17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The lovely tastes of both lemon and garlic were front and center on the chicken! I marinaded the chicken chunks for 4 hours and still had lots of flavor. Served with [recipe=#32448]spanakopita[/recipe]; I think next time I'll add in a side of buttered noodles, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misa July 11, 2009

Yummy! I've been looking for some new grilling recipes now that it's that season and this one was a keeper. My husband loves garlic so he especially liked it. I made exactly as directed except didn't marinate it for quite as long. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo May 26, 2009

We made the pork version and grilled em till the thunderstorm started pouring down. We had to grab everything off the grill and finish them off in the oven. For the souvlaki, we broiled them rather than bake. The flavor is wonderful and went great with Scallion Butter Sauce Grilled Inside the Corn Husk. The only change we made was to use McCormicks mediterranean spiced sea salt (for the s/p oregano) and to marinade the meat for just 2 hrs. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu May 23, 2009

An easy and wonderful way to make souvlaki! As I don't have a grill, I had to oven bake my chicken - this was one of the few recipes that actually bothered to include an oven option! The chicken was moist and flavorful with only about an hour in the marinade - next time I'll be better prepared and leave it overnight. It'll only get better I'm sure! One trick I found was to skewer the chicken and then lay the skewers across the short side of a 9x13 pan. Keeping the skewers across the pan while baking is a great way to catch all the drippings and give it more of that rotisserie-style flavor! Served with Greek Orzo Salad. I'll definitely be keeping this one on hand for the future!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenofeats June 05, 2008

This is excellent! I used Costco's frozen chicken breasts - I put them in the marinade the night before while they were still frozen and whole. Just before cooking, I cubed them, soaked them briefly in the marinade and then cooked them on the outdoor grill. I served them with Israeli Salad, hummus and pita. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulesAndEvy September 04, 2007

The lemon and garlic does indeed shine through on this recipe though... I sliced my chicken in strips rather than chunks. I honestly couldn't imagine marinating for overnight or 24 hours, my strips were 'white' and pickled after 4 hours. I had a hard time cooking them since they looked ready to eat before being skewered, Overall though, it was very light and clean tasting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat February 29, 2012

Really good! I loved the strong garlic flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 February 16, 2011

The taste of this was wonderful! I was a little worried about the lemon juice and the marinating time. I started my marinade before I left for work. I grilled these for dinner. (Marinating time about 11 hours) I would not recommend marinating for that long, as some of my chicken cubes were cooked from the acid in the lemon. I'd marinate about 5 or 6 hours next time. The garlic was perfect!! These would be wonderful in a pita! Thanks for sharing. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 14, 2010

I was concerned that marinating the chicken for so long might make it mushy. Not to worry! The texture was fine, and we really liked the garlic-lemon flavor. I appreciate the instructions for making this in the oven, since it was much too cold to grill. Thanks for posting! Made for Zaar Stars tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl April 22, 2010

I did this recipe with pork tenderloin. It was in the marinade 24 hours. It really tastes like souvlaki. We ate it with tzatziki and pita. I'll have to try it with chicken. Thanks Katzen :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 06, 2010
Garlicky Chicken or Pork Souvlaki