13 Reviews

Wonderfully fresh, and easy recipe! This is so tasty! I followed this exactly~except I used dried chickpeas, and cooked them until completely cooked. I love the use of cucumber, onion, pepper, and oregano. I made a flat-bread sandwich with added tofu. Great, and absolutely terrific! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* March 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm March 16, 2009

Delicious! I added chopped fresh tomato and avocado to mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen August 11, 2015

Great recipe! It's fresh, healthy and delicious - just what I like in a recipe. I did use extra oregano and lemon juice to give a bit more flavor to the dressing, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Instead of serving in pita bread I just ate it as a salad with feta and tomatoes. This is a perfect salad to make on Sunday night for a few work lunches during the week. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 September 08, 2010

Made this as a regular salad, thought the dressing could use a bit more seasoning for my taste. Will definitely use up the left over salad with pita and leftover tzatziki for a great lunch. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre June 16, 2010

Easy and tasty. I served it over a bed of mixed greens. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 03, 2009

I halved the recipe and - like several earlier reviewers - made this as a salad. Delicious blend of flavours and textures. And it's always so satisfying to know that a recipe is both delicious and healthy. My only addition was a handful of chopped walnuts, added just before we ate this. I'll be making this for take-to-work lunches (and again keep any nuts separate). Thanks for sharing this recipe, Brooke. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 18, 2008

I just made the salad & sprinkled with feta, lovely & simple to make and a great healthy weekday lunch, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** September 17, 2008

This is a wonderful recipe! I added in some cubed feta and skipped the lettuce. This makes great salad too. Next time I shall add in some roasted bell peppers as the previous reviewer did. I used 2Bleu's Make Ahead Pita Bread recipe for the pita bread. Thank you, Brooke, for sharing this wonderful recipe, I definitely will be making this again! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum June 30, 2008

I did this recipe to eat just as a salad. It's delicious as is. I used roasted red bell pepper. That gives it a plus. Thanks Brooke. Made for the Babes of ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 18, 2008

Awsome recipe. This made great pitas, but I actually preferred it with crackers as a salad. Made as stated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally June 10, 2008
Chickpea Salad Pitas