9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love greek food, I love kalamata olives, feta, and bread. I love all these things and was really excited about this recipe because there's a bakery in my town that sells olive bread. This didn't live up to expectations for me. It was WAY too salty (the olives, feta, and yogurt did it in), and I didn't care for the dry biscuit texture. Really bummed it didn't work out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miasmama June 12, 2011

This bread was the perfect addition to the Greek dinner I planned. It had just the right crumbly texture and the olives and feta really came through with a pop! I got three large loafs out of the recipe and stacked them whole in a basket and let people tear off what they wanted. I will be making this again for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenna-Rae May 05, 2009

Outstanding Savoury Bread! Feta and Olive combo...what more can a Greek ask for LOL!!! I made recipe to the letter and it was AWESOME crumbly/savoury texture/taste....would recommend to go with your favourite WINE. Thanks Chef Ev's!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iLuv2cook 2 April 22, 2006

I halved the recipe and made mini loaves -- 2 for gifts, one for me. I'm so glad because my mini loaf disappeared in a trice. Slice a tiny piece and taste, repeat, repeat--All Gone! If I'd made a large loaf, I would have eaten a large loaf. It's a wonderful recipe--it looks like bread, it slices like poundcake, has a cake-like texture/crumb, but the flavor is definitely savory. While I eat the crumbs hat are left, I am imagining creative uses of this bread on an appetizer table. Thanks, Ev!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate April 20, 2006

This was excellent! I only made 1/3 batch, and split it into 4 portions to bake, so it only took about 20 minutes. I used the rolls/biscuits instead of burger buns with some feta burgers - the flavors complimented each other really well, but I wish I had made some more of thebread to just eat :) for ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel July 15, 2013

What a wonderful bread, & easy to prepare, too! I love sesame seeds, so was very generous with those! And, I'm beginning to appreciate the flavor of kalamata olives more than I did before! Really an unusual, great tasting treate for us! [Made & reviewed while in Greece on the Zaar World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 13, 2008

this bread was heavenly! i love feta and olives and the bread far exceded my expectations!!! a new family tradition. i already put it in anna and matthew's cookbook and my 'zaars stars!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears April 23, 2006

I just found this recipe and if it wasn't 22.35 PM I would try it at once. I'll be back and give my stars after trying them. Sounds so fantastic! -milopita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milopita October 11, 2004
Greek Cheese and Olive Quick Bread