Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Granny's Greek Fried Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Granny's Greek Fried Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2013

      My husband said, "The potatoes were AWESOME!" The kids and I gobbled them up to. I could see these being made frequently in our house. I made them exactly as written with beautiful results. Thank you alligirl. Made for team Tasty Testers for the Greek cookbook during ZWT9.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      What yummy potatoes Granny!!! I made this for one serving, using a peeled and thick sliced red potato. I forgot to cut back on the lemon, but it worked out wonderful for me. I also didn't use the amount of oil, as it wasn't necessary for the amount I made for lunch. These were nice and crispy on the outside but soft and moist on the inside, perfect fried potatoes!!! Thanks so much for sharing a great recipe. Made for your win in the Game Forum Trivia Event.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      I made these as directed EXCEPT, I put them in the oven to bake (yes, I know, fried potatoes, I'm just not a huge lover of frying :( ) - they were wonderful! lemon flavour came through loud and clear but not over-powering, very pleasant, crisped nicely, DH was delighted since he loves potatoes and I am not a fan, so this was a real treat for him! Really nice Alligirl, made and enjoyed for ZWT 9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      These were great potatoes! The best part was that both my DSs LOVED them! They usually do not eat any potato that is not shaped like a French fry or tater tot! lol Though these tasted like French fries, it is a start towards other potato dishes. :) I used 3 large potatoes so added a little more lemon juice. I didn't really taste the juice after they cooked, but it did help soften the potatoes some and draw out a lot of the water. Made for ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      Wonderfully flavored potatoes! I made these frying with significantly less oil than called for but did us the lemon juice, salt and 45 minutes set time. These were quite a tasty treat given our restrictive diet. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      Lovely flavor. I skipped the salt and used about 2 Tbsp of oil for cooking. When I put the fried spuds of the paper towels to drain any extra oil I very lightly sprinkled them with Greek seasoned sea salt. The lemon flavor in mine was quite mild but even so these were yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      I also used less olive oil as suggested by NorthwestGal. These were so easy to make and the taste was great! I served them with lamb burgers covered with melted goat cheese w/ proscuitto, fresh tomatoes and a little mayo on a bun. Congrats alligirl on your Super Bowl win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      I followed Northwestgal's advice and used olive oil just coated the bottom of the non stick frying pan.Sitting time works fine with me,since sometimes I cut them up beforehands.Flavor really comes through in this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      SUPERB! I love a simple recipe that lets the flavor shine. This one is definitely it! Made for ZWT6 by a Looney Spoon Phoodie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Allowing the potatoes to meld with the salt and lemon juice was a nice touch here. But it was a little more oil than we're used to, and it made the potatoes a little soggy. So I reduced the oil to about 1/4 cup or so (didn't really measure) to cover the bottom of a skillet and sauted the remaining potatoes until golden, and they were much better. Thanks for sharing your recipe, alligirl. Made for Zaar World Tour #6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Granny's Greek Fried Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (614 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2201.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1947
    88%
    Total Fat 216.4 g
    332%
    Saturated Fat 29.9 g
    149%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 27.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites