Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Honey Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Honey Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2013

      Very sweet, sticky, tasty cake! Very different from any cake we've ever had. I almost didn't pour all the syrup over the cake, but then decided, "What the heck!" and did. The cake soaked it all up, (didn't float!), and my husband said he liked it better than baklava! I used freshly grated zest from one small orange, (added to the wet ingredients), and it gave the cake a wonderfully bright citrusy flavor. We even had it right out of the fridge for dessert the next night, and we liked it that way, too, on a nice warm night. Thanks for a great recipe, California Jan! ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      I never write reviews, but, this is worthy of a five star review. Absolutely beautiful!<br/>I love sweet greek cakes and this is by far the best I have ever tasted. If people have a sweet tooth, don't miss this one.<br/>The cake without the syrup is also so very good on it's own, with the syrup it's magic!<br/>Will be making again very soon.<br/>Mark (Greece)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      This was exceptionally moist and very tasty. We had a minor mishap with the sauce, which was no fault of yours - I stepped away from the stove for a minute and it boiled over and made a huge mess! Nevertheless, what we salvaged was very good. I made mini cupcakes but it didn't really help with portion control cause my husband just kept popping them in his mouth! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      This is a very delicious treat, but very, very sweet & I wasn't sure about all the extra syrup. I did pour it all over the top & let it soak down, but the cake eventually started to float in the honey. I then removed it from that pan with a slotted spatula & put it in another pan to eat it from. What I really love about this cake is it's texture. It's a lot like cornbread, without the corn flavor (more of an orange-cinnamon cake), and since I always eat my cornbread smothered in maple syrup this recipe was a very nice surprise! I made just as directed, using homemade Sun Dried Orange Peel - for Tagines, Daubes and Sweet Things! for the orange zest. I did have trouble with cutting it into diamonds. It didn't seem THAT difficult in theory, but when it came down to doing it I couldn't seem to figure out the pattern. Some are good diamonds, some are more square. :) Also, a word to the wise: Use a LARGE saucepan for the syrup... and when your DH asks if he should wear his shirt tucked in or left out of his jeans, just pick one. Don't try to evaluate the situation & have him model both options. And never take your eyes off the stove. I had one very burned-on, sugar-glazed stove top with a small saucepan glued to it this morning. LOL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      With the recipe as written, this would be entirely too sweet. After pouring 1 cup of sugar into the saucepan and eyeballing the cake, I figured I'd be good by halving the sugar and honey and I was right! In my opinion, and oddly enough, also in my children's opinions, it was still too sweet (that has NEVER happened before!! lol) I had tried a little bite of the cake without any syrup and it was delicious in its own right, so next time I make this, I'm going to glaze some honey on the top with a pastry brush and call it a day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      What a great cake recipe! It's easy to make, a bit sticky but oh so delicious. Thank you for sharing your recipe, CaliforniaJan. I made this for dessert, but I think this would be a great snack to enjoy with a cup of hot tea or coffee. We loved this! Made for ZWT9 (Greece).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      Fabulous cake, easy to do, cuts beautifully. I halved the sugar in the cake and in the syrup. My cake isn't floating so it all worked out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      Okay, firstly... I am gluten, dairy and egg free, so I had to alter a lot of things for this recipe but I loved it so much I just had to leave a comment! This would be totally delicious without any alterations, but I'll list what I did anyway. I'm rating 4 stars because the cake was a bit greasy and would have been too sweet for my liking if I didn't cut out some of the sugar.

      I used 6 tbsp coconut oil and 6 tbsp soy oil in place of the butter. Next time I make this (and there will be a next time!) I will cut the oil in half and use applesauce for the rest. I would recommend everyone use the coconut oil; it was divine in this recipe! Half butter, half coconut... Yum!

      For the cake, I reduced the amount of sugar I used by a little more than half and added about a tbsp of honey. I increased the orange zest to 2 1/2 tsp and cinnamon to about 1 1/2 or 2 tsp. I also used soy milk instead of moo-moo.

      And as for syrup, I reduced the sugar to a scant 1/4 cup and honey to 1/2 cup. In addition, I added close to a tbsp of lemon juice.

      I made flaxseed gel to replace the eggs.

      To me, it tasted best when the syrup had only about 10 minutes to soak into the cake, so I would suggest drizzling individual servings with syrup instead of the whole thing, especially if you'll have leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      What a nice sticky cake. We will enjoy this tonight after dinner with some tea. I love all the ingredients. I melted the honey with a little orange juice and skipped the extra sugar for the syrup. I also added some coconut that I had to use up as I thought it would work well with this. Next time I might try this with raisins.Thanks! Made for ZWT 6 for Looney Spoon Phoodies. Update just had some and it's DELICIOUS. A definite keeper for my family. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Honey Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.1
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    41%
    Total Fat 19.3 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 77.7 mg
    25%
    Sodium 217.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 52.6 g
    210%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites