8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The dried beans were ready to cook last night, but I was not. I drained them and placed into an air tight container. This afternoon I finished assembling the soup. It went together very fast. I think I'd like to add the parsley the last 10 minutes of cooking. Thank you for posting. Made for team Soup-A-Stars during ZWT9 2013

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J July 24, 2013

This was an excellent soup for a "chilly" day in Florida this winter. My sis found the recipe and added zucchini which made it all the better since we were getting extra greens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rodriguez49 February 03, 2014

Dreamer this is one good soup! I also used vegetable broth instead of water and 3 tablespoons of dried minced onion. Did forget about the broth and over salted a bit so do be careful if you sub with broth. The soup has a great flavor, strong and hearty but not overwhelming. Perfect comfort food and I will be making it again this fall.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 August 28, 2010

I almost always make my bean soups with canned beans, but decided to follow this recipe right on down (well, almost, anyway, but I did use a vegetable stock instead of just water when cooking the beans), & we were most happy with the resulting soup! Fortunately for me I'm the one who has a copy of the recipe now, 'cause after tasting it, my son & DIL managed to walk away with half of it! Not something you can make at a moment's notice, but this is definitely a keeper of a recipe ~ Absolutely wonderful tasting soup! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 25, 2010

This is really delicious. DH, DD (toddler) & I throughly enjoyed this one. I used about a quarter homemade chicken stock for the liquid and that probably didn't do much but it ended up so flavourful anyway. I used white navey beans, I actually didn't have any celery so I added just a little celery seeds for the flavour. I used a good canned plum tomatoes to success, lastly I used sea salt and the rest as listed. I will make this again. Made for Family Picks ZWT6, Greece/Cyprus region, for my team, The Ya Ya Cookerhood.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat June 30, 2010

Delicous! Love this soup and my 2 year DS gobbled it up. Thank you. Made for ZWT6 for Looney Spoon Phoodies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen June 09, 2010

Really enjoyed this. . .but then you know I am a sucker for veggie/bean soup! I did cheat and used veggie broth instead of the water to boil. Instead of regular tomato paste, I used sundried tomato paste (don't think it made a difference here). I added some fresh chopped spinach and some mushrooms that needed a home. Instead of regular salt, I added Greek Seasoning which has salt in it. I really liked it!!! Made for my SSaSSy teammate for ZWT6, Greece.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 08, 2010

This was wonderful. I did add about a half cup cheese to it. I used rotel because didn't have tomatoes, also it made it a little bit spicy that is why I added the cheese to tone it down a bit. Will make again. Thank you for sharing. Chief # 220151

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dakotah May 20, 2010
Fassoulada (Greek Bean Soup)