Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Fried Halloumi Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Halloumi Salad

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2003

      I second Missy's "six star alert"! I served this on a bed of mixed lettuce leaves and herbs and it was a perfect side dish for a light spring lunch. I really have nothing to change, except to say you should definitely double the recipe. You'll want more!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2003

      SIX STAR ALERT!!! I have 2 kg of real Cypriot halloumi sitting in my fridge. I am tempted to use ALL of it on this recipe. This smells wonderful, tastes even better and has just the right combination of ingredients in the dressing. This is a recipe that makes capers, an ingredient I am not too fond of, taste good. Remember to check if the cheese is soaking in brine and be prepared to pop it in some fresh water to get rid of some of the salt. I recommend real Mediterranean cheese as I tried doing a similar recipe with some Australian halloumi and it began to melt on me. The real thing holds up to the frypan in a much more convincing way. Thanks for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2003

      Oh we loved this recipe!! the only thing that i did different was to dip the cheese peices in lemon before coating them with flour ( just to get get a crunchier coating!!)other than that I stuck with the recipe. thanks PetsRus for a fantastic recipe!! Poppy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2003

      If you find the dressing too tangy just add some more olive oil. It might depend on how much juice you get from the lime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Yummy! I made this tonight with my dinner and really enjoyed it. Like other reviewers, I did not dip the halloumi in the flour (was out) but it fried up really well anyway. Other than that I made the recipe as stated, served it over salad greens and ate it up. One taste of the the gooey saltiness of fried halloumi and you'll be hooked! Thanks for posting such a tasty recipe - we enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Absolutely delicious - and so simple! Read through a few halloumi recipes before plumping for this one, and like several raters, I didn't bother coating the flour in cheese before frying (I've never found that it needed it). But it's amazing dressing that makes this meal. good: tangy, It's SOOOO good: tasty, sharp, savoury - I will definitely be making this one again. Also tried the dressing with some of the chicken my other half was having for dinner - and that worked great as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      I made this last weekend using the recipe from Delia's book and just realized you had posted it, so I thought I would review it! We both really enjoyed this salad. I loved the tartness of the dressing. I used coriander as we both love it. It went very well with the capers. It was my first time eating Halloumi cheese and I really enjoyed it. Be sure to eat it warm as the cheese can be a but rubbery once cooled down. We had it on a bed of lettuce leaves and you are right it is just perfect for two people for a light lunch! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      Just tried out this salad at Pet's place and have to say I really loved it. The cheese had a lovely bite and combined beautifully with the dressing. I think coriander can be a bit overwelming in a lot of dishes, but in this dressing it isn't. This recipe goes directly to my cookbook, so I can make it myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      I made this tonight from Delia's book and when I saw the recipe had been posted here I thought I had better review it! I made it as a starter and didn't change anything except to leave the capers out for the kids, I added them for myself and DH. I told the youngest picky son (11y) that he could just have the halloumi with ketchup but he tried the dressing and loved it! It was really nice to have something 'different' which was also easy and fast to make, I know I'll be making this again, and am glad to see the recipe posted here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      Yum! I'm a beginner cook and manage to mess up most recipes but not this one!! I loved it! Only thing I changed was that I didn't have lime so used lemon and a splash of plain white vinegar. It's the first time I've had this cheese and it is so yummy. I want it for dinner again today!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      Delicious! Tangy, and with that great halloumi texture (though I'm still a bit unnerved by the sound it makes when chewing). I served this over raw endive spears as first course to a hearty soup meal. Can't wait to serve this unusual dish to guests. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      A six star alert doesn't do this recipe justice. This is the type of recipe that is so good it reminds you why you spend so much time hunting recipes down, because every once in awhile something great like this turns up. It has a nice tart dressing (but not too tart!) that gives a perfect balance to the toasty cheese. But if you like less tart, just taste first and add a little more oil if needed. I served this over mixed salad greens and it was wonderful! This will definitely be added to my regular repertoir of prized recipes. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Halloumi Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.2
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    88%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 234.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    halloumi cheese

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes