Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Chicken Souvlaki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Souvlaki

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2013

      Straight into my best-of-the-best file this recipe goes!! The chicken is so flavorful and tender. I used fresh bay leaves, soaked. I completely forgot that I was supposed to baste the chicken as it was grilling and had already washed out the bowl the chicken marinated in. It didn't seem to matter, since the marinating had given the chicken soooo much flavor already. When the chicken was done, I took everything off the skewers (throwing away the bay leaves) and mixed it together. I served the chicken mixture inside some whole wheat Greek flat bread. I didn't have any sauce, but it was delicious as is! Thanks for posting (you always post the best recipes!). Made for the Soup-A-Stars during the Family Picks of ZWT9

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2013

      This is super delicious, my chicken had a lovey lemon garlic flavor. I appreciated that I didn't have to marinate it too long and still got good flavor. I greatly increased the garlic because we love it and instead of skewers of breast meat I used chicken thighs. I grilled the chicken and DH and I wrapped it up quick and had a lovely dinner on the beach. Made for ZWT 9 by one of the Appliance Killers

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      VERY good! I made half of them chicken, the other half shrimp. Also added chunks of zucchini that needed to be used up. Next time, I may add some shrooms as well. The Bay Leaves and lemon fused this together perfectly! Thanks for posting, Diner. Made for ZWT 6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      Great flavor profile. We added more lemon and less oil. The fresh oregano really gives it that extra something. Thanks for the suggestion to serve this with tzatziki - it complemented it really well. The portion size was more than enough meat for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      Great Greek chicken. Served with Greek Style Plum Tomatoes, tzatziki and flatbread. Had to cook in a pan as we had a hail storm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Loved it! I liked the addition of lemon zest.Made for zwt6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Fantastic. I wish all healthy food would taste like this. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      This replaces the recipe I've used for the past few years. And that one was pretty good! Such great flavor. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Delicious! I had the same problem another reviewer had, though...after marinating the chicken, and asking my hubby to go turn on the grill, I could only find 1 skewer! So we tossed everything...the chicken, quartered onions, and soaked bay leaves...onto a pan and roasted for about 12 minutes in the oven. It had great flavor which I think would have been even better over the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      This was very good. My chicken stayed in the marinade a little too long, and the oregano taste was a bit too strong for me, but I think it was because I left it in the marinade too long. My son loved it, and he hates onions! I'd like to do boneless chicken thighs and boneless breasts in this marinade. I think they'd be great. Thanks for sharing. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Great grilled chicken. I served this with pita, tomatoes, grilled peppers and zucchini and topped it all with Tzatziki. Picky 8-year old said the chicken was great. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Only a portion of this made it to the barbecue: we made the marinade and then could only find one skewer. The rest was cooked in a cast-iron skillet on the stove. Both ways, terrific: we fed it to a houseful of teenagers who eagerly gobbled it up. Made for ZWT4's Cookin'Cats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This was light and fresh and packed with flavor. We had no problem devouring it, and would say that this barely served three people. It was very tasty served with pita and a fresh Greek salad. Made for ZWT4 team Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles. Thanks for sharing- ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This is very nice! Made as directed. Thanks, Diner524! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Souvlaki

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.9
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    42%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 108.9 mg
    36%
    Sodium 781.3 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 36.6 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes