10 Reviews

Really disappointing result. After reading the reviews and buying the ingrediants my mouth was watering. I followed the instructions (except adding 500ml extra water) and set my slow cooker to Auto. I left my house sunday morning at 10.30 and turned on the slow cooker. On my return at 14.30 I was greeted with smell of burning. Much to my disappointment in my slow cooker was a dry, black, burned mess. Not sure if the flour had thickened the sauce or maybe the tomato puree. Be very careful if leaving unattended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kevwade63 January 26, 2014

This is a great dinner. I agree with the other reviewers, a little more liquid would be helpful as it was very thick. Otherwise the flavors were wonderful. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 October 01, 2009

This was so yummy! Came home from a long day at work as soon as i walked in the door the smell that i was meet with was devine! The only thing that i changed was that i added more water, only because i not to keen on really thick sauces, and i cloud not get hold of any ground clove - so i used mixed all spice. Work great! Will be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Young cook ellie April 11, 2008

I made this last night for friends, freinds son 13 could not get enought of this, whent back for 3rds. He asked for the recipe so he can make it at home. His mum was very happy with that. I add a small can of tomato soup to it with the fresh tomatos,that is all I changed. thank you for posting this:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainbowbrush November 04, 2007

I made this last night and one of my guests stated that "This is so lovely that I'll be sad when it's all gone." What a complement for a truely fantastic recipe! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ger #503978 July 03, 2007

This was excellent. I only got one bowlful before my family polished it off! I was kind of nervous about the clove since I could really smell it when it was cooking, but, I tell ya, it wouldn't be the same without it. The clove was the last thing I tasted and it gave the meal a nice finish. So simple to prepare. I was told never to lose this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eikoweller November 21, 2005

Yum! I'd never had this before and made it because it just sounded so interesting. What a pleasant surprise it was! I only made a slight change, using 1/2 tsp of allspice instead of the cloves. I served it over basmati rice. Oh, and I was out of feta cheese, so we skipped that part. I'll be making this at least monthly--if not more often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC November 03, 2005

I've made this time and time again for the family - it's so easy and tasty. Always nice with rice, fresh salad and crusty bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tfortwo August 04, 2005

I made this tonight and EVERYONE including a very picky 2 year old loved it! Thankyou

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
domestic goddess extraordinaire April 04, 2005

this was a lovely stew that i put together in the morning and came home to a wonderful dinner. i used allspice instead of cloves ( i pulled out the wrong jar by mistake) and white wine insteaad of red, but it tasted great. i liked mine with feta, dh liked his plain.a salad and a baguette and an easy weeknight meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia March 29, 2005
Crock Pot Beef Stifado