Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Ellinikos Lemoni Patatas (Greek Lemon Potatoes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ellinikos Lemoni Patatas (Greek Lemon Potatoes)

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2010

      These are phenomenally good and I don't like most potato dishes. I don't follow the measurements exactly, just put in what I think is the right amount of ingredients according to how many potatoes I am cooking. I find that parboiling the potatoes makes them taste 1000% better too. They are also just as good if you don't marinate them. I would eat these every day if I could be bothered cooking them every day! Delicious hot or cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      there's a greek restaurant that i often eat at, and their lemon potatoes are perfect. i've been searching for a recipe that yields a similar result for a long time now, and this one has come the closest. i made the following modifications: - more lemon juice - vegatable broth instead of chicken broth - fresh oregano instead of dried - no garlic (the ones i'm after don't have garlic in them) - marinaded the potatoes overnight instead of just 2 hrs the result was tasty, but still not "it". they were nice and crispy, but just not sufficiently tangy and flavourful. i'm definitely going to try this one again though, as i'm certain that with a few more tweaks this recipe will deliver the potatoes that i'm after. here's what i'm going to try, in addition to the mods i already made: - prick the potatoes with a fork before marinading them (maybe this will help them soak up more flavour?) - save a little extra lemon juice to baste the potatoes with partway through cooking or: - boil the potatoes slightly before marinading them (they will likely soak up more flavor if they are softened first)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Sensational! Have just cooked these wonderful, tasty potatoes and cannot believe how good they were! Halved the recipe and only had time to marinate for 1/2 hour and then I forgot to turn the fan on in the oven so put them in the microwave for 10 minutes, then cooked them in a hot oven for another 40 minutes! Wow the best potatoes I have ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Awesome potatoes!! I cut the recipe in half for two of us and cooked them in a 9 x 13 pan anyway. They cooked beautifully but there was very little sauce left due to the larger pan. I'd increase the marinade by 25% next time. I also used the broiler to crisp them up. I love this method - real roast potatoes without the fat generally required. Thanks for sharing this gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      I created an account here just to review this dish. I'm an ultra-distance runner and I have footraces of up to 100 miles at a time. As such, I need a constant source of easy carbs that taste good while out on the trail. I have found this recipe to be exactly what I need while taking walking brakes during races. I swap in vegetable stock to keep it vegetarian friendly and I double the recommended salt to replenish stores that are lost while running, but aside from that I use the recipe as-is and it hasn't let me down yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      I am not rating this because I prepared the recipe incorrectly. Be sure you use a pan at least the size as recommended in the recipe. I used a smaller dish that held the halved potatoes. Because of this, the marinade about covered the potatoes. I thought it would cook down, but it didn't, and the flavor was way too intense. Because of the reviews, I will be trying again -- this time only covering potatoes with half the marinade if I bake them in a smaller pan than 13x9!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      These are fabulous ! And so easy. Exactly as I remember the potatoes from my favorite Greek restaurant. After many trial and errors from other recipes, I've finally found the secret. Thank you so much Anthony !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This recipe is excellent! The dish turned out great. I actually forgot to add garlic, and sprinkled the potatoes with a generous amount of Hungarian paprika, and roasted it for 15 minutes longer. The results were mouth-watering! I served it with roasted lemon chicken. The best possible dinner on a cold rainy Sunday night! Two thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      This is the recipe I've been looking for!! This is the second time I made it and here's what I did differnt. I pricked potatoes before marinating them. Used a smaller backing dish so marinade would almost cover potatoes. After baking I put in the fridge over night and let the cooked potatoes absorb the sauce. Warmed the the next day for about 30 min. at 300. PERFECTION! Recommendation - please serve tzatziki sauce to dip the in. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Tzatziki-Sauce/Detail.aspx (best recipe - use greek yogurt or drain plain in cheese cloth for at least an hour - also make sure to drain cucumbers for atleast an hour)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      These were quite good - lemon flavour was dominant. I didn't marinate for the full hours & still liked the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      These were great served hot out of the oven, but they were phenomenal cold the next day! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Love this recipe. I made one change and that was to omit the salt and add 1 tsp. lemon pepper. This is one of my favorite potato recipes. Thanks Anthony

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      wonderful dish . . . made it exactly as described and it turned out delicious. will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      The lemon taste added a nice twist to regular potatoes.I only had time to marinate these for about 45 minutes but the taste still went through perfectly.I changed the serving to 2.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Yep, another happy customer here. These are the new standby for potatoes!! I didn't have 2 hours to marinate, only 1 - they were still delicious. I also cooked them in a pan on the BBQ over medium heat. Fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      We think this recipe is the BOMB!! We have searched the net for lemon potatoes and tried many.....this one is a definite keeper!! After eating these, you want to go to Greece....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      These are the best! Everyone I offered this to loves it and many asked for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      This was a HIT! I followed the recipe except I added a couple of bay leaves and some paprika sprinkled on top, and it came out perfect. My 10 yr old daughter ate so much potatoes I thought I might have to stop her. She did not want the gyros, salad or pita, just these potatoes. THANK YOU.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      These are a new hit in our household! I used Yukon Gold, cut into wedges, marinated overnight- adding lemon zest to the marinate. I only included 1/2 of the liquid to cook, and turned often to get a nice crisp on them. When they were done, I let them sit for 15 minutes, tossed with Mediterranean Sea salt and a bit more lemon zest and our guests were RAVING! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      These were so tasty! I used baking potatoes and cut them into wedges. The potatoes marinated for about 3 hours. Next time I will do as my friend suggests (her husband is Greek) and add a hint of cinnamon, a bay leaf and a little all spice. These were even better the second day!! Thanks so much for a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ellinikos Lemoni Patatas (Greek Lemon Potatoes)

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.9
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    35%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 429.0 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes