Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Chicken and Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Chicken and Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    187 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 187

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2011

      Super. Actually made this in the crockpot because I didn't have the right kind of baking pan. After about 4 hours on the high setting, chicken breast was so moist and tender and potatoes were so rich, some crispy. Being in the crockpot also, I didn't have to baste it. Wonderful combination of ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Wow I read through a lot of reviews before I made this, and they were all mostly right. Up the garlic cloves. Parboil the potatoes first, especially if you're using A) glass pyrex to bake and B) boneless chicken breasts. A little extra lemon zest or slices wouldn't hurt, and neither would a dash of onion powder. I used chicken tender cutlets and they seemed to be the perfect size.

      I LOVE the flavor of this dish, but I have to say it would be much better marinated overnight. The flavor didn't have enough time to permeate the chicken. :( Also, I can see how people would think this is bland... if you mind your potatoes and meat being the same flavor. Next time I will just cook the chicken this way, and roast the potatoes or serve with fresh green beans, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      Everyone in my family will actually eat this and that's saying a lot! I did add feta to the top and covered with foil for 45 mins, then took it off for the last 10 mins. Had to add cooking time b/c potatoes were not done. This has become a weekly favorite for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Wow this was great. Even my picky daughter had seconds which is unheard of. I did make some changes as suggested in the reviews. I Increased oregano to 1 tablespoon, decreased olive oil to 1/8 cup, added 1/2 teaspoon of thyme, 4 0z Feta cheese and juice of one lemon. I baked covered for 30 min, then uncovered for another 20-30 minutes I also rearranged so the chicken was on bottom and potatoes on top to get crispy skin on the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      This recipe has so much potential. Potatoes will not be cooked enough if you use boneless chicken breasts and are baking for only 30 minutes...can't be done. Might I suggest bone-in chicken, then you would cook an hour. Half the potatoes and slice. If you are keeping the skin on the chicken, don't add the oil....way too greasy. You need onion in this, add half an onion. I used 5 large cloves of garlic and the oregano was just not enough. You need to double it. The lemon flavor was faint, too faint. I would add 1/3 of a cup. I agree with another reviewer that the potatoes need to be on top of the chicken. But what I think I might do next time is take all the spices, herbs and liquids and marinate the chicken and potatoes in it, then bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      This review won't add much. I double the meat, potatoes, garlic, and oregano, and use dark meat. The potatoes definitely need a head start, and I always end up with too much liquid, so I'll probably try using less next time, but this is a dish we have every year for Passover, as I can make it days ahead of time, and I don't see that changing any time soon :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      This was a great recipe and so easy.. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      We thought this was excellent and very easy! Next time we'll use more potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      Boy, my hubby really liked this one. I did do a few different things though. I did 4 cloves of garlic, used 1/2 c. of chicken broth rather than water and bouillon, used the zest of the lemon, up the amount on the oregano a bit. And was generous with the salt. I did leave my chicken whole and did not cut into chunks, and added 1 teas. of basil. And cooked covered.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      Thanks so much for a great recipe. Took a little longer than I was planning but it was worth the wait. It smelled delicious while cooking and the flavor was even better. Per some of the other review I did add an additional 1/2 tsp of Oregano and 1/2 basil. I also par-boiled my potatoes for about 3 min. Everything came out so tasty. It did have a little more liquid than I was anticipating so I think next time I would try skipping parboiling the potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      This was terrific. We were feeding 6 people and it increased without a problem. I did not have oregano so we used basil and it was great that way. Just a delicious, pretty meal that the whole family loved. We will make it again. The chicken was incredibly tender done this way. I baked it with foil over it as the potatoes from our area take ages to cook and that helps to speed them up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Good & easy, but needed a little something else for flavor. The potatoes were nice and soft but we had to leave them in for an extra 5 to 10 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      So I've tried this twice now. Unfortunately, it just isn't turning out right. It took close to an hour to get the potatoes cooked, and by that time the chicken was completely dry. I'll give it an extra star for being super simple to cook. Needs more flavor, as well, as it is somewhat bland.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This dish is amazing!!! Very easy and quick to make. I personalized it with some dried dill weed. The added dill weed really made it pop. I will make this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      It's okay. Tried once per this recipe and didn't have much taste. Added some Thyme and more lemon juice, which made it somewhat better. The recipe would be a good marinade for the chicken only, not the potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Wasn't too flipped on this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      We loved this! The recipe was simple in ingredients and preparation and the flavor was great. Based on the previous reviews about the potatoes not cooking through, I tried 2 things. First, I cut them about half size of the chicken pieces (about a 1/2 inch cube) and second, I covered the dish with foil for the first 10 minutes. I am not sure if it was one technique or both, but the chicken came out tender and the potatoes soft. I also minced the garlic and made a paste with the salt, oregano and lemon pepper and rubbed it all over the chicken pieces, refrigerated for 2 hours, then stirred in the potatoes and addend the rest of the ingredients. This wonderful recipe is going in my book for keeps, and I am already thinking of flavor variations!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      I have made this dish several times and absolutely love it for its flavor and simplicity. I do have to parboil the potatoes first as the first few times I didn't, I had to leave the dish in the oven much longer, thus drying out the chicken. Even when using a heavier and larger dish as suggested by one review, the potatoes remained hard. As long as I parboil the potatoes, it works out fine. I also add thin slices of carrots while parboiling the potatoes to add some color to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      SO GOOD! Wish I had doubled the recipe. We added more lemon juice, and covered it the whole time. True, the chicken gets a little done, but we like our chicken on the done side. Keeping it covered it was still tender. There was a nice "broth" that I wished I'd had some crusty bread to soak it up with. This will go into the regular rotation, it was easy,flavorful, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Chicken and Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.3
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    54%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 37.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 313.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites