Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Chicken Soup (Greek, With Avgolemono - Egg/Lemon Sauce) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Soup (Greek, With Avgolemono - Egg/Lemon Sauce)

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2004

      I made this for dinner a couple weeks ago. This is the first time we've ever had lemon in chicken and rice soup, so it was kind of an unexpected taste sensation that took us a bit of adjustment. This did reheat well in the microwave for lunch the next day. Thank you for sharing a new experience with us Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      This came out perfect! It was just what I was looking for. The only changes I made were to use chicken broth instead of the water and to add about 1T of lemon zest when it was time to add the rice. This is something I will be making many times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      I'm coming down with a cold, so I couldn't wait to have this for dinner tonight. It was very comforting! The only change I made was to use Egg Beaters in place of the eggs because I don't like to eat raw eggs. This was a nice change from the usual chicken noodle soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      Follow everything up to and including #6. Add 4 eggs in a stand mixer and beat the heck out of the eggs. When you think you have beat them enough, beat them some more, then add the lemon juice to the eggs and continue beating, forget the cornstarch. Slowly, one ladle at a time while the mixer is running, add the broth and rice mixture to temper the eggs. When both containers are about the same temperature, mix the two together still stirring and bring the pot to a slow simmer for 5 minutes. For a pleasant and tasty treat, use Turkey instead of Chicken. You won't be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      The first time I had this soup was at a diner of all places (owned by a Greek family!) I loved it (and their Greek lemon chicken) so much that I decided to try to make it myself, with the help of your recipes. I made the Greek chicken (with extra chicken) one night and then used the leftover chicken with purchased chicken stock the next day to make the soup. That made the soup come together rather quickly which was good because the smell of it cooking was making me hungry! :) I also used orzo rather than rice, as that is a personal preference. Both are perfectly delicious dishes!! Thanks, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2012

      Made this for our friend of Greek parentage. He said it tasted just like his mother used to make (quite emotional) - so I can't thank you enough for posting this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      This is the best chicken soup I have ever made! I didn't even follow the recipe exactly, and it still turned out so wonderful. I forgot to add the eggs, and I did add a box of Uncle Ben's Wild Rice (without the seasoning packet). It was soooo good! I also added garlic because we love garlic! Thanks! I am going to make it again tomorrow with the egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      This is the perfect soup for a cold. The flavor is very light. If I was making it for a regular meal I might add some tarragon maybe.. I made this with a whole chicken cut up but a better way to make it would be with some boneless skinless chicken breasts & chicken broth, I lost alot of onion due to skimming the gunk, no bones would prevent that, but I needed the bones to cure my cold! LOL.. next time I will mince my veggies, I did a small chop & they weren't soft enough. Had no problem with the eggs with was neat cause I usually mess it up when it comes to special instructions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      this is outstanding! A new favorite with my husband and I. It was delicious the night that it was made and was very flavorful several days later.I decided to purchase a pkg of breasts with ribs and thighs and legs. I roasted half of each to brown the skin before boiling. An extra step that may or not have had much affect. This is a new favorite in my arsenals of soups!! Thank you~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      I upped the water to 12 cups. I also tempered the egg mixture with a ladleful of broth before adding into the soup. This is a great soup. Very comforting and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Wow! This is the very best chicken soup I have ever tasted! I am sooo glad I tried it. Thank you Evelyn for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Left out the chicken and just used broth, and it was amazing. Definitely good for those flu-ridden winter days. Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Awsome, warming, deliscious. This totally hit the spot on a cold rainy day! Thanks for much for sharing it with all of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Oh, wow. I could eat this stuff every day!! Everyone loved it, and I'll be making it again very soon!! Maybe tomorrow? I quartered a whole chicken and used chicken broth. The next time I'll just coarse chop the onions and strain them and the parsley out after cooking. I did take the chicken out after about 25 minutes... it was done but still nice and tender at that time. I used 4 yolks instead of the whole eggs, and added about a cup of milk at the end to stretch the servings to 8. This would be great with orzo as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Very, very good! Used chicken broth instead of water, no parsley on hand and subbed orzo for the rice. Didn't read the instructions carefully enough and added carrots/celery with the first step. Still came out delicious! And even better the next day, I thought. It seemed to thicken up a bit more the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      My first opportunity to FINALLY make one of your recipes Evelyn and it was worth the wait! I didn't use quite as much chicken but did everything exactly as written. I may add more rice next time but other than that, OUTSTANDING! Made with Kittencal's Greek Garden Salad With Greek-Style Dressing, a perfect meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      This was refreshing and warm and comforting all at the same time! We loved it! I used some leftover grilled chicken so I didn't have to poach any and I substituted orzo for the rice and used a combination of chicken stock and water. Will be making this one again!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      We really enjoyed this soup. Such wonderful flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      This just did not do it for me. I just found it really bland. If it had not been for the lemon juice I don't think it would have had any taste. Maybe if the chicken was roasted instead of boiled it would have been more tasty. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      I have a Greek friend that raves about his Mums Lemon Soup so had to try this recipe. This was something very different for us and we really did enjoy it. I did cut back a bit on the chicken as to me it seemed a lot. Used some lovely fresh farm eggs and you could really taste the yolks. Thanks for posting Ev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Soup (Greek, With Avgolemono - Egg/Lemon Sauce)

    Serving Size: 1 (622 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 572.8
     
    Calories from Fat 323
    56%
    Total Fat 35.9 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 232.1 mg
    77%
    Sodium 595.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 45.4 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites