Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Lemon Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Lemon Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2007

      One of the best- no, maybe the best- chiffon cakes I've ever made. Mine didn't have much of a lemon flavor, but the overall flavor was great. It was moist with a very tender crumb and an excellent soft crust. It keeps really well and was still great 5 days later. (Cake flour is a must for chiffon cakes--- use of anything else, especially anything whole wheat, will guarantee failure!) I only had half the amount of yogurt and substituted sour cream for the rest, and I did add some cream of tartar to the egg whites. I'll use a little more lemon next time, but also will play with other flavors. This would make a marvelous trifle or tiramisu base as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      A very light, lovely cake...I used 1/2 greek yogurt and half lemon yogurt and I used splenda for baking....it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      This made a delicious finishing touch to a great Greek menu. Made this as written and while the cake was good as is it was outstanding topped with Lemon Dessert Sauce. Thanks Sharon for another wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      this was wonderful cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      This was good but not sensational, and I would consider serving a sauce over each slice when I take the rest out of the freezer. I used a whole wheat cake and pastry flour, which I do consistently in recipes calling for cake flour, but maybe this recipe just really needs the white to put it over the top. Other than that, it's easy to make and is quite light and porous in texture. It was part of an all- Greek night and well received nontheless. Beautiful presentation coming out of the bundt pan. I dusted it with icing sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      A lovely cake, I used lemon yogurt instead of plain. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      My lemon-loving DH simply LOVED this cake, the only change I made was I increased the baking soda by 1/2 teaspoon and increased the lemon juice to 1/4 cup, I used Greek yogurt for this... great recipe Sharon, thanks for posting, I will make again.....Kitten :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      This was SO good! I made three different greek desserts for a family supper, and this was the favorite. Very moist and rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      Sharon, another wonderful recipe. This cake is excellant. Well worth the extra time and trouble. We enjoyed this subtle lemon cake very much. It rose tall was light, tender & moist, with an incredible texture. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      great lemon cake check out sharons other recipes they are great too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      This was very good & enjoyed by all who like cake in this house! It came out denser than I was expecting. It overflowed in the oven & made a horrible mess & the top burned a little. Scraped that off & a nice cake was underneath.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      yum yum!! tastes just like an old fasioned pound cake. the lemon flavor is very nice. i did add some lemon extract, just to give an extra lemon taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Lemon Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 438.0
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    38%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 136.3 mg
    45%
    Sodium 334.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 34.5 g
    138%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites