12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a delicious recipe! We made one change--we doubled the syrup recipe. I found it to be better than traditional baklava. Enjoy!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jblady July 09, 2002

I made this for the first time the other day, and everyone loved it. I'll definitely try this again.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mugly July 09, 2002

I made this a while back and it was a huge hit. I did double the syrup as suggested. Putting the pecans,chocolate chips, cinnamon, and sugar in the Cuisinart as suggested by annbb worked well. I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UT Theta Chef September 24, 2009

Fantastic! Not traditional, but I'm not a traditionalist in alot of ways. My DH absolutely loves this! He never thought I could pull it off! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moallen31 August 04, 2009

This is SO GOOD! I have to admit it was a lot of work..but the outcome was definitely worth it! I had friends over last night for dinner/dessert..and they couldn't stop raving about it...and asking for more pieces (which my boyfriend denied them of). I doubled the orange syrup..I'd give this more than 5 stars if I could!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ManglinYourRecipes March 15, 2009

WOW! This is wonderful! This makes a lot but it all managed to get eaten without complaint. It is not as sweet as regular baklava which made the consumers very happy. A week later and they are still asking me if I have any left! I did double the syrup (a single recipe of it would not have even been close to enough).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky October 08, 2008

Better than any baklava on the planet! My co-workers were all raving, and they ask me weekly when I'll be making more. Superb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spudhead January 25, 2008

Mirj sorry it took so long to get this posted. Puter has been on fritz as well as way to many other things to explain. I made this back in January as a gift for my Nephew who has been working hard at moving me and fixing puter problems. It was not only easy, but totally and completely decadent!!! Definately a keeper for sure...sorry no pics as puter chewed up and spit out all stored pics.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 March 08, 2007

Made it for our "Seder"/ Maundy Thursday dinner ~ absolutely fabulous everyone raved about it. Since I had no orange juice I made a traditional honey syrup and totally skipped the chocolate glaze. Awesome!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Digboo December 20, 2006

These were delicious! Don't let working with phyllo scare you - it's much easier than you'd think. Just be sure to keep it covered so it doesn't dry out. I put the pecans, chocolate chips, cinnamon and 1/4 C. of the sugar together in the Cuisinart and pulsed until the pecans were finely ground. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annbb September 18, 2006
Chocolate Baklava