Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Fasolatha (Greek Bean Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fasolatha (Greek Bean Soup)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2005

      This is SOOOO good and easy to make. I prefer to use a pressure cooker and more veggies, including diced tomatoes rather than paste. I make the dish all the time! Of course I learned it from my mom and I also grew up eating it. We always had it with lemon juice squeezed on it in the plate. As with all recipes, I make my own personal modifications. One is to add the olive oil AFTER everything is cooked. This helps retain the delicious taste and good nutrition of the oil. Another modification comes from my Canadian (of Scottish descent) girlfriend. You add crispy fried bacon broken into pieces, also in the plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I really, really enjoyed this. I added lemon juice at the end and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      I am spoiled when it comes to Greek cuisine as my mother-in-law is Greek and was a chef in a restaurant years ago and this recipe was exactly the same as hers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This is a great recipe and so easy and so diet friendly. My husband loves it. I followed the recipe and made no changes or additions. Will make this for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      Very easy to make and delicious. YOu should use a good tomato sauce, because it will give the Fasolatha here the fruity flavours. At the end I added a dash lemon juice. Make more than you need, the leftovers are great the next day and the soup freezes well. You should serve it with some salty side dishes as suggested in the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2001

      My Mom made this when I was young but was not of greek descent and I now order this when ever possible when I visit my favorite Greek restaurant in Chicago called the Parthenon where I saw the Frugal Gourmet eating once. I always wished to ask for this recipe but it isn't something I like to do at a restaurant and now I finnally have it and I found it here at Recipezaar. OPAH !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      This was good. I don't know how Greek this was, as I'm not familiar wiht Greek food. I couldn't bring myself to add a whole cup of olive oil, so I just used 1/4 cup. And I didn't use celery. I added McCormick's Lemon & Herb Seasoning (2 tsp) at the end of cooking. It tasted better as I added more to my individual serving. Next time I will try 3 or 4 tsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      I sauté the vegetable first in olive oil and at the end add lemon ..delicious

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fasolatha (Greek Bean Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.6
     
    Calories from Fat 282
    72%
    Total Fat 31.4 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 369.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites