8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Used chicken broth , and my own brined olives. Loved it, and wouldn't change anything! Made for Aussie swap august 2012

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills August 05, 2012

This made for a perfectly fluffy and pretty tasty couscous. We eat a lot of couscous and although like I said, it was fluffy and tasty, it just didn't make me personally go WOW!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS August 05, 2012

Love this dish, and especially appreciate the fact it is ready in just a few minutes. I made it as written, but can imagine adding more lemon zest and perhaps a tablespoon of butter (bad Peggy). Served as a side to pan-fried fish and salad. Will make this often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy February 16, 2012

Our whole family really enjoy this couscous. It was very simple to prepare and the flavours blended well together. I served this for Hubby and Little Miss (DD) as a side with Moroccan Lamb Backstrap and I ate it as a main (I don't eat red meat). We all enjoyed the couscous.. Thanks so much for posting the recipe NurseJaney

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer April 25, 2011

This is so good. I used chicken broth and dry parsley. It turned out so tasty. I probably added more lemon zest. I'll do it again very soon. Thanks NurseJaney :) Made for I Recommend tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 20, 2011

I prefer the texture of Israeli couscous over standard, too when used as a side dish like this. Oil-cured olives worked perfectly in this recipe and a garnish of fresh parsley (from the garden!) added a lovely splash of color. Served with baked chicken and steamed vegetables. Reviewed for Aussie/Kiwi #50 Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl March 10, 2011

My DH wanted to make sure I gave this a good rating! I was pleasantly surprised at the flavour, mild yet full. I served with chicken skewers, tzatziki and salad. Cooking the garlic is important, otherwise it has a 'raw' flavour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee January 31, 2010

This was super tasty couscous! I loved the addition of black olives, parsley, garlic and lemon zest. It made for much more flavor interest. Next time, I will increase the amt. of garlic and try chicken broth (personal preferences). I highly recommend this recipe. It's both tasty and a pretty side dish to serve!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood March 14, 2009
Couscous With Olives and Lemon