Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Gingery Marinated Chickpeas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingery Marinated Chickpeas

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2011

      Went well and perfectly I thought with a Middle Eastern-themed dinner tonight. I used red onion and scallions for color. However herbs like cilantro, parsley, basil or oregano would work, too. I didn't have time to marinate the salad for more than a few hours but it was good and I can only imagine it will taste even better tomorrow what little is remaining. Thank you! Reviewed for Veg Tag/July.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      This IS from the Moosewood Cookbook. This is one of those old standby recipes that easily makes the jump from the 70s to now! So fresh tasting, even with canned chickpeas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Lovely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      This is great. I've only just made it too and snuck a taste so I'm really looking forward to the marinating process.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      Fantastic! These are so thoroughly tasty with such a wonderful flavor, I can't even imagine how delicious they'll be once they sit for a few days in the fridge! (But can they really keep for up to 2 months? I have to say that makes me nervous to think of letting something that's not canned sit for that long!). They are so simple and easy, especially if you used bottled pre-minced gingerroot. Made for a cook-a-thon in Sharon123's honor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Wow! These are incredible! I used two cans of garbanzos, rinsed and drained, and the larger amounts of all ingredients. Fresh lemon juice should be required here. Loved the ginger-garlic combination. I try to eat lots of ginger, and it's a nice change to find a recipe that's not sweet or soy based. Loved these straight from the fridge, and also served on baby spinach or other greens. I'll make this again and again! Thanks, Sharon, for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      It's a good thing I didn't read the recipe all the way through. It's just now that I'm looking at it and see that you have to marinate the thing for up to two months! Two months???? I let this marinate overnight and it was delicious! I love the explosion of flavor that you get from the comination of red wine vinegar and the lemon juice. I cooked my chick peas in the pressure cooker, which may have made them more permeable to the flavors so the overnight bath was good enough. I've got just over two cups of the stuff left, and I want to make hummous out of them! Should be amazing! Thanks so much Sharon, this may just be my regular recipe from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Used canned garbanzo beans and fresh ginger. Delicious! Don't think it will have time to marinate a long time as it was a hit in my home!! Thanks Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      Well, all I can say about this is: Total Yumm! I made 2 cups using canned chick peas and ground ginger powder as I didn't have ginger-root on hand. The red onion is perfect in this. It's quick and very easy to put together and I doubt that the amount I made will have a chance to age very long.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingery Marinated Chickpeas

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.9
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    32%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 123.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites