Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Fanouropita (Greek Spiced Raisin Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fanouropita (Greek Spiced Raisin Cake)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2010

      This was, in short, FABULOUS. I made it when my grandmother came to dinner and she asked for the recipe! Can you believe it!? So easy to put together and wonderful flavor. I didn't use brandy and used regular raisins. We served with a dallop of fresh whipped cream on the top. Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      The cake was awesome; I received lots of compliments when I took it to a Greek night pot-luck. I did play with it a little though. For the oil I used a combo of olive oil and coconut oil to take advantage of those wonderful medium chain fatty acids that are supposed to cure just about everything. Instead of brandy, I used "Sabra" an Israeli chocolate-orange liquor plus I added a 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips besides the raisins and instead of walnuts, I used pecans. Evelyn, you may not recognize your cake, but it was yummy none the less. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      Oh, Ev! This cake is to die for!!! The richness of the olive oil totally makes up for the fact that it is egg and dairy free. This will be a great item to bring to work for Friday treats.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      Great cake! I made it for a Greek recipe swap with my girlfriends. Everyone was surprised by the taste of the olive oil but most everyone thought it was a pleasant surprise. One taster suggested adding a pinch of salt. I might add more zest next time, too. Definitely use the brandy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      This is different than anything I have ever had. It is light, fluffy and wonderful. I ended up using less than the full cup of raisins as it turned out that I was almost out. I will make this again and make sure that I have enough raisins! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      i used frozen orange juice and i only cooked for 30 minutes but i was cooking alot tonight so my oven was hot.so check it guys

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      I made this for ZWTII and it was delicious, It reminded me of a big thick Cookie. Great with coffee.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      This cake is totally wonderful, I used brandy and incresed the orange zest. I actually made this last night so the brandy has time to blend in the cake. thanks Evelyn!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Made this cake last night and everyone is still raving about it. Pan is all gone must make it again. Very tasty!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fanouropita (Greek Spiced Raisin Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 548.1
     
    Calories from Fat 225
    41%
    Total Fat 25.0 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 222.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.6 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 29.7 g
    118%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes