Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Garlicky Chicken or Pork Souvlaki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlicky Chicken or Pork Souvlaki

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2009

      The lovely tastes of both lemon and garlic were front and center on the chicken! I marinaded the chicken chunks for 4 hours and still had lots of flavor. Served with [recipe=#32448]spanakopita[/recipe]; I think next time I'll add in a side of buttered noodles, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Yummy! I've been looking for some new grilling recipes now that it's that season and this one was a keeper. My husband loves garlic so he especially liked it. I made exactly as directed except didn't marinate it for quite as long. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      We made the pork version and grilled em till the thunderstorm started pouring down. We had to grab everything off the grill and finish them off in the oven. For the souvlaki, we broiled them rather than bake. The flavor is wonderful and went great with Scallion Butter Sauce Grilled Inside the Corn Husk. The only change we made was to use McCormicks mediterranean spiced sea salt (for the s/p oregano) and to marinade the meat for just 2 hrs. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      An easy and wonderful way to make souvlaki! As I don't have a grill, I had to oven bake my chicken - this was one of the few recipes that actually bothered to include an oven option! The chicken was moist and flavorful with only about an hour in the marinade - next time I'll be better prepared and leave it overnight. It'll only get better I'm sure! One trick I found was to skewer the chicken and then lay the skewers across the short side of a 9x13 pan. Keeping the skewers across the pan while baking is a great way to catch all the drippings and give it more of that rotisserie-style flavor! Served with Greek Orzo Salad. I'll definitely be keeping this one on hand for the future!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      This is excellent! I used Costco's frozen chicken breasts - I put them in the marinade the night before while they were still frozen and whole. Just before cooking, I cubed them, soaked them briefly in the marinade and then cooked them on the outdoor grill. I served them with Israeli Salad, hummus and pita. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      The lemon and garlic does indeed shine through on this recipe though... I sliced my chicken in strips rather than chunks. I honestly couldn't imagine marinating for overnight or 24 hours, my strips were 'white' and pickled after 4 hours. I had a hard time cooking them since they looked ready to eat before being skewered, Overall though, it was very light and clean tasting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      Really good! I loved the strong garlic flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      The taste of this was wonderful! I was a little worried about the lemon juice and the marinating time. I started my marinade before I left for work. I grilled these for dinner. (Marinating time about 11 hours) I would not recommend marinating for that long, as some of my chicken cubes were cooked from the acid in the lemon. I'd marinate about 5 or 6 hours next time. The garlic was perfect!! These would be wonderful in a pita! Thanks for sharing. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I was concerned that marinating the chicken for so long might make it mushy. Not to worry! The texture was fine, and we really liked the garlic-lemon flavor. I appreciate the instructions for making this in the oven, since it was much too cold to grill. Thanks for posting! Made for Zaar Stars tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      I did this recipe with pork tenderloin. It was in the marinade 24 hours. It really tastes like souvlaki. We ate it with tzatziki and pita. I'll have to try it with chicken. Thanks Katzen :) Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Had to make these in the oven since it is so cold outside and I didn't feel like grilling. These are really good with lots of flavor!! Marinated for not quite 24 hours. Will definitely be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      It was worth waiting to tag it.It was so Greek! Marinated the chicken for 24 hours and next time I'll try it with pork.Adding a few sprinkles of oregano just before grilling it intensifies the flavor.Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

    • on October 04, 2009

      I have never made or even had Souvlaki before so I can't compare this to any others, but I can tell you that is was very tasty! The garlic and lemon were really great! I can never seem to get enough flavor into the meat from a marinade, but this one did the trick :) Made for I recommend tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Delicious Souvlaki recipe!!! I made this using chicken but made for 1 lb instead of 2. I put the chicken in the marinade 6 hours before grilling. I think using fresh lemon juice is the key to great Souvlaki and with the garlic this was great. I served it with some rice, green beans and garlic bread. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      I made this on the weekend and it was very, very good, and so easy. I will use it many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      This was the first recipe I cooked on my new Foreman grill and it turned out perfect. Love the garlic/lemon/oregano combination. Thanks for a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlicky Chicken or Pork Souvlaki

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.6
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    58%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 96.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 96.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 31.9 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes