Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Gigantes (Greek Giant Baked Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gigantes (Greek Giant Baked Beans)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2003

      I made this with 1/2lb bacon. If serving as the main entree I would add the sausage too. The bacon only is great for a side dish. Was a nice change from sweet baked beans. To make it more edible for the kids I sliced the veggies smaller and added them the last hour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2003

      I made this recipe for my July 4th crowd, and it was a huge hit! I added pork sausage instead of the bacon and omitted the celery since I don't eat it...other than that, made the recipe exactly as written. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      We tasted these beans while visiting Greece recently and thought the creamy rich flavor was so good that we found a specialty store at home and made them last night. I followed this recipe but added some left over Rabbit Stifado (that we also had and loved in Greece and made the night before). It had a similar base and just added some more broth and meat to the dish. Now, we love beans but my husband declared that this was his favorite bean and bean dish ever. He's a master gardener and he's going to grow these beauties next season. They are actually not a bean but a flower and there are many types. The plants can grow very large and be not only a productive food plant but also add beauty to the landscape. I digress. These beans are wonderful but take care to make sure you allow enough time to soak overnight and follow the cooking instructions so they become soft and tender. They take a long time to cook but create a wonderful aroma in the home and are worth the wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      Delicious! I loved them! I soaked my beans for 2 days, boiled them about 40 mins on the hob, and baked for only an hour - and the beans were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Delicious and simple! I also used beef bouillion cubes since that's all I had on hand. I made the meatless version with the dried butter beans and it turned out perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      I was able to find huge limas at Publix and really enjoyed this. A warning, you do not have to add too much more water. I added extra and then poured some of the extra out when it was finished cooking. Can you say "Dummy?" The liquid was so good with a loaf of Kalamata Bread and really made a meal (Well, several meals) My mother loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      I made these yesterday and we were well pleased with the results. I left out the bacon as we are trying to eat less meat. Otherwise I followed the directions to the "T". The end result, delicious tender beans full of flavour. We took your advice and ate them with feta cheese and fresh crusty rolls. Thanks so much! I'll do these again and hopefully next time I will be able to take a "decent" picture of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      I have been wanting to make this recipe, and I finally did today, I pretty much made this as stated only I use beef boullion packages as that is all I had and I did add in the bacon too, thanks Evelyn, this is a great bean dish!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gigantes (Greek Giant Baked Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 417.8
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    45%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 162.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 13.1 g
    52%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites