Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Ev's Lentil Soup (Greek - Fakess) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ev's Lentil Soup (Greek - Fakess)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2010

      Loved this lentil soup. My 13 year old son can't get enough of it. I've made this a couple of times now and just tried freezing half which worked out well also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      we loved this easy to throw together soup which i made on the stovetop! i mixed brown and red lentils, otherwise followed this recipe except for adding a bit less oil. the balsamic lends a deep flavor that brings it all together. i have a feeling i'll be making this alot this winter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      Hey! This is good! I cut the salt to 2 tsp, and used a strongly flavored Kalamata olive oil (from Trader Joe's). By the way, 1 lb lentils is about 2.25 cups.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      I thought this soup was delicious. This was better the next day. I used less olive oil and slightly less salt. I served it with additional red wine vinegar at the table. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2004

      Lovely soup for warming the body during winter. I always have the ingredients on hand, and have made it a couple of times, and passed the recipe around to friends. I find I can make it on my stove top in a little short of two hours, and it doesn't need much supervision.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      Excellent soup which I did in the crockpot. Common ingredients which suited my pantry, and dead easy. We all enjoyed this including my 2 year old who had no qualms whatsoever about wolfing it down. Definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      I love Greek lentil soup and wanted to replicate a local greek church's takeout soup and this will satisfy my cravings....I used french green lentils and forgot to add the barley and totally enjoyed this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      This is a good lentil soup. I used the crockpot option - so easy. I like that the lentils were not completely disintegrated. My daughter likes to have the lentils be recognizable. We served it with Feta cheese so I went easy on the salt. It's also good with a squeeze of fresh lemon, if you don't want to add cheese. I will make this again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      this recipe was excellent! i put in my crock pot - and set it on high for 3 hrs. and then 1 hr more after the vinegar. These were definitely the best lentils we've ever had! thanks we'll definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Wow! What a simple, yet complex soup. My kids loved it and added it to their ever growing collection of favorites. The barley gave a nice chewy texture. We will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Delicous soup! Used veggie stock cubes instead of beef. I crumbled feta cheese on top before serving. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      I loved the subtle, yummy flavors of this soup! Very easy to make and with ingredients that I usually have on hand. I actually forgot to add the carrots, but it still turned out well. I did use an extra clove of garlic (or two) and a little bit of garam masala and herbs de provence. The olive oil and balsamic vinegar are key!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      I used beef broth, added just a touch more tomato paste and added some pearl barley and thought the soup was just excellent. As I used beef broth, I didn't add any additional salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      Maybe it's just me but I found this rather ordinary, and like another reviewer, a bit lacking in flavor. I skimped on the olive oil initially, but added the full quota in the end to boost the flavor, but it still lacked something for me. I ended up adding some cumin and oregano to it and that perked it up some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      Okay, I am the odd one of the bunch - but maybe it is because I didn't add the optional beef stock or something but I found this soup to be vary bland in taste. I actually tripled the amount of salt and still didn't think there was much flavor. If I made it again, I would substitute the water for chicken or beef broth, add more salt or seasonings, and add the whole small can of paste instead of only 2 tbsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      Pretty tasty soup! I cut the recipe in half, but still added three boullion cubes. My boyfriend thinks ham would taste great in this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      This is great. I took it to my daughters class get together. A lot of people liked it. Thank you so much. My daughter said she even like it:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2004

      A great lentil soup, my kids lapped it up, even my Greek husband thought it was great, better than mum's. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      Made it for my Greek friends, and they loved it! One of them said I should have added more oil and one also said that he might add some more vinegar before serving...but they all agreed that it's their own personal preference and the soup was great just like that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ev's Lentil Soup (Greek - Fakess)

    Serving Size: 1 (312 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.8
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    44%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 526.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 15.2 g
    61%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes