18 Reviews

Yum yum! Simple and delicious. I served this with a variety of veggies, wrapped in giant pitas and lots of Greek Garlic Sauce (199091) and it made for a great dinner! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu May 11, 2010

This is a great way to cook the chicken, but you will h ave to add some type of sauce to the pitas for tastiness. I did enjoy how easy it was to put together. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeacherLaLa November 09, 2009

I also prepared this without adding the yogurt. I used Huskergirl's tzatziki recipe - http://www.recipezaar.com/Tsatsiki-Gyro-Sauce-307493 - (5stars)and served on pitas with tomato and red onion. Even though I added extra greek seasoning and and sprinkled the chicken with garlic salt it was a little bland. I probably won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pomtini August 17, 2009

This is really good! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and did not add the yogurt (just personal preference), and I substituted Greek seasoning for the oregano. I put chicken in crock pot, seasoned with half of seasoning, then added onions and the rest of the seasoning. Served with couscous...very tasty! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea October 01, 2008

My whole family loved this. I doubled the recipe, and I used 2 tsp. lemon pepper seasoning, 2 tsp. greek seasoning, and one large onion. I did not add the yogurt to the crockpot. Instead I topped the pita with cucumber yogurt sauce (Ground Beef Gyros). We also put hummus in our pita,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 August 13, 2008

Had this on pitas with hummus, cucumbers and tomatoes...really good! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch July 23, 2008

WOW!!! LOVED this, TRUE! It IS SOooooooooooooooo easy to do! Wasn't initially sure re having no liquid in crockpot, But this recipe REALLY hit the spot! Previous reviews also did help me! Tzatziki, homemade hummas...WHOO HOO recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder April 24, 2008

I really liked this recipe. It is so easy to put together. The chicken was done at 6 hours on low for me. I stopped at the local Greek restaurant and bought tzatziki sauce, toasted the pita breads and had a wonderful dinner. I agree with Chef Erindipity as to draining the liquid off before adding the yogurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon March 22, 2008

Made for "Freezer Tag Challenge" My husband enjoyed this more than I did, he is a bigger fan of lemon pepper than I am. However that said it is a very easy meal to make and I am glad I gave it a try. I made a few changes for the purposes of Weight Watchers. First, I used chicken breasts instead of thighs. I also used FF yogurt and whole wheat pitas. With these changes the meal came to 6 pts (pre-add ins). I served with a cucumber salad made with low fat feta, kalamata olives and red onions. Because I used chicken breasts instead of thighs I also reduced the cooking time to 3 hours. I wish I had drained the liquid off before adding the yogurt however. To freeze, I completed through step 4, allowed to cool and then froze. To serve, Allow chicken to thaw overnight or microwave on low until able to break apart. Reheat in a pan over medium heat. When warm, stir in the yogurt and serve.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity March 12, 2008

Added feta cheese.... so good and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC March 06, 2008
Greek Chicken Pita Pockets - Crock Pot!