12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVED these!! I would give these way more than 5 stars if I could! Used 3 baby eggplant, nonfat Greek yogurt in the sauce, brown tomatoes (Kumato), and packaged naan from Costco for the pita bread. I left the veggie mixture (pre-eggplant) out at room temp while I cooked the eggplant and heated up the naan, so the heat of the eggplant and bread warmed up all the veggies. I'll definitely be making these again, thanks for posting! :) Made for The Queens of Quisine for ZWT6

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess July 02, 2010

very tasty. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef de Sucre July 31, 2012

I liked this and my husband even liked it (he hates eggplant!). The kids only liked it without the dressing. I have a feeling that the leftovers will taste even better since the veggies will have time to soak up the other flavors. I think next time I will make it ahead and let it sit for about an hour for the flavors to blend better. I think the feta was the key to making this recipe really work. Will definitely make this again. Very easy to put together and made mostly of fresh veggies which is always good! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bugeah March 31, 2011

This is a decent recipe. The flavor is somewhat reminiscent of a gyro, but I think mushrooms would be a better fit than eggplant in this dish. It was easy to put together and overall a healthy recipe. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie July 05, 2010

Loved it! Husband liked it. We will have it again. Made for team SSaSSy ZWT6 ZINGO.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahubasics July 02, 2010

I just made these and found that a little taste test before an early supper wasn't enough. This was so good, and the effort is well worth it. I will be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef June 30, 2010

Loved this yummy pita! I sliced my eggplant really thin lengthwise, and added some asparagus and a few artichoke hearts. Then I topped it off with provolone cheese....yummy!!! Made for Zingo by an Unruly. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom June 29, 2010

It is a really warm summer night in the Detroit area and I was in the mood for a meatless dinner. These gyros really hit the spot. They were not difficult to prepare and the sandwiches tasted really fresh and delicious. I loved how the veggies are tossed in a red wine vinegar sauce. The only changes I made were to omit the foil wrap and we grilled the pitas so as not to heat up the stove. This worked really well. Also, while the recipe called for a large eggplant, mine must have been really large as my filling will easily stuff 8 pitas (DH and I each consumed one and split one and I have plenty leftover), which I am looking forward to having for lunch tomorrow. I will definitely make these gyros again. Thanks for posting. Made for Zingo ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny June 23, 2010

This was terrific. I love eggplant and this did not disappoint. I did have to cook my eggplant a little longer, since I cubed it a little larger. Great flavor. I will make this often. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover June 09, 2010

Delicious gyro! Had this for lunch and boy, is this filling! At first, I was wondering if I should slice the pita open like in a falafel but looking at gyro pics made me think otherwise. :D Just to be sure, I salted out the eggplant to remove any bitterness. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma June 15, 2008
Eggplant (Aubergine) Gyro