Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Chicken Pita Pockets - Crock Pot! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Chicken Pita Pockets - Crock Pot!

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2010

      Yum yum! Simple and delicious. I served this with a variety of veggies, wrapped in giant pitas and lots of Greek Garlic Sauce (199091) and it made for a great dinner! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This is a great way to cook the chicken, but you will h ave to add some type of sauce to the pitas for tastiness. I did enjoy how easy it was to put together. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I also prepared this without adding the yogurt. I used Huskergirl's tzatziki recipe - http://www.recipezaar.com/Tsatsiki-Gyro-Sauce-307493 - (5stars)and served on pitas with tomato and red onion. Even though I added extra greek seasoning and and sprinkled the chicken with garlic salt it was a little bland. I probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This is really good! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and did not add the yogurt (just personal preference), and I substituted Greek seasoning for the oregano. I put chicken in crock pot, seasoned with half of seasoning, then added onions and the rest of the seasoning. Served with couscous...very tasty! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      My whole family loved this. I doubled the recipe, and I used 2 tsp. lemon pepper seasoning, 2 tsp. greek seasoning, and one large onion. I did not add the yogurt to the crockpot. Instead I topped the pita with cucumber yogurt sauce (Ground Beef Gyros). We also put hummus in our pita,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Had this on pitas with hummus, cucumbers and tomatoes...really good! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      WOW!!! LOVED this, TRUE! It IS SOooooooooooooooo easy to do! Wasn't initially sure re having no liquid in crockpot, But this recipe REALLY hit the spot! Previous reviews also did help me! Tzatziki, homemade hummas...WHOO HOO recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I really liked this recipe. It is so easy to put together. The chicken was done at 6 hours on low for me. I stopped at the local Greek restaurant and bought tzatziki sauce, toasted the pita breads and had a wonderful dinner. I agree with Chef Erindipity as to draining the liquid off before adding the yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Made for "Freezer Tag Challenge" My husband enjoyed this more than I did, he is a bigger fan of lemon pepper than I am. However that said it is a very easy meal to make and I am glad I gave it a try. I made a few changes for the purposes of Weight Watchers. First, I used chicken breasts instead of thighs. I also used FF yogurt and whole wheat pitas. With these changes the meal came to 6 pts (pre-add ins). I served with a cucumber salad made with low fat feta, kalamata olives and red onions. Because I used chicken breasts instead of thighs I also reduced the cooking time to 3 hours. I wish I had drained the liquid off before adding the yogurt however. To freeze, I completed through step 4, allowed to cool and then froze. To serve, Allow chicken to thaw overnight or microwave on low until able to break apart. Reheat in a pan over medium heat. When warm, stir in the yogurt and serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      Added feta cheese.... so good and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      This was really good. I accidentally used chicken breasts and thought it was a little dry, would've been better with the thighs. I used Gyro Loaf With Tsatziki Sauce for the sauce subbing yogurt for the sour cream in that recipe. Otherwise made the rest as posted. It was really easy and tasted especially yummy with toasted pita bread brushed with a little olive oil. Will be made again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      I had a pkg of frozen chicken and a crockpot at the ready and this was the perfect marriage of the two. :o) I was a little concerned since there was no extra liquid and added about 1/4 c. lemon juice, but needn't have bothered...I ended up draining it off at the end anyway. Since I used frozen chicken, I set the crockpot on high for 2 hrs to make sure it thawed quickly enough to not have food safety concerns, then reduced it to low for the next 6+ hrs. It was the perfect tenderness. I added some garlic & salt and think next time I might toss a little thyme in there, too....love the versatility of this recipe! It was a definite hit with hubby and all the kids; will go straight into our menu rotation (especially since it keeps mom from quite as much kitchen time!) We served this with hummus, tabbouleh, labneh (yogurt cheese), Mean Chef's tzatziki #51983, and Ellinikos Lemoni Patatas #90822. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      I was pretty surprised by how this turned out. I used chicken breast and omitted the lemon pepper seasoning. The flavor was ok (about 3 stars), a little on the bland side. But I gave this 4 stars because the recipe is so easy to follow. It's great for a light, refreshing, and quick meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2005

      This wasen't as great for me as it was for the other reviewers.I think I'll try Amber of AZ's variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2004

      Great recipe! I served this tender juicey chicken with "Gyro Sauce by TammieV" and received rave reviews at family dinner! The only thing I did differently was to substitute "Greek Seasoning" I found at a speciality store for the listed spices. But the yogurt gave it something you can't get elsewhere! Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2004

      Excellent Bekah!This worked out well for me to take to work.I did steps 1-6 the day before and took the yogurt to work with me,added it and stirred,turned crockpot on low and by noon we were enjoying this.Thanks for a great recipe.Everyone enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2004

      I made this to go with pita bread, tomatoes and cucumbers and it was SO GOOD! A very quick and easy meal that the DH still raves about weeks later. He keeps "subtly" mentioning that he really liked "that greek chicken" and so I am making it Sunday to go with a little hummus and tzatziki. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      Very tender and flavorful chicken. What a great dish for a refreshing cool lunch. I pre-made the chicken in the crockpot and refrigerated it. The following day I added plain yogurt and some feta cheese and shredded and mixed everything up. Next I smeared some hummus on a 1/2 of a pita and filled with the chicken mixture and garnished with some cucumber. I like the subtle flavors and the simple preperation. Also this is a great dish when you do not want to heat up the kitchen and crave something refreshing on a warm day. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Chicken Pita Pockets - Crock Pot!

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    16%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 98.4 mg
    32%
    Sodium 434.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 29.1 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon pepper seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites