34 Reviews

Very, very easy, and very, very good! The lemon flavor was very prominent, and the marinade REALLY tenderized the chicken - I noticed as I was putting it on the skewers that it almost fell apart - and that was before cooking; so you can imagine how tender it was when done! Or maybe it's because we grilled it by the "light" of the lunar eclipse ... No, I'm sure it was the lovely marinade! I didn't taste much garlic though it seemed as if I put a lot in. I will definitely marinate longer next time, maybe add a little more garlic. Everyone's taste is different. Overall, this couldn't be any easier, and it's a refreshing change. This will be a fun and different outdoor summer party dish! Oops! EdsGirl here again - I forgot to add that I used the marinade on some Yukon Gold potatoes - I boiled them till just tender, then poured the marinade on them while warm (I made extra marinade just for this purpose). They were outstanding!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EdsGirlAngie November 11, 2003

It was delicious!! And so easy. I grilled the chicken whole then slice it then. I served it with romain lettuce leaves instead of pita. Topped it with thin slices of red onion ,tomatoe and tzatziki sauce. Even the kids loved it. this has become a family favorite. thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbaptist September 26, 2010

CL, the flavor of this marinade was a little too subtle for our taste. I'm wondering if it's because we used previously frozen chicken breasts and they maybe diluted the marinade. We marinated the pieces for about 2 hours...resulting in very tender chicken pieces. We will try this recipe again (we didn't vary the ingredients first time around) but use fresh chicken breasts instead. M&Mers

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M&Mers July 27, 2003

A good, solid recipe. However, it seems a bit too acidic with all that lemon juice and vinegar. Maybe I will reduce the vinegar next time or omit it. The chicken was falling apart and I only marinaded for 2 hours as directed. Any longer and I wouldn't have been able to skewer them. Perhaps increase the garlic too. The marinade makes quite a bit of extra so feel free to cut it down to 2/3 or use the extra for basting on potatoes or other veggies on the grill.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilsweetie July 19, 2010

This is just awesome! I didn't use it for skewers but mixed it up and used it to marinate, then baste, a whole chicken. Since I had no savory, I did use Mediterranean oregano. This is one I will use again and again for many different things because it is just so darned good. Thanks, CL, for posting this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dragon Mom July 11, 2010

Perfect...very moist, tender chicken. Thank you so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
red and white kitchen May 24, 2010

Yummers. This was fantastic, as good or better than greek restaurants I've been to. I doubled the garlic and used half olive oil and half vegetable oil for the marinade. Served w low fat tzatziki, whole wheat greek pita and couscous with red onion, spring onion and crumbled feta. Hubby loved it. Next trying the reggae wraps I keep hearing about. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gbn May 11, 2010

I LOVED this! Used some greek pita breads, salad, and tzatziki sauce to make sandwiches.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinouStars March 08, 2010

Very Good! I followed advice from several reviewers (boiled baby potatoes and tzatziki) and had same flavorful results. I will definately do this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrirod September 22, 2009

Excellent souvlaki! It is comparable to anything I have eaten in a Greek restaurant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard August 16, 2009
Chicken Souvlaki