187 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Super. Actually made this in the crockpot because I didn't have the right kind of baking pan. After about 4 hours on the high setting, chicken breast was so moist and tender and potatoes were so rich, some crispy. Being in the crockpot also, I didn't have to baste it. Wonderful combination of ingredients.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Artemis March 19, 2011

Wow I read through a lot of reviews before I made this, and they were all mostly right. Up the garlic cloves. Parboil the potatoes first, especially if you're using A) glass pyrex to bake and B) boneless chicken breasts. A little extra lemon zest or slices wouldn't hurt, and neither would a dash of onion powder. I used chicken tender cutlets and they seemed to be the perfect size.

I LOVE the flavor of this dish, but I have to say it would be much better marinated overnight. The flavor didn't have enough time to permeate the chicken. :( Also, I can see how people would think this is bland... if you mind your potatoes and meat being the same flavor. Next time I will just cook the chicken this way, and roast the potatoes or serve with fresh green beans, etc.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aly Can't Cook November 02, 2010

Everyone in my family will actually eat this and that's saying a lot! I did add feta to the top and covered with foil for 45 mins, then took it off for the last 10 mins. Had to add cooking time b/c potatoes were not done. This has become a weekly favorite for us!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyXfour January 12, 2011

Wow this was great. Even my picky daughter had seconds which is unheard of. I did make some changes as suggested in the reviews. I Increased oregano to 1 tablespoon, decreased olive oil to 1/8 cup, added 1/2 teaspoon of thyme, 4 0z Feta cheese and juice of one lemon. I baked covered for 30 min, then uncovered for another 20-30 minutes I also rearranged so the chicken was on bottom and potatoes on top to get crispy skin on the potatoes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom2nat&ry December 12, 2009

This recipe has so much potential. Potatoes will not be cooked enough if you use boneless chicken breasts and are baking for only 30 minutes...can't be done. Might I suggest bone-in chicken, then you would cook an hour. Half the potatoes and slice. If you are keeping the skin on the chicken, don't add the oil....way too greasy. You need onion in this, add half an onion. I used 5 large cloves of garlic and the oregano was just not enough. You need to double it. The lemon flavor was faint, too faint. I would add 1/3 of a cup. I agree with another reviewer that the potatoes need to be on top of the chicken. But what I think I might do next time is take all the spices, herbs and liquids and marinate the chicken and potatoes in it, then bake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail in the kitchen July 31, 2009

This review won't add much. I double the meat, potatoes, garlic, and oregano, and use dark meat. The potatoes definitely need a head start, and I always end up with too much liquid, so I'll probably try using less next time, but this is a dish we have every year for Passover, as I can make it days ahead of time, and I don't see that changing any time soon :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighty April 09, 2012

This was a great recipe and so easy.. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parkers Mom February 22, 2012

We thought this was excellent and very easy! Next time we'll use more potatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 27, 2011

Boy, my hubby really liked this one. I did do a few different things though. I did 4 cloves of garlic, used 1/2 c. of chicken broth rather than water and bouillon, used the zest of the lemon, up the amount on the oregano a bit. And was generous with the salt. I did leave my chicken whole and did not cut into chunks, and added 1 teas. of basil. And cooked covered.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robbin in Texas October 13, 2011

Thanks so much for a great recipe. Took a little longer than I was planning but it was worth the wait. It smelled delicious while cooking and the flavor was even better. Per some of the other review I did add an additional 1/2 tsp of Oregano and 1/2 basil. I also par-boiled my potatoes for about 3 min. Everything came out so tasty. It did have a little more liquid than I was anticipating so I think next time I would try skipping parboiling the potatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PtldGrl September 15, 2011
Greek Chicken and Potatoes