/2 hours for the marinading only because I forgot it needed 3 hours. It was just right. The lemon wasn't to strong and the chicken was so tender. Very nice change fron bbq sauces or coatings. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      I used fresh oregano, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was very lemony, but we are fans of lemon and liked it a lot. To experiment, I will try it with a little less lemon, too. Thanks for sharing another yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      I didn`t have time to marinate so I used juice of one lemon, 1 tablespoon oregano,3 cloves garlic and my Flavored Salt Flavored Seasoned Salt rubbed into the chicken. This was great the skin was crisp and very tasty. The meat fell off the bone! Thanks Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      I made this except that I used half the lemon juice and Safflower oil instead of Olive oil. The most amazing smell wafted from the oven so I know this is gonna taste delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Oreganata

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.7
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    40%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 188.8 mg
    62%
    Sodium 269.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 45.2 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites