13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum -- what a delicious salad. It got rave reviews from the family. I used sweet grape tomatoes and red onions. I also added a dash of red wine vinegar to the oil. The chili pepper is a great addition -- it added another layer of flavor without being too spicy. We loved this salad. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester June 01, 2010

Loved this! I have to admit, I topped it with red wine vinegar, instead of adding any oil! I did sprinkle the red pepper flakes, salt and pepper over the salad. I just left out the oil! Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 25, 2010

yummy! I made as directed except using diced tomatoes. I did use kalamata olives (my favorite!!!). I took previous reviewers advice and added a little red wine vinegar to the oil. It was delicious, tangy and fresh! Can't wait to have this again! made for Veg'n Swap August 2011!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ August 08, 2011

Amazing salad with some of my favourite flavours. I used half a red onion (diced) and just half a tablespoon of oil. Skipped the chilli (a visitor isn't keen on heat) but used everything else. Was tempted to add some herbs or lemon juice, but it really doesn't need anything extra. Yum, yum! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy April 20, 2011

Mmmm, Loula, we have been making and enjoying this wonder fresh salad for lunches all week! I used red onion with it, as I just love red onion in my salad, and found that the onions round here have been on the larger size, so 1/4 per salad was the perfect size. I skipped the salt, but loved fresh ground pepper and really enjoyed the chili pepper, which I ground in my mortar a bit. I've not added that to a greek salad before and it added such a lovely zip which I complemented with a sprinkle of red wine vinegar. For the olives, I used purple kalmatta, because we love them so much! Yum, Loula, thanks so much for bringing fresh back to our lunch! Made for PRMR Tag (and sorry for being so tardy with the review!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen January 14, 2011

I had this for a wonderful fresh lunch; like some of the previous reviewers I used red wine vinegar instead of oil and it was just perfect and full of flavour

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini January 09, 2011

Very good, very simple! I did leave out the chili pepper (personal preference). Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe June 07, 2010

Delicious! I used green olives and lemon olive oil. This was a great little take-along dinner for work last night. Made for Veggie Swap 23.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario June 02, 2010

Quick, easy and very good! I used kalamata olives and enjoyed the seasonings. Thanks! Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 04, 2010

Lovely and fresh, and oh so easy to put together. The taste really outdoes itself. I did eat the whole plate of veggies, and proceeded to make another helping for the rest of the family. I (of course) used the optional chili pepper, and only had green olives. I threw a couple of red pepper flakes on it for the heck of it. I did also add 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt. This is so great!! Made for your win, *Everyday is a Holiday* April 2010

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm April 08, 2010
Greek Inspired Salad