Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Lamb on Skewers (Souvlaki) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Lamb on Skewers (Souvlaki)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2013

      These went over quite well at our BBQ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      fan-freaking-tastic! i thought i didn't like lamb but this recipe proved me wrong! i added a little more salt to the marinade than called for and it was just right for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      This recipe was quite easy despite the long list of ingredients. I used Greek yogurt and skipped the cheese cloth step for the tzaziki, and it still came out great. Also, I used flank steak instead of lamb (didn't have any at my grocery store), and it was almost as good as the lamb I've had at Greek restaurants. My husband, who would never have eaten most of the ingredients on their own, said that the "whole" was absolutely delisous! I agree!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I only made the marinade part of this recipe as I had cubed lamb that I wanted to grill on skewers and I had all the ingredients on hand. It marinated about 8 hours. It was yummy. My family liked it except for my picky son. Way too sophisticated for him! I served it with Nan's Orzo Pasta Salad but I just put it in tonight so I can't create the link. It was a perfect combo. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Love! Love this recipe. Thank you for the clear instructions. I have made this a number of times. Friends telling me to review with my changes. They were kind of big ones, but important in order to get my picky MN boys to try it. Here goes: I use venison in place of the lamb. Fresh mozzarella in place of the feta. Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vingar. Half organic greek yogurt and half sour cream and fresh mint. The result is a milder flavor but such a very very good way to intro some culture in the kitchen. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      This is such a great recipe! I make it for our summer barbeques, and have never seen any left over. I substitute the lamb for pork tenderloin, and try to marinade it for 24 hours before cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      Sensational flavours! This is a plan-ahead recipe because of the double marinading - the lamb and the vegetables - and SO worth the effort of forward-planning. Wonderully clear instructions too. Just loved all the blend of flavours in the meat and the vegetables and I always love tzaziki (which I made with Greek yoghurt) - and so did my guests. We all ate too much it was so yummy: the consensus was to skip dessert. Totally scrumptious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      If there were 10 stars, or more, I would award them to this. There was a riot in the kitchen after the teenage boys got a first taste of the skewers and were trying to get all the rest for themselves. With the marinated vegetables and feta, tzatziki and pita, my gracious! What a feed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Lamb on Skewers (Souvlaki)

    Serving Size: 1 (460 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1438.4
     
    Calories from Fat 883
    61%
    Total Fat 98.1 g
    151%
    Saturated Fat 25.7 g
    128%
    Cholesterol 164.3 mg
    54%
    Sodium 1977.8 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.5 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 52.6 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites