Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Baked Fish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Baked Fish

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2008

      This is one of the best tasting fish recipes I've ever made.. Like someone else mentioned, after 5 minutes, the whole house was smelling just AWESOME - it woke up my son from a nap and he said "smells amazing!".. Don't change a THING! But having said that, I talked with Evelyn offline and she did clarify that the 'canned crushed tomatoes' marketed in the USA are not the same as in Greece, so I bought a 28oz can of whole tomatoes, drained them, and crushed them lightly by hand.. worked great. Thanks Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Very, very good! Even my 11 year old son enjoyed it. Prep time was closer to 45 minutes. Will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Ok - I did it. I made it with chicken breasts. Taste was very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      I had problems with this recipe, starting with the canned crushed tomatoes. I don't usually buy this product so I'm unfamiliar with it. The can was labeled crushed tomatoes but was nothing but puree, so I had no way to drain it. The grouper was well cooked before the peppers were even slightly soft. The one good thing I can say is the sauce was delicious sopped up with bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      I had high hopes for this dish, but for all its great ingredients and all the time and effort involved, it was surprisingly bland. I more than doubled the garlic and added extra onion, but the taste still lacked complexity and depth. I thought the feta would round out the flavors, but it was basically lost in the mix. Also, the baking time was way off; the fish was done in under half the time listed. (Because I suspected the baking time was too long as indicated, I sauteed the vegetables before baking, which not only assured they would be done along with the fish, but also fused the flavors better). It wasn't bad, but just wasn't anything memorable. Sorry, Evelyn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      Evelyn, this was a great recipe. It was so simple to make (I hand chopped all the veg and pitted the olives-it took me 18 minutes;-)) and the result outstanding. I took your advice and provided lots of warm crusty bread to mop up the juices, we also had my cumin potatoes, and plenty of good white wine. I used rock ling fillets for the dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      Very good dish! The seasoning was superb, I just served with a simple greek salad and brown rice. My prep time was more like 45 minutes rather than the 15 stated in the recipe (of course, I hand chopped all veggies and pitted the olives), but it was worth it. I used fresh tomatoes rather than canned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      tweeked a couple things but overall it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Nice tasting dish. My DH just loved it. It was so quick and easy to fix. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      Loved this!! I added a little Greek seasoning and used tilapia. I might throw in some fresh spinach next time for added nutrition. Husband is calling this a repeat recipe, that is a good thing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      30 yrs ago, a roommate made "Greek Fish" and it was nasty! I have been badgering him about it for 30 yrs now. Every time we talked about food, the "Greek Fish Incident" would always be mentioned. But, I saw this recipe and decided to try it. I had everything on hand except for some cod fish. I cut the recipe in half, seasoned the fish with Cavender's Greek seasoning, substituted diced fire roasted tomatoes for the crushed and it turned out very well. It was a little soupy, but the Ciabatta bread worked well in absorbing the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      Great fish recipe!!!!! I used tilapia. So easy. My guests were impressed.Update: I did not use any oil. It was not needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      I made the recipe as directed using talapia. It was quite tasty and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      I have made this dish a few times, and I am always impressed with how delicious it is! I have found that I prefer to use fresh tomatoes vs. canned, and I usually leave out the peppers. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Really, really good, easy to prepare, and perfect for impressing company. We used snapper (on sale this week) and served it with a side of orzo. I've never met a recipe of yours I didn't like. I should post more reviews... Thanks again, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Excellent recipe ! used cod and fresh tomatoes, the blend of flavors are incredible, this will be a go to recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      I made this exactly as written minus the fish. I used salmon because I wanted salmon lol anyway I wanted a new way to cook it. And OMG This should be forbidden lol or marked as a sin. It's healthy, heart friendly and delicious! I am going to be making this in many variations often. Thank you Evelyn for an EXCELLENT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Delicious. Have made this quite a few times with Tilapia. Even without the wine and cheese - it still tastes good. Reminds me of Putanesta sauce but with fish instead of pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      This is a very impressive fish dish and will definitely be a choice for me in the future for those times I want to impress guests. Cant wait to have it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      This was simply amazing. I used ocean perch, fresh tomatoes and no capers, and served it ladled over chard sauteed in white wine and garlic, with a loaf of crusty ciabatta on the side. Sheer bliss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Baked Fish

    Serving Size: 1 (566 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 726.3
     
    Calories from Fat 376
    51%
    Total Fat 41.8 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 117.2 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1190.9 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 54.9 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites