82 Reviews

These are phenomenally good and I don't like most potato dishes. I don't follow the measurements exactly, just put in what I think is the right amount of ingredients according to how many potatoes I am cooking. I find that parboiling the potatoes makes them taste 1000% better too. They are also just as good if you don't marinate them. I would eat these every day if I could be bothered cooking them every day! Delicious hot or cold.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mishimoo July 02, 2010

there's a greek restaurant that i often eat at, and their lemon potatoes are perfect. i've been searching for a recipe that yields a similar result for a long time now, and this one has come the closest. i made the following modifications: - more lemon juice - vegatable broth instead of chicken broth - fresh oregano instead of dried - no garlic (the ones i'm after don't have garlic in them) - marinaded the potatoes overnight instead of just 2 hrs the result was tasty, but still not "it". they were nice and crispy, but just not sufficiently tangy and flavourful. i'm definitely going to try this one again though, as i'm certain that with a few more tweaks this recipe will deliver the potatoes that i'm after. here's what i'm going to try, in addition to the mods i already made: - prick the potatoes with a fork before marinading them (maybe this will help them soak up more flavour?) - save a little extra lemon juice to baste the potatoes with partway through cooking or: - boil the potatoes slightly before marinading them (they will likely soak up more flavor if they are softened first)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wronskian December 04, 2007

Sensational! Have just cooked these wonderful, tasty potatoes and cannot believe how good they were! Halved the recipe and only had time to marinate for 1/2 hour and then I forgot to turn the fan on in the oven so put them in the microwave for 10 minutes, then cooked them in a hot oven for another 40 minutes! Wow the best potatoes I have ever eaten.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parisma April 06, 2011

Awesome potatoes!! I cut the recipe in half for two of us and cooked them in a 9 x 13 pan anyway. They cooked beautifully but there was very little sauce left due to the larger pan. I'd increase the marinade by 25% next time. I also used the broiler to crisp them up. I love this method - real roast potatoes without the fat generally required. Thanks for sharing this gem.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned May 02, 2010

I created an account here just to review this dish. I'm an ultra-distance runner and I have footraces of up to 100 miles at a time. As such, I need a constant source of easy carbs that taste good while out on the trail. I have found this recipe to be exactly what I need while taking walking brakes during races. I swap in vegetable stock to keep it vegetarian friendly and I double the recommended salt to replenish stores that are lost while running, but aside from that I use the recipe as-is and it hasn't let me down yet.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasDevin February 04, 2011

I am not rating this because I prepared the recipe incorrectly. Be sure you use a pan at least the size as recommended in the recipe. I used a smaller dish that held the halved potatoes. Because of this, the marinade about covered the potatoes. I thought it would cook down, but it didn't, and the flavor was way too intense. Because of the reviews, I will be trying again -- this time only covering potatoes with half the marinade if I bake them in a smaller pan than 13x9!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mareesme May 01, 2010

These are fabulous ! And so easy. Exactly as I remember the potatoes from my favorite Greek restaurant. After many trial and errors from other recipes, I've finally found the secret. Thank you so much Anthony !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joelandsally March 21, 2010

This recipe is excellent! The dish turned out great. I actually forgot to add garlic, and sprinkled the potatoes with a generous amount of Hungarian paprika, and roasted it for 15 minutes longer. The results were mouth-watering! I served it with roasted lemon chicken. The best possible dinner on a cold rainy Sunday night! Two thumbs up!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beatrix M. December 21, 2009

This is the recipe I've been looking for!! This is the second time I made it and here's what I did differnt. I pricked potatoes before marinating them. Used a smaller backing dish so marinade would almost cover potatoes. After baking I put in the fridge over night and let the cooked potatoes absorb the sauce. Warmed the the next day for about 30 min. at 300. PERFECTION! Recommendation - please serve tzatziki sauce to dip the in. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Tzatziki-Sauce/Detail.aspx (best recipe - use greek yogurt or drain plain in cheese cloth for at least an hour - also make sure to drain cucumbers for atleast an hour)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kokosaget August 12, 2009

These were quite good - lemon flavour was dominant. I didn't marinate for the full hours & still liked the results.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb January 29, 2009
Ellinikos Lemoni Patatas (Greek Lemon Potatoes)