116 Reviews

IT CANNOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS, DELICIOUS! It smelled wonderful when it was cooking, and tasted a zillion times more wonderful when eating it. The meal was almost done, but DH was leaving for his softball game, he couldn't resist himself and helped himself into the crockpot and devoured some before I even added the feta cheese. He actually called me on his way home from the game, to tell me how good it was and to make sure there was alot leftover. He dashed into the house, went straight to the kitchen, fixed and ate his dinner in about 7 minutes, and the compliments just rolled out of his mouth the whole 7 minutes. I only used 1 1/2 onion (DH doesn't like and when he asked what was in it 1/2 way through and I told him, he didn't even make a face, just more compliments. I also served it over buttered Angel Hair pasta. Thanks Lennie, this one is KEEPER for sure!

53 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook August 05, 2002

Wow! I have made this twice now, and it is superb!Really didn't have time to do the crockpot, so put it on the stove both times, and it was excellent! The combination of flavors is fantastic. The whole family loves it, and in fact, daughter requested it again!Thanks for an easy superb dish.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panino August 13, 2002

A fabulous recipie - I'm still drooling thinking about it, because there were no leftovers for me to eat now! I used tomato paste with enough water to make the measurement instead of tomato sauce, and it turned out great. The feta adds a great zing, and my husband, who doesn't like feta, still loved this dish.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa the lazy gourmand March 05, 2002

Don't feel right rating this since I don't eat meat and didn't try it. My husband and son weren't thrilled with it, though they did eat it. Would it help to say that my kids are (EXTREMELY) picky and my husband isn't the biggest tomato sauce fan? I do have to say that when I came home from work, the house smelled delicious. One more son has yet to try it... we'll see!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi August 07, 2002

Lennie, I'm so sorry to be so long posting a review on this 'ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC RECIPEE" Quote from one of my book club members. I had to add more tomato sauce as it just seemed too thick. I halved the onions as the ones I had were REALLY big, and increased the feta (can't get enough of that stuff). I served it over mashed potatoes. I have since fed it to my neighbours and my parents and all agree it's company quality and darned tasty comfort food.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Do-e December 30, 2002

This was fabulous. I liked how all of the spices mixed together with the feta cheese. I did not deviate from the recipe and I am glad I didn't. I am looking forward to the leftovers. Great recipe Lennie.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ August 16, 2002

Exceptionally delicious yet so easy to make. Everyone in my family love the stew and already asked me to make it again.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan April 10, 2002

I cooked the meat in a wok, so it was really easy to cook a lot at once. The whole family loved this, including the kids.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kchristieh January 30, 2002

This was my first dish in a brand new 5qt. crockpot. FANTASTIC. I browned the meat before placing in the crockpot and then added red skin potatoes and carrots. After 4 hours of cooking on low, I added 2 1/3 cups of water because I wanted more gravy, then cooked an additional 3 hours. The water didn't dilute the flavors a bit. This recipe was perfect. The feta really makes this dish - unique blend of flavors.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat from Ohio February 10, 2003

I came home from skiing to this wonderful dish in my crockpot. We had it over noodles and I plan to make it again. The feta cheese really gives it some super flavor. This morning when preparing it, I skipped all the meat browning and cooking of the onions and just threw it all in the crockpot and let it cook all day. It turned out great!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW January 22, 2003
Crock Pot Stifado