9 Reviews

Everybody loved this. I did add a dash of lemon juice and used some fresh oregano; I mixed it in the food processor. I made homemade pita chips and served the dip with them as well as carrots, zucchini, and celery.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarySC October 18, 2009

I made this last night to take to a friend's house as an appetizer and we all loved it. The garlic was really pronounced as I used a couple of huge cloves. I like things garlicky, so this worked for me, but next time I will try not to use ones quite so big. I made exactly as posted, including the Tabasco. We served over toasted garlic bread slices (DH said we kept the vampires away last night!). The dip was wonderful and I will defintely make this again. The four of us devoured the whole thing, so I would definitely double the recipe if you are hoping to serve more than 4. Thanks, Evelyn!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny May 10, 2009

I really enjoyed this dip. You may need to add more olive oil depending on your feta. Great afternoon snack and my toddler also enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat June 22, 2003

I used sriracha instead of tobasco, and also added about 1/2 cup deli artichoke salad with olives, onion, peppers, etc... Processed it all together with about 1/2 cup sour cream added to the recipe to extend the recipe a bit, since good feta is fairly expensive, and the flavor of the dip came out great! Served with pita chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelanieMag April 25, 2014

I made this for our 3rd of July party at my mom's house and used it to dip pita and veggies in. I started off using dry oregano as the recipe seems to suggest, and thought it was on the plain side so I added a small handful of chopped fresh oregano which helped a bit. Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog July 03, 2008

10 Stars! I used fresh oregano (and increased it to about 1/4 cup becuase we LOVE our herbs), added 4 cloves of garlic to balance out the oregano, used the liquid that is around the feta so that I didn't need more than 2 T of olive oil and left out the Tabasco...(this time) because kids would be trying this too. Into the food proessor it went.. and out came davinity.. it smells devine and tastes devine. I bought 2 packets of crackers to serve with this and it was so popular that we ran out of crackers ! We liked the strong punchy aromatic flavours and the fact that when you finished some, you were already looking to see who around the table had stolen the bowl, so you could ask for it BACK please! This bowl did more rounds of a table of 8 adults than most boxers get in a lifetime in the ring .. and this recipe was a knockout LOL. Please see my Rating System: 5 excellent Stars for a recipe that I will be doubling next time... and dividing into several bowls to dot around the table. because having to WAIT while greedy others got their share at the other end of the table was a hassle no matter where at the table you happened to be sitting LOL. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 18, 2008

Woohoo! Loved it! Everyone at the cookout loved it. DH didn't like the olive bread I put it on butliked the dip with plain saltines. If you like feta this one is a must-try! We'll see it on our summertime table again soon! made for the Daffy Daffodils ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field June 16, 2008

Delicious! I used chopped fresh oregano and, on Susie's suggstion, a tough of lemon juice. Great dip with bread and with raw vegetables. Good stuff, Ev!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate June 13, 2008

This is really delicious! I also added the juice of 1/2 lemon, and I left out the Tabasco. I think of all of us who enjoyed it, my 7-yr old loved it the most -- she was putting it on chips, on her sandwich, on her potatoes .... Thanks, evelyn/athens!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too June 07, 2008
Feta Cheese and Garlic Dip