Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Avgolemono Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Avgolemono Stew

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2010

      I really liked this recipe. Came together quickly and was tasty. I think adding some feta directly to the soup added the extra flavor I was looking for. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! Both my husband and I rated it 10 out of 10!!! Thanks so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This soup/stew was quite tasty! I will admit that I made a few minor adjustments. I had some leftover cooked veal which I browned, then I sauteed the onions, celery and carrot in the rendered fat before adding the stock, chick peas, some lemon zest and a little Greek oregano. I also added already-cooked rice with the spinach, just long enough to reheat. All in all, this was a fine recipe, and one I'd be happy to make again, with or without the addition of meat! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      So good and warming! I used homemade chicken stock (what I had on hand), lots of spinach, a good bit of sea salt, several grinds of black pepper, and a touch of hot sauce. The result is really good, soupy stew--easy to eat several portions--healthy enough to be guilt free. Thank you, Cat Friend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      We all enjoyed this so much, I added salt and pepper to mine and I was a little heavy on the spinach, I also used the chicken broth because I had it on hand. Thanks for posting such a great cold night recipe that was vegetarian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      So tasty! I had to make a couple of changes as I didn't have the right ingredients; I used kidney beans instead of chickpease, and runner beans instead of celery. It was absolutely delicious though and I'd definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Exceptional vegetarian stew! My son insisted on taking the leftovers in his lunch the next... it was that good! I used only the egg whites (just a personal preference). This is truly a wonderful healthy soup for cold winter nights, but I wouldn't hesitate to make it year-round. I loved that it was low fat, low calorie with plenty of protein; makes very good sized proportions too. Thanks so much for sharing, I'll be making this again.. and again... and (well, you get the idea)... !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Even though Dennis is far from being a vegan or even a vegetarian, I "suggested' that he might eat one meal a week with no meat. I also told him, I would make sure he was able to keep the protein high, great tasting, and the meal would also provide down home comfort appeal. This soup brings all of this together beautifully. I followed this exactly, adding the salt and pepper to taste at the end. it is really important to temper the eggs, just as the author suggested, and I truly wouldn't change anything here. For my bowl only, at the end I added hot sauce, but that is just what I do anyway, but not at all necessary. The rice and chickpeas, (or garbanzo beans) just give this a smoothness and the lemon at the end just gives a brief moment of ....hum? that was outstanding. Thank you for posting this, as I, as well as Dennis, loved this. I will be making this quite often in the winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      Although this is more like a thick soup than a stew, it is still delicious! I used chicken broth in place of vegetable broth, and I did add in fresh garlic and sauteed them with the onions in some butter, to make this into a main dish I also added in some cooked chicken. thanks for sharing!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Avgolemono Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.1
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    14%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 105.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 401.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites