Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Donair Meat Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Donair Meat Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2003

      This was a very good recipe. Instead of 3 pounds of beef, I used ground pork, veal and lamb. The meatloaf part was extremely easy to prepare, and turned out great. Instead of cutting it in thin slices, I cut each loaf in three and froze those parts separately. (A few days later…) After defrosting them in the microwave for about a minute, they were very easy to cut into thin slices. I then heated those on a frying pan. This is definitely a keeper, and I'm extremely delighted to have found this recipe. I was able to make 2 decent sized sandwiches with the 1/3 of a loaf. As a student, this is perfect: great taste, a change from the ordinary, very fast and easy to have a meal ready from frozen and it gives me a lot of meals. (in my case, 6) Thanks again 1Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      This was a great dinner for DH and I, we both really liked it.This one has a home in my recipe book and will be enjoyed many times, I'm sure. Thanks for posting :) Harmony

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      Excellant Recipe!!! My family loves it! We altered the ingrediants a bit for our taste but it was great. Instead of kneading for 20 mins we stuck it in a food mixer on high and it made it the same texture as real Donair meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      I've never heard of donair meat before, and I really only tried it because the sauce sounded so strange to me. But WOW, is this good! I am a spicy-foods wuss, so I only used 1 tsp. cayenne; i was tempted to cut it to 1/2 tsp, but after trying it, I think it could use the full 2 teaspoons. The sauce definitely makes the sandwich, though I did add more vinegar and a dash of salt to mine. I work a hectic schedule, and something like this, which can be frozen and prepared in individual batches, is perfect for me. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      I am from nova scotia and after so many bad experiences of customer service from Donair/pizza shops here and paying 20 dollars a meal for something i love, i tried this recipe, and it turned out so amazing, we made 3 loaves and i have so much meat in my freezer now that whenever the craving hits i can just fry it up a bit and make some sauce and have one. Thanks for much for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I'm from New Brunswick originally but now live in Saskatchewan. Nobody here knows was a donair is, so I went searching for a good donair recipe. I found this one and tried it the other day. WOW! It was so good! Just like the donairs back home! Hubby loved it too! We'll be making this alot more often. Can't wait to make donair pizza now. :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Excellent recipe! Absolutely wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      So good. I am from Atlantic Canada and it is so great to be able to make these at home. And oh the aroma when baking. You can also fry the meat, put on a baked pizza shell with some sliced pepperoni and top with shredded mozzarella, chopped tomatoes and chopped onions. After baking, drizzle with the sauce, and a little shredded lettuce Or, split a hoagie roll, layer inside fried meat, sliced pepperoni, chopped onion, chopped tomato, shredded mozzarella, and sauce. Keep cut end of roll up and surround with tin foil, but leave top open. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes until heated. Now it's a donair oven sub!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2004

      steve not bad. I also make donairs, however i find medium or regular works better the spices are carried through the meat via the fat content.Also try adding 1/2 tsp per pound of italian seasoning

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Donair Meat Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (1839 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1983.8
     
    Calories from Fat 718
    36%
    Total Fat 79.8 g
    122%
    Saturated Fat 33.8 g
    169%
    Cholesterol 477.1 mg
    159%
    Sodium 1464.7 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 159.6 g
    53%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 125.8 g
    503%
    Protein 151.0 g
    302%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes