Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Ev's Greek Spaghetti Dinner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ev's Greek Spaghetti Dinner

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2003

      This tastes very much like my grandmother's spaghetti, so it was a very memorable meal for me. I've never liked any meat sauce but hers, and now I feel that I can recreate it myself (Grammie would be so proud!). I made this exactly as directed except for three things: had to use ground allspice (about 1/4 - 1/2 t or so), had to use ground cinnamon (also about 1/4 - 1/2 t or so), and used more cheese just because I love mizithra! The taste was really outstanding (reminded me a bit of the sauce Grammie used to make with chicken kapama). The recipe really does come together quickly; while the meat was browning, I measured out the dry ingredients in one ramekin, and put the wet ingredients (except for tomatoes and water) in another, so it was a snap to make, although it was torture to wait for the sauce to be ready - smelled too good! Per Evelyn's suggestion, we paired this with a simple salad, bread, and red wine. Wonderful and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      i think this is great!!! ecspecially since i'm a student in middle school that just got a big greek project {which was to make a greek recipe book!} i'd like to thank you for the recipe it was a big help!!!! - M.M.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2004

      Excellent spaghetti sauce! Wouldn't change a thing except maybe to add a couple more chiles next time. Just delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      I loved the chilli in this and the nice flavours of the herbs and spices, but would have preferred a good slug of red wine to the maggi seasoning, Worchestershire sauce and red wine vinegar the recipe called for. But I think the family will ask for this again as a change from our normal pasta sauce. I will be browning my meat the same way as this no matter which version I make-that was a really good lesson thanks Evelyn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2014

      This is an amazing dish!! I used 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of ground allspice instead of the sticks and berries. I thought all the spices/herbs were an odd combination but it all worked out well. Browning the butter and tossing the noodles in it definitely cinched the deliciousness of this recipe. I put the browned buttered noodles in a large serving bowl and then tossed it with the sauce. Next time I will make Greek salads as a side dish to accompany this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Excellent recipe. Came together really easy. I was looking for a meat sauce recipe that would come close to my grandmothers (greek decent), and this came very close. My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Delicious. Works great with vegetarian crumbles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      I really liked this but the family was not as excited about it. As with most tomato sauces the flavors really deepened after sitting a day, and we would have rated it lower if we had done it directly after eating. I used 1/4 t of ground cinnamon and allspice instead of the whole spices. One big disappointment....I was really looking forward to the flavor tossing the pasta in the browned butter would add, but we could not taste a differnce from just plain pasta at all, so I do not think I would do that step again. But with all that said I would make this again, and that is all that really matters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Ev, I made this last night and it was delicious. I used the last of our fresh tomatoes from the garden instead canned, so I did have to simmer the liquid out a bit longer, but boy was it good! It did come together quickly just as promised. You are my favorite chef on this site! I love your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I made this for company, everyone loved it. Made just as directed. Thank you, Ev

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Ev, this was wonderful, we all loved it and my 4yr old couldn't eat it quick enough! Followed the recipe exactly but did take your advice on the chillis and omitted them because of my daughter. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      By FAR, absolutely the best homemade spaghetti I have ever made. DH couldn't get enough. Thank you for sharing such a fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Oh my this is good. The only change I made was to use fresh basil instead of dried. This also freezes very well. Thanks Evelyn. I don't know what we would do without you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Outstanding! The trick with the browned butter mixed into the pasta drove this over the top - I could make a meal out of that alone, lol.. I never used Maggi seasoning before, but I found it in the bbq sauce aisle and grabbed it - it does taste just like soy sauce, so that was a good tip for those who can't find it. Thanks for another delicious and authentic Greek recipe - this was exactly what I was looking for. You know, I've been groaning inwardly with every Greek spaghetti recipe I came across that called for feta and olives.. just like adding pineapples to anything makes it Hawaiian, lol..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      the best pasta !!! It was even better with pene(tubed) pasta

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      I did all the cheats...I subtituted dried allspice, dried cinnammon, and used soy sauce instead of Maggi, and it still came out delicious! I am smelling it now. I put in in a crock pot to simmer until dinner time. Love the depth of flavor!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      The previous reviews say it all - it is practically impossible to wait for the sauce to be done. This is a wonderfully complex flavor!! The browned butter on the spaghetti was just to die for and the spices in the sauce come through so well. Easy to do, too! Excellent, excellent recipe! Thanks so much, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      WOW! My best friend owns and Italian Restaurant, and I almost died when my husband asked her husband and her to come over for MY Spaghetti!! I knew I had to do something different. This recipe was it! Everyone loved it!! Her husband had 3 helpings!!! Great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      This put regular sauce to shame. There was such a depth of flavor...I think you've spoiled me for other sauces! It is easy to put together, especially once you've got all your ingredients together. I also left out the chilis but will try them next time. The browned butter/noodles combo made it extra special. My family loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ev's Greek Spaghetti Dinner

    Serving Size: 1 (325 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 486.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    52%
    Total Fat 28.3 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 95.9 mg
    31%
    Sodium 689.4 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 23.6 g
    47%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    maggi seasoning sauce

    allspice berries

    mizithra cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes