Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Eggplant (Aubergine) Gyro Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) Gyro

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2010

      LOVED these!! I would give these way more than 5 stars if I could! Used 3 baby eggplant, nonfat Greek yogurt in the sauce, brown tomatoes (Kumato), and packaged naan from Costco for the pita bread. I left the veggie mixture (pre-eggplant) out at room temp while I cooked the eggplant and heated up the naan, so the heat of the eggplant and bread warmed up all the veggies. I'll definitely be making these again, thanks for posting! :) Made for The Queens of Quisine for ZWT6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      very tasty. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      I liked this and my husband even liked it (he hates eggplant!). The kids only liked it without the dressing. I have a feeling that the leftovers will taste even better since the veggies will have time to soak up the other flavors. I think next time I will make it ahead and let it sit for about an hour for the flavors to blend better. I think the feta was the key to making this recipe really work. Will definitely make this again. Very easy to put together and made mostly of fresh veggies which is always good! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      This is a decent recipe. The flavor is somewhat reminiscent of a gyro, but I think mushrooms would be a better fit than eggplant in this dish. It was easy to put together and overall a healthy recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Loved it! Husband liked it. We will have it again. Made for team SSaSSy ZWT6 ZINGO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      I just made these and found that a little taste test before an early supper wasn't enough. This was so good, and the effort is well worth it. I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Loved this yummy pita! I sliced my eggplant really thin lengthwise, and added some asparagus and a few artichoke hearts. Then I topped it off with provolone cheese....yummy!!! Made for Zingo by an Unruly. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      It is a really warm summer night in the Detroit area and I was in the mood for a meatless dinner. These gyros really hit the spot. They were not difficult to prepare and the sandwiches tasted really fresh and delicious. I loved how the veggies are tossed in a red wine vinegar sauce. The only changes I made were to omit the foil wrap and we grilled the pitas so as not to heat up the stove. This worked really well. Also, while the recipe called for a large eggplant, mine must have been really large as my filling will easily stuff 8 pitas (DH and I each consumed one and split one and I have plenty leftover), which I am looking forward to having for lunch tomorrow. I will definitely make these gyros again. Thanks for posting. Made for Zingo ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      This was terrific. I love eggplant and this did not disappoint. I did have to cook my eggplant a little longer, since I cubed it a little larger. Great flavor. I will make this often. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Delicious gyro! Had this for lunch and boy, is this filling! At first, I was wondering if I should slice the pita open like in a falafel but looking at gyro pics made me think otherwise. :D Just to be sure, I salted out the eggplant to remove any bitterness. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      Wow, very nice! I haven't had a gyro since I became a vegetarian many years ago! I didn't mind at all that the eggplant was warm and veggies cold. Isn't that the way gyros are supposed to be? The only drawback to gyros is that they are messy to eat. I guess I just don't have the wrapping technique down pat yet. I made this as written except the only EVOO step was when I lightly brushed the eggplants with it. I also sliced and baked them in the oven for 15 minutes instead of sauteeing. Oh, and I used low-fat feta. This was a real easy and tasty supper. BF gave this high marks too. I will be making this again:D Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      This was interesting and has lots of flavors I like. My only hestitation is in mixing the hot eggplant with the other (cold) veggies. I think next time I might use the eggplant to make a warm spread and top with the veggies or grill the eggplant in long slices to sub for meat. The sauce was really good with this. Thanks Lori!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) Gyro

    Serving Size: 1 (406 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.3
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    40%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 18.5 mg
    6%
    Sodium 645.5 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites