Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Feta Puffs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Feta Puffs

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2009

      These are fantastic and oh, so easy! They are also a wonderful base for experimentation. I have sometimes added some chopped sundried tomatoes which have been packed in oil and then drained. I also don't blend the filling in the food processor, but rather just leave it "chunky". Usually I don't need the heavy cream or milk. Thanks evelyn for another super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      these were really good even though I messed them up. I ended up saving the filling that was runny, which was my fault. I didn't read it properly and put in the whole egg. I put the puff pastry in little muffin cups and put in the filling and baked them. It ended up turning out fine but I don't care too much for thyme. I'll make them again and this time I promise I'll read the recipe better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

    • on December 25, 2009

      These were good, had them for our Christmas Eve snack night. I think they could have used a bit more feta or something. I think next time we will try them with Asiago & minced ham. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      These take a little practice to get just right but even the messy ones turn out pretty. I made these for my DBF's son's wedding rehearsal dinner and they were a hit. I'm going to play around with the stuffing next time so this is a great base for experimentation. Thanks much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      fantastic!! i thought these were easy to put together. i had all the ingredients on hand, plus i added some fresh parsley to the mixture. i also make fork marks along the edges, which turned out beautifully!! i read the directions wrong and put the thyme in the mixture. luckily, i realized it just in time to put it on top before baking! this was a very impressive and tasty dish!! everyone raved about it! i will make these again for sure! a great appy for greek meals. thanks for another keeper, ev!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      I served these as appetizers for my Greek themed dinner. We really loved these light delicious puffs! It's great that they are freezer friendly as I made up a double batch and froze some to have later. We loved them before our main meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Once again enticed by a photo - perfect timing as I was needing some new ideas for those holiday appetizers. Loved these Feta Puffs! Happy to know they are freezer friendly which is a real plus. Thank you for another of your recipes - this appetizer a winner at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I made these with puff pastry as described in the recipe. They are very easy to make with light, airy and delicious results. I will definitely be making them again. Thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

    • on January 26, 2008

      I too used the idea of crescent dinner rolls since the store was out of puff pastry. They have a nice taste to them but it is a bit subtle in comparison to what I expect from feta. I used a tamoto basil flavored Feta. To assemble them I just left the crescents in the long rectangles they come in and pinched all the seams together giving me two long rectangles. I then spread the mix on them and rolled them up like a pinwheel. They came out looking very pretty! I did forget the thyme though so maybe that would have boosted the flavors. Still a nice appetizer to go along with our Greek Lemon Chicken Soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      I made these for a holiday party and I wasn't real impressed. Usually feta cheese has a ton of flavor for me, but these were just kind of tasteless. They weren't awful - but I probably won't make again. They sounded really good though!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I used this mixture, it was amazing!! Everyone loved it. I did not use puff pastry though, I used a refrigerated tube of dinner rolls... which I rolled out then cut in half and stuffed with the filling. This was a great idea and I will make them again. They freeze and reheat beautifully too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      I'm not buying frozen cheese puffs again!! This is the best cheese puff recipe i've tasted. These babies should come with a warning; "HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". They're still good with dried thyme leaves too. I didn't use any paper or flour, if your puff pastry comes separated by a plastic sheet just work straight from it, chill and they come straight off the plastic, onto a lightly greased surface with veg oil to avoid sticking. Evelyn thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      These went well at a dinner party I hosted this weekend. They were fairly easy to put together. I made them two days prior to using them and kept them in freezer. They tasted good! Next time I am going to add some seasonings to the feta mixture to add a little more zing to them. I love your greek recipes evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Used this recipe to test out for a wedding that I'll be catering in October. The bride, groom, and both sets of parents loved it. The only thing I changed was the method to make them and added some chopped green onions to the feta-thyme mixture. Absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      These were absolutely AWESOME!!I used an herbed feta because that is what I had on hand and they were so good. I thought they were going to be a hassle to prepare but it went smoother than I expected. I can't wait to make them again! Thanks so much for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I made these last night. FANTASTIC! They turned out just like the photo. :) I took your advice and doubled the recipe and froze the second half. We both loved these and I was very upset that the dog found the leftovers and ate them!!! HEY! No fair! :( I'll be making these again soon. Next time I might put a small strip of roasted red pepper across the top of the feta... Or some olive paste... So many options for such a simple, wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      These are absolutely wonderful! What a surprise when you open the oven door and find these beautiful puffs. I'm thinking of trying other fillings - I buy a blue cheese brie that I think would be wonderful. Of course, I have ruined the diet I started this morning! Oh well, I'll start my diet tomorrow - I wouldn't have missed these for anything. Thanks, Evelyn, I love your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      These were so fancy looking and so wonderful....we really enjoyed these..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Feta Puffs

    Serving Size: 1 (546 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.7
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    64%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 88.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites