14 Reviews

Straight into my best-of-the-best file this recipe goes!! The chicken is so flavorful and tender. I used fresh bay leaves, soaked. I completely forgot that I was supposed to baste the chicken as it was grilling and had already washed out the bowl the chicken marinated in. It didn't seem to matter, since the marinating had given the chicken soooo much flavor already. When the chicken was done, I took everything off the skewers (throwing away the bay leaves) and mixed it together. I served the chicken mixture inside some whole wheat Greek flat bread. I didn't have any sauce, but it was delicious as is! Thanks for posting (you always post the best recipes!). Made for the Soup-A-Stars during the Family Picks of ZWT9

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood September 04, 2013

This is super delicious, my chicken had a lovey lemon garlic flavor. I appreciated that I didn't have to marinate it too long and still got good flavor. I greatly increased the garlic because we love it and instead of skewers of breast meat I used chicken thighs. I grilled the chicken and DH and I wrapped it up quick and had a lovely dinner on the beach. Made for ZWT 9 by one of the Appliance Killers

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet July 26, 2013

VERY good! I made half of them chicken, the other half shrimp. Also added chunks of zucchini that needed to be used up. Next time, I may add some shrooms as well. The Bay Leaves and lemon fused this together perfectly! Thanks for posting, Diner. Made for ZWT 6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie June 18, 2010

Great flavor profile. We added more lemon and less oil. The fresh oregano really gives it that extra something. Thanks for the suggestion to serve this with tzatziki - it complemented it really well. The portion size was more than enough meat for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 15, 2014

Loved it! I liked the addition of lemon zest.Made for zwt6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia June 12, 2010

Fantastic. I wish all healthy food would taste like this. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp February 10, 2010

This replaces the recipe I've used for the past few years. And that one was pretty good! Such great flavor. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing September 11, 2009

Delicious! I had the same problem another reviewer had, though...after marinating the chicken, and asking my hubby to go turn on the grill, I could only find 1 skewer! So we tossed everything...the chicken, quartered onions, and soaked bay leaves...onto a pan and roasted for about 12 minutes in the oven. It had great flavor which I think would have been even better over the grill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply January 28, 2009

This was very good. My chicken stayed in the marinade a little too long, and the oregano taste was a bit too strong for me, but I think it was because I left it in the marinade too long. My son loved it, and he hates onions! I'd like to do boneless chicken thighs and boneless breasts in this marinade. I think they'd be great. Thanks for sharing. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 20, 2008
Chicken Souvlaki