Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Domatosaláta Choriátiki (Greek Tomato Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Domatosaláta Choriátiki (Greek Tomato Salad)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2007

      Yummy! Wow this recipe is a similar recipe my mother makes. It also had a few of my favourite's ingredients tomatoes, feta cheese, olives, capers and anchovies so I knew it would be a winner. I changed the serving size in half to suit our family and there were no leftovers. Thank you Thorsten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      This was a great salad with a good bite. I didhn't have green chili do I used some pickled cascabella peppers and it turned out well. This is a keeper for me. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      A most excellent salad! I love the tremendous amount of flavor you get for so few calories. I like with anchovies but my family does not. So, I add them to mine after serving. A must make if you can get vine ripe tomatoes with good flavor. One of my favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      Yum!! Thorsten this is an extremely good salad recipe....loved the capers and the chillis....left out the anchovies, though my partner had a whinge about it so he had some on the side. I used balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil for the dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      So gorgeous to look at you ALMOST hate to eat it ;-) I had some very ripe tomatoes that were saying "put me in your belly" so I complied. For the peppers I used some anaheims from my tiny garden. I enjoyed all the flavors textures this dish had to offer. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Um, I discovered with this recipe that I don't particualrly like Capers... and DH confirmed that he adores them LOL. Still, I tried something new and liked everything else very much indeed. We prefered to leave out the anchovies and with fresh oregano that I picked from my inside window box herb "garden" this was a recipe that we will enjoy more often in the future, especially on warm balmy summer nights. I also am a wimp when it comes to hot peppers so added a little bit only and it was all I could handle LOL. Please see my rating system: a lovely 4 stars. Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Who doesn't love Greek Salad? This is another great version. I used 1 hot banana pepper and didn't bother to pit the olives. Bravo, Thorsten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Oh My Goodness, this was awesome. I have made this 5 times already (I have to go buy more greek olives) I was so hungry the other evening around 10:00 & I thought of this awesome salad my mouth started to water so I made it, then dipped some hard crusty bread in the remaining dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      I chose this dish for ZWT II & was so glad I did. Had a dinner party for 8 tonite w/grilled salmon as a main course & eggplant as a side-dish. I wanted another side dish to add color & flavor to our meal. I can't get green chilis in Iceland & the too tender Icelandic palate "rejects" the jalepeno heat, so I left them out. Even without chilis, this delivered the flavor & color I needed. Thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      Very tasty! I followed the recipe (well, almost-used Provence seasoning intead of just oregano) to the letter and it was excellent. Next time, however think I'll use a hotter pepper. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      I made this for supper tonight; it was wonderful; we loved it; lucky me I had all the ingredient at home.I took a picture but it really didn't come out as good as the ones you have; competing with a pro! Thanks the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      Very nice Greek salad. We had this for the New Year's Day lunch leaving out the anchovies as my sister is allergic to them. It's also very pretty with little effort, so I'll definitely remember this one. Thanks Thorsten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      An excellent salad! I used the given amount to prepare a lovely small lunch for two and served it with toasted brown bread. I often make what we call a Greek salad in summer, using tomatoes, feta, cucumbers, onions, black olives, a similar dressing including oregano and sometimes bell peppers. To use green chilli and anchovies was new to me, but how nice it was! Ok, the kind of chilli I used (I used only one)was hellish hot, so I may prefer to use another type next time... The saltiness of the anchovies goes really well with the remaining ingredients and I will certainly use anchovies in future tomato salads! I used balsamic vinegar as I love it with tomatoes. Probably not what the Greek would use, though... I chose this recipe for the photo swap in autumn 05 and I'm so glad I did. Thank you Thorsten for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      I loved this--and I did use anchovies which I also love. Very bright flavors. A great accompaniment for grilled fish or meat. I used the last of the real tomatoes--will have file this away till next summer when good tomatoes will be back. Thanks, Thosten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      Absolutely outstanding salad! I halved this for the two of us and used one green chili and probably a little more feta than called for. I left off the anchovies and capers as we're not fans and next time might add a little red onion as well. I used red wine vinegar and this was delicious! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      This was really tasty. I added some sliced cucumber, and some sweet onion. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      Very good!! I skipped the feta, used bleu cheese instead and put just a little anchovie paste in the vinaigrette. Used the last of our summer tomatoes...and it was perfect! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Domatosaláta Choriátiki (Greek Tomato Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.0
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    79%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 23.4 mg
    7%
    Sodium 515.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes