Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Dash Riprock's Real Halifax Donair Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dash Riprock's Real Halifax Donair

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2010

      I discovered this recipe a few years ago on allrecipes.com and make it a few times a year. After the loaf is cooked, I wait until it has cooled, slice the meat and freeze the slices. Whenever I crave a homemade donair, I just fry them up straight from frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      An excellent recipe! Very close to the donairs I've always loved. I did however use my own sauce recipe(Big John's Gyros/Donair Sauce) as it is the exact sauce donair shops I frequent use. It's nice to find a recipe that's so close. Thanks for posting. As far as the comments about this sauce, mine and others using garlic etc and not being "authentic Nova Scotia" donair sauces... I suggest the poster go to England or Europe and order from one of the million or so shops there. This is NOT a Canadian food and you don't have exclusive knowledge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      I have found this to be as close to my fave donair shop. I disagree with this being truly revolting. When I tried it, I tripled the meat, but quadrupled the spices. It was great, my family loved it, it was devoured. The sauce is great, I also made a dill sauce for those who didn't want the sweet sauce, it was totally awesome. This is the best, and I have tried others, I have even had a sweet donair meat, that was truly revolting. This is the best , and this is coming from guys who have worked in restaurants and such, and picky eight year olds and a really picky 21 year old. My family loved it. The only complaint was it put them to sleep lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      If I could give it ten I would. I never had a donair, but I have been having a craving for gyros, and alas no place around us has them. While searching for a recipe I stumbled on to this. I just finished making the loafs, and had to try a slice. OMG was this every tasty. I am going to start keeping this on hand, and use like a luncheon meat, instead of things like salami and the like. Next onto the sauce. I don't have canned milk, so I will have to change it a bit, maybe cornstarch to thicken it a little, might even make a parmesian cheese sauce, using the sweet garic sauce. Thanks so much for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      My wife made me these one time when I was feeling homesick and craving them. These are superb!!! We now have them so often I've made our own 'Donair' blend of spices and just put in 5 1/4 tsp each time we make the recipe to save a little time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

    • on November 05, 2009

      My boyfriend is from Halifax and he gave this recipe rave reviews! I would use more spices next time, but it tasted great anyway. For the sauce, I used evaporated milk, and minced garlic instead of garlic powder; it didn't thicken up as much as it should have (I'm pretty sure that was my fault!) but it tasted amazing. This is a keeper! P.S. kneading the meat was great stress relief :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I give this 3 stars ONLY because the recipe OTHER THAN the sauce was good, and the kids all enjoyed their dinner. But I couldn't sleep until I'd written this review, because the sauce is truly revolting. I suspected it would be, based on the ingredients .... I was leery of a sauce containing milk, garlic powder, sugar and vinegar, but after reading the glowing reviews, decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. YUCK. Had to throw it out, really nauseating. So, we substituted plain yogurt, which is what we had, and it was good. Tzatziki would be good too. Will definitely make the meat again, and serve it with pitas, and toppings like tomatoes and cucumber, etc. Hope this review will steer people away from that dreadful sauce though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      Mmmmm. Try this. It's fantastic. Depending on the ground beef you're using (extra lean especially), it may appear to be dry while mixing ( I was using extra lean sirloin). I added an egg and some (a couple tbls) breadcrumbs. Baked in two separate loafs so decreased baking time by about 10 minutes. Freezed one and GOBBLED UP the other. YUM!!!! *****NOTE***** If you screw up the sauce (as I did... was totally too thin... I think I stirred too much?? Who knows... haha), it can be fixed with some gelatin and appropriate chilling time. Seriously, mine was like soup, but I fixed it!! :) Thanks so much... delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      Excellent!! My husband and son are HUGE donair fans and were crushed when we moved out of Europe and could no longer buy them. I searched endlessly for a replacement recipe - and this one is perfect!! So close to what we got in the shops! I used ground turkey instead of beef for a lower fat content but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Yum! I have been searching for a Donair recipe since my son returned from Germany and raved about them. This one was a hit. I even doubled it & the kids devoured it all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Whoa! I've spent how much at the donair shop in 20 years!!??? This recipe ROCKS!!! So close to my donair shops that its incredible! This is better though! Sauce is authentic and great but, high in calories and fat... ok, splurge for once!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      We tried our hand at making Donair's for the first time. We thought the sauce was fantastic and we loved the last bite as much as the first! I can't remember when I have enjoyed a sandwich more! Yes we wrapped them and ate them that way :) Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Fantabulicious is the only way to describe this excellent recipe. Prior to making this at home I was practically putting the owner of the Falafel Hut's children through school. The taste is so authentic that they will miss me :) I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have a steel bowl so I used a large pot instead and the consistency came out just right. Thank you for sharing this one it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Really really awesome donair recipe. After living out east for a couple years and coming back to Ontario, I miss *real* donairs, and this recipe fills the bill. Very good, and the sauce just makes it right. Mmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This meat recipe is absolutely fabulous, dead on to my favourite donair place, they'll miss me! I serve it with Tzatziki sauce. Yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      the stuff i find in ontario is junk compared to this recipe....im from halifax myself and heres another idea...by a pizza crut and make donair pizza..donair sauce instead of tomato sauce and put the meat onions and tomatoe on....you can get it almost anywhere in nova scotia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I am on a gyro,donair quest and this was the best. It had the texture due to the kneeding. Used a greek flat bread and will add 1/2 cup sugar instead of 3/4 cup for the sauce. I also will add a little lemon juice to sauce. I believe I could sell these in a stand. Thanks Dash Riprock

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      I'm a huge fan of donairs and these were the real deal. I agree with the poster below though, garlic doesn't belong in the sweet sauce. I'll definitely be making this regularly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This is recipe is better than the restuarnats and alot cheaper. It was so easy to make. Absolutely wonderful. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dash Riprock's Real Halifax Donair

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 318.1
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    57%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 86.8 mg
    28%
    Sodium 699.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 24.6 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes