Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Chicken Stewed With Olives and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Stewed With Olives and Onions

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2010

      We enjoyed this, but I ended up putting in a bunch of Greek Seasoning, Seasoning Salt and some all purpose seasoning to up the flavor. I also added some mushrooms which were great. Next time, I would add more olives (I used Kalamata olives this time which were perfect) and throw in a can of artichoke hearts. I used a whole chicken, cut up, removed the skin before cooking, and removed the bone from 1 breast to see the difference. The boneless, skinless breast was actually good (was afraid it might get grainy like in a crock pot and it did not). Served over a mix of orzo and rice. THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      This was excellent with rabbit (2 fryers, cut up). DH is not fond of tomato-y foods, so I used cream of chicken soup instead of tomato paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I made this last night with bone- in breasts, I started out with half of the tomato paste but ended up using most of it ,It is a very flavorful dish which we enjoyed very much. thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I made this recipe in my tagine & it turned out very well. The only change I made was to leave out the white wine. Thanks Rita for a great recipe. Made for Family Picks ZWT 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Delicious! My family loved it. It was very easy to prepare. I used a package of 6 chicken thighs. Next time, I'll use more chicken pieces, though, as this made a lot of sauce - enough sauce for more chicken than I used. Definitely a keeper! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Following evelyn's suggestion, I used a little less tomatoe than stated in this recipe. I also used just bone-in chicken breasts as that is what is preferred here. It was sooo good. Lost track of time and let it stew for 75 minutes and the meat was just wonderfully tender and infused with a combination of saltiness from the olives and sweetness of cinnamon. Odd combination, but it worked very well. Could not find the requisite cheese -- searched high and low but found this perfect without it. Served with brown rice and a Greekinspired saute of zucchini with tomatoes and oregano. Can't wait to have the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      This is a new favorite at our house. I wasn't sure what kind of olives were supposed to be used, but I used black because that's what I had. Also, I had no mizithra and substituted feta. Served it over brown rice, and it was very, very good. Next time, I'm going to try this in the crockpot; it should work very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      Very good chicken stew. My only change was to substitue capers for the olives and followed the recipe to the letter. This produced tender chicken, falling off the bone, in a rich sauce. Next time, I will reduce the tomato paste somewhat - probably down to 4 oz, as I found this too tomatoey. The mizithra cheese was a great addition over top. Served over buttered orzo (wtih more mizithra).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Stewed With Olives and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.3
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    59%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 71.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 346.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mizithra cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites