17 Reviews

Yummy! Wow this recipe is a similar recipe my mother makes. It also had a few of my favourite's ingredients tomatoes, feta cheese, olives, capers and anchovies so I knew it would be a winner. I changed the serving size in half to suit our family and there were no leftovers. Thank you Thorsten

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer October 02, 2007

This was a great salad with a good bite. I didhn't have green chili do I used some pickled cascabella peppers and it turned out well. This is a keeper for me. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefwally June 15, 2006

A most excellent salad! I love the tremendous amount of flavor you get for so few calories. I like with anchovies but my family does not. So, I add them to mine after serving. A must make if you can get vine ripe tomatoes with good flavor. One of my favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy June 10, 2006

Yum!! Thorsten this is an extremely good salad recipe....loved the capers and the chillis....left out the anchovies, though my partner had a whinge about it so he had some on the side. I used balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil for the dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff June 10, 2006

So gorgeous to look at you ALMOST hate to eat it ;-) I had some very ripe tomatoes that were saying "put me in your belly" so I complied. For the peppers I used some anaheims from my tiny garden. I enjoyed all the flavors textures this dish had to offer. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie June 08, 2006

Um, I discovered with this recipe that I don't particualrly like Capers... and DH confirmed that he adores them LOL. Still, I tried something new and liked everything else very much indeed. We prefered to leave out the anchovies and with fresh oregano that I picked from my inside window box herb "garden" this was a recipe that we will enjoy more often in the future, especially on warm balmy summer nights. I also am a wimp when it comes to hot peppers so added a little bit only and it was all I could handle LOL. Please see my rating system: a lovely 4 stars. Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 08, 2006

Who doesn't love Greek Salad? This is another great version. I used 1 hot banana pepper and didn't bother to pit the olives. Bravo, Thorsten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 08, 2006

Oh My Goodness, this was awesome. I have made this 5 times already (I have to go buy more greek olives) I was so hungry the other evening around 10:00 & I thought of this awesome salad my mouth started to water so I made it, then dipped some hard crusty bread in the remaining dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmrealty June 06, 2006

I chose this dish for ZWT II & was so glad I did. Had a dinner party for 8 tonite w/grilled salmon as a main course & eggplant as a side-dish. I wanted another side dish to add color & flavor to our meal. I can't get green chilis in Iceland & the too tender Icelandic palate "rejects" the jalepeno heat, so I left them out. Even without chilis, this delivered the flavor & color I needed. Thx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis June 03, 2006

Very tasty! I followed the recipe (well, almost-used Provence seasoning intead of just oregano) to the letter and it was excellent. Next time, however think I'll use a hotter pepper. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 02, 2006
Domatosaláta Choriátiki (Greek Tomato Salad)