Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Chicken Souvlaki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Souvlaki

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2003

      Very, very easy, and very, very good! The lemon flavor was very prominent, and the marinade REALLY tenderized the chicken - I noticed as I was putting it on the skewers that it almost fell apart - and that was before cooking; so you can imagine how tender it was when done! Or maybe it's because we grilled it by the "light" of the lunar eclipse ... No, I'm sure it was the lovely marinade! I didn't taste much garlic though it seemed as if I put a lot in. I will definitely marinate longer next time, maybe add a little more garlic. Everyone's taste is different. Overall, this couldn't be any easier, and it's a refreshing change. This will be a fun and different outdoor summer party dish! Oops! EdsGirl here again - I forgot to add that I used the marinade on some Yukon Gold potatoes - I boiled them till just tender, then poured the marinade on them while warm (I made extra marinade just for this purpose). They were outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      It was delicious!! And so easy. I grilled the chicken whole then slice it then. I served it with romain lettuce leaves instead of pita. Topped it with thin slices of red onion ,tomatoe and tzatziki sauce. Even the kids loved it. this has become a family favorite. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      CL, the flavor of this marinade was a little too subtle for our taste. I'm wondering if it's because we used previously frozen chicken breasts and they maybe diluted the marinade. We marinated the pieces for about 2 hours...resulting in very tender chicken pieces. We will try this recipe again (we didn't vary the ingredients first time around) but use fresh chicken breasts instead. M&Mers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      A good, solid recipe. However, it seems a bit too acidic with all that lemon juice and vinegar. Maybe I will reduce the vinegar next time or omit it. The chicken was falling apart and I only marinaded for 2 hours as directed. Any longer and I wouldn't have been able to skewer them. Perhaps increase the garlic too. The marinade makes quite a bit of extra so feel free to cut it down to 2/3 or use the extra for basting on potatoes or other veggies on the grill.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      This is just awesome! I didn't use it for skewers but mixed it up and used it to marinate, then baste, a whole chicken. Since I had no savory, I did use Mediterranean oregano. This is one I will use again and again for many different things because it is just so darned good. Thanks, CL, for posting this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Perfect...very moist, tender chicken. Thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Yummers. This was fantastic, as good or better than greek restaurants I've been to. I doubled the garlic and used half olive oil and half vegetable oil for the marinade. Served w low fat tzatziki, whole wheat greek pita and couscous with red onion, spring onion and crumbled feta. Hubby loved it. Next trying the reggae wraps I keep hearing about. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I LOVED this! Used some greek pita breads, salad, and tzatziki sauce to make sandwiches.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Very Good! I followed advice from several reviewers (boiled baby potatoes and tzatziki) and had same flavorful results. I will definately do this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Excellent souvlaki! It is comparable to anything I have eaten in a Greek restaurant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I have not prepared this, but I tasted it prepared by Country lady, it is excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Wow! Easy and tasty! I added a little extra garlic because we are garlic lovers. My neighbour had a bite and she said she will buy the ingredients and I could cook for her. I served it with a Greek salad and Greek potatoes. YUM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Simple to make with a very tasty, clean flavor that also keeps the chicken moist and juicy. A definite keeper - thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I had chicken in the fridge and all the ingredients to make this super easy dish up! I served it in a warmed pita shell with chopped tomatoes, avocado, lettuce and Evelyn/Athens's Tzatziki. Delicious!!! This would be perfect for OMAC. Thanks for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      These are delish, but the reggae wraps still have my heart! Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Perfection...LOVED the lemon. I added 1 tsp of Penzeys greek seasoning since I had no sage or savory. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      YUMMY ! We loved this recipe - even the kids ! I didn't make any changes except we broiled them because of nasty weather. I cheated and bought tzatziki sauce. I took the leftovers to work today and everyone was jealous ! Thanks !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      This recipe is amazing. I accidently left out the paprika the first time I made it, and it was amazing. I didn't like it as much when I added the paprika the second time around. I marinade them overnight for top notch flavor. It makes for a quick, easy, and delicioius meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      This is a great recipe! Tastes just like what I have had at restaurants and is super easy to make. I marinated it for about 4 hours. threw it on the grill and my gas ran out... I had to finish it up in a skillet over med-high heat and it was still awesome!!! I paired it with Tzatziki and #17977. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      This was so good. I marinated for about 3 or 4 hours and it really gave the chicken such a nice flavor outside and in. I served this with greens tossed with Greek dressing which I used as a bed for the skewers,slices of tomato and onion, baby red potatoes drizzled with garlic infused EVOO and salt, evelyn/athens Tzatziki recipe, hunks of feta cheese and flat bread which DH spooned everything into. It was quite a feast but we really enjoyed every bite. Thanks for the great recipe. I'll be making this one alot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Souvlaki

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 519.8
     
    Calories from Fat 312
    60%
    Total Fat 34.6 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 145.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 144.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 47.5 g
    95%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    salt and pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites