Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Fassolatha Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fassolatha

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2010

      I think there is something wrong with this recipe also noted by several other reviews. I expect the white beans are meant to be soaked 12 hours and not 24, as like others, my beans broke apart in the specified cooking time. I don't think the cooking time is off. Also the amount of pepper is too much and I don't think that is our preference. So add to taste. I followed the recipe exactly except did not serve it with chopped parsley. The taste was good but to peppery yet I used less freshly ground black pepper. Made for Ramadan Tag 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      A very nice and filling soup! I feel like I got a whole meal, served with Ritz crackers. Thanks! Made for Vegetarian Swap-March 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This version of fassolatha is absolutely delicious and far superior to another version that I tried a couple of years ago. I substituted chicken broth for half of the water and used two 19 oz. cans of white kidney beans to save time but otherwise made the recipe as written. I will definitely make this delicious soup again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Simple, hearty winter fare! This was comforting and filling on the coldest day of the year. I replaced the water with chicken stock, reduced the olive oil a bit and added a splash of lemon juice after cooking, otherwise made exactly as stated. Very tasty!! Thanks Elmotoo! Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Good the first day but leftovers thickened so much I had to add a lot more liquid to call it soup. Good though! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I made this soup all the time! I do use cilantro instead of parsley. I serve with hot crusty buns. And I do add a little lemon juice right before serving. Sometimes I make it at night and refrigerate and reheat the next evening. The flavors are more intense it seems. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      This was a very warm and lovely soup. I had a problem with the time for cooking. I didn't even cook it for 2 hours when I checked and the bean were already over done. (I used great northern) So I just added all the ingredients at once and let it come to a boil again. Then coverd it and turned off the heat. Any how, it still was very good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I love this soup! Also thought bean soup is bean soup but this has its own distinctive flavor. I had some canned broth so I used two cans of chicken broth and 2 cans of beef broth. I did make a mistake and use canned cannellini beans instead of dried beans. Added everything together and let simmer until the carrots were tender. Very good soup! Thank you Elmotoo for posting this great recipe, will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      This is really a wonderful soup! All the vegetable flavors in this soup stay distinctive and yet come together to form a tasteful melody in a soup bowl : ) I only added a touch more salt then the teaspoon called for in the ingredient list, and it was perfect. Elmotoo, I thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Amazing soup. The flavors were very fresh, even with canned ingredients! Hearty and pleasing in an unexpected way. I thought, how different can another bean soup be? But it is! The cooking times were a little too much for the white beans I used; I should have started checking earlier, so I ended up with a creamier soup than shown in Thorsten's picture, but still very good. The leftovers were wonderful and it did not lose that interesting fresh taste, in fact the flavors were even better if possible. Served with orange anise bread (105157) and psomi greek bread (38085) and a nice greek salad with lots of olives, feta, cucumber, and red onion. I forgot to add the parsley and cut down the olive oil somewhat. Mmmm. Great winter or year-round food. I looked quickly on the internet and someone noted that the soup would have been made with lemon before the introduction of tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      Easy to make and full of flavours. Brings back the summer any time you like. Serve hot or cold, it will be great. With a side dish of feta, oregano, olive oil, crusty bread it will make a wonderful dinner. Instead of canned tomatoes I used fresh and full riped tomatoes and added them right to the end. They add a wonderful flavour. A dash lemon juice prior to serving will enhance all the different flavours of this fantastic soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      Delicious soup that had a totally different character (thicker and more developed flavor) the next day. Only change I made was to cut the olive oil in half to 1/3c. It was still quite rich and wonderful, just lower in calories and fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      The reference to the history about this recipe cannot be true... Tomatoes didn't show up in Europe until the 16th century!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fassolatha

    Serving Size: 1 (464 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.4
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    65%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 445.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes